We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Just Can't Go Anywhere Else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Deltona
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We Just Can't Go Anywhere Else”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here for our second time May 8-13. My previous review in July 2012 was titled: Why Go Anywhere Else? if you want to reference that. However, it was great again, and because our experience is so great, we don't want to risk a bad experience by going anywhere else. We fished off of the dock just outside our window, fished on the beach, visited a couple of our favorite bait/fishing supply stores, went to a Rays game (of course), ate at great restaurants, ordered pizza from Original Pizza for a night in after a long day of going to Fort DeSoto park, then Sunset beach. It is truly a wonderful place to stay. My husband still wants to buy one of the condos for sale, too. Great location. Great fun.

Room Tip: Any room is really fantastic, but we always choose a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skgrubbs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    54
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
212
109
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We spent July 4th weekend here. While these condos are not on the beach they are on the bay and in a perfect location. Beach access is just across the street. There is a vendor on this part of the beach that rents cabanas and 2 chairs - $30 per day or $20 for a half day. Plus he gives discounts for multiple days.

The bay side is gorgeous! Two nice grills for grilling out, great seating areas with umbrellas and chairs and tables on the bay. Really great.

Also these condos are in walking distance to Publix (full size kitchens in the condo we rented) and various restaurants - Ricky T's, Sloppy Joes are close by and Middle Grounds is a little further of a walk but still within a half mile. We rarely had to get in the car and go anywhere.

Parking is a little hairy - only 1 spot per unit. We had to parking along the street which I did not like because it is a terrifying reverse into a main road with a sometimes pedestrian heavy sidewalk. Try to avoid parking spaces 1-7 especially if you have a sedan like me and had a blind reverse because big SUVs and trucks sandwiched me. There is extra parking for $10 a day at a next door lot which is nice.

Room Tip: We were in 203. Good size room 1 bedroom, 1 bath with a pull out couch so can sleep 4. Not great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband surprised me for my 40th birthday with a trip here with a couple of friends. First of all, I want to thank Jimmy Dean for taking the late night call from my husband. He was very kind and helpful. This place is perfect! Very very clean, lots of room, nice kitchen, beautiful view right on the bay, nice pool, grills with patio seating. Very relaxing. Watched dolphins in bay and also across the street at the beach. Everything is within walking distance - grocery store, restaurants, etc. Di, was also very sweet and helpful. Highly recommend this place and will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunky19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My husband and I decided to end our Disney resort stay early to stay at a coastal resort with easy access to Tropicana Field so we could watch a game (Red Sox vs. Rays). We met up with our friends after the game at the Westwinds Waterfront Resort. We are so glad we found this resort!! The two bedroom condo we stayed in was gorgeous! We all agreed that we wished our stay was longer! We definitely plan to go back soon!

Make sure you clearly let them know about potential guest vehicles. I mentioned the possibility of another vehicle upon check-in and received a guest pass and information regarding parking for our vehicle. In the morning we discovered a warning on our vehicle despite our efforts to comply with the parking rules.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureSkrVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminole, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My family recently met at the Westwinds Waterfront Resort for a family get together. The condos are beautifully furnished and immaculate. The patio and pool area are beautifully maintained and have a beautiful view of the intercoastal water. There are 3 nice docks. One family member came by boat and was able to dock there. Our grandchildren each caught numerous fish off the docks. We were able to watch dolphins from the patio area. Treasure Island Beach is a short walk across the street.
Grocery store, drug store, restaurants are within walking distance.
The staff was most accommodating and helpful.
We will definitely return. Wish it was tomorrow!!!!!!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BCK43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My family and I recently stayed at the Westwinds Waterfront Resort and had one of our best vacations ever! It was a gorgeous unit, beautiful designed, and steps from the intercoastal waters of Treasure Island. Every single detail was thought of: beautiful furniture, linens, decor, flat screen tvs, granite and stainless steel in the kitchen, the grounds were beautifully landscaped, the docs were perfect for laying out, fishing and going out on my paddleboard! We had the most amazing stay, and the staff and surroundings of Westwinds were the main reason! I can't wait to stay there again!

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom unit that walked right out to the pool and docks- worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyDean55, General Manager at Westwinds Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
We really do try to make everyone's stay here the best that it can be. We look at our guests as people looking to "Getaway" and not simply a reservation with a number attached to it... Thank you again, Jimmy Dean, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbush, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I stayed at Westwinds Waterfront Resort for the first time. WOW! What a place. The condo was lovely with wonderful beds, linens and dishes and the decorations must have been chosen by a decorator. The pool is elevated so that you can see the intercostal a few steps away while sunning. The dolphins swim right up close. I was never outside when one or more didn't swim by. There are tables with umbrellas, grills and some lounge chairs in a private quite zone. The landscaping is is gorgeous. One of the best things is that, even though it is not right on the beach, (no sand in the condo), it is just steps away from the Treasure Island Beach. From our condo you could see the gulf and the beautiful sunsets. Sunrise over the intercoatal were equally beautiful. I will go there again, every chance I get. It was an outstanding value.

Room Tip: One building faces the intercostal and from the third floor you can see the gulf across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sprout9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,757 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Surf Beach Resort
Surf Beach Resort
#2 of 48 in Treasure Island
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Treasure Island
197 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
0.7 mi away
South Beach Condo/Hotel
South Beach Condo/Hotel
#4 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwinds Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwinds Waterfront Resort

Property: Westwinds Waterfront Resort
Address: 10265 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4873 (Formerly Westwinds of Treasure Island)
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#5 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#6 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Westwinds Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snuggled between the Gulf of Mexico and Boca Ciega Bay in beautiful Treasure Island, Florida this bayfront resort offers affordable luxurious condominiums with coastal beach elegance. Just minutes from world class shopping, dining and entertainment this resort features fully furnished accommodations that offers all the comforts of home. Guests can cook a delicious meal in the fully equipped kitchen, barbecue and dine outside in the picnic area or just relax at the waterfront heated pool. If catching dinner sounds fun there is a boat dock for on-site fishing.Near recreational facilities, downtown Saint Petersburg and the world famous John’s Pass Village this resort is where you will want to be.This vacation paradise offers unparralled sophistication and style that is hard to find elsewhere. Make plans for your vacation your way at Westwinds Waterfront Resort. “Where the Beach meets the Bay” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Westwinds Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwinds Waterfront Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing