We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We'd booked a couple of rooms - but on arrival, the lady on the front desk told us there was an issue - she could only see one of our rooms - must have been a mix up... Not to worry she said - she'd sort it out as it shouldn't be our problem... Nice complimentary upgrade to a bigger apartment with a sensational view of the water.
Apartment was gorgeous - spacious, really well equipped & as I said - that view!
Position is really perfect - 2 mins walk to the beach on one side, right on the water's edge on the other, 5 mins walk to a Publix, Sloppy Joes and Ricky Ts.
Grounds are lovely as well - lots of seating and loungers, barbeques, pool area etc
Would love to go again and would recommend 100% to anyone wanting a perfect place in Treasure Island.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get the waterfront view rooms - just gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7ChrisM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyDean55, General Manager at Westwinds Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for the review and I will definately pass on to my staff your gracious comments. Once again thank you and please come see us when you decide to come back to Treasure Island. Jimmy Dean, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I had a beach wedding in Treasure Island, and we, along with our families, stayed at Westwinds. The staff was extremely friendly from the first moment, and they helped us with anything we needed. The room was spacious, modern, and comfortable. We loved having the ability to just buy some food and cook it rather than spending excessive amounts on going out to every meal. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Some of the beds left a little to be desired, but that's such a subjective topic. The pool area was also very nice, along with the patio with the grill. They supply pool toys and items for the beach, which is a great perk staying there across the street. Really enjoyed my stay, and I certainly will consider going back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mokomo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyDean55, General Manager at Westwinds Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

We hope we were able to make such a meaningful event as stressless (if thats a word) as we could make it for you and your family. As these are all individually own condos here at the resort I have notified the owners that they may wish to consider changing out some of the mattresses. But as you stated this is somewhat "subjective" as I have had people praise the same bed and mattress that someone else has complained about. We are working on it. Thank you again. Jimmy Dean, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We rented a 1 bedroom condo for this location privately through the owner on VRBO. Fantastic experience. Clean, up to date, great location. Because we went through the owner, we didn't have a ton of interaction with management, but the little we did they seemed great. Loved the location. Out the parking lot 50 feet, cross the street and you're on the beach. Wide beach you have to go over, but not a problem. Definitely quieter beach than many areas, so if that is what you want, you'll be ecstatic. Hit a few restaurants within a mile of the condo (VIP Mexican Lounge, Foxy's, Ricky T's, and Middle Ground Grill). All great. On-site (and free) laundry was nice to have. Pool is small but nice. Bay with docks right behind condo was beautiful. Highly recommend this property to anyone, any type of group.

Room Tip: Definitely check for units on VRBO as it is much cheaper than going directly through the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was our second visit to The Westwinds and it didn't disappoint, we stayed during Spring Break so it was busy , but Jimmy and his staff were well able to cope, its location is excellent and its proximity to the beach makes it perfect, we would definitely recommend this property and hope to return in Oct,

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AineSligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had a great stay while on vacation at Treasure Island. Our two bedroom condo waa roomy and the location across the street from the beach was very convenient. Jimmy and the staff at the reception desk were very helpful and friendly. We will definitely stay at the Westwinds the next time we are in the area.

A.L. Sullivan

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank al s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyDean55, General Manager at Westwinds Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

We do our best to make everones stay as wonderful as we can. The location really helps too! Jimmy Dean, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just got back from vacationing at Westwinds. And the stay was wonderful as always. We enjoyed some fishing, shopping and some beach time. Jimmy and the staff were very welcoming. The cost is very reasonable for the facility and location. Looking forward to seeing Jimmy and the Staff again next year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Autjamalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyDean55, General Manager at Westwinds Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Well we are indeed looking forward to you staying with us again. I am humbled by your kind words Thank you... Jimmy Dean, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My three sons and I just attended a conference in St. Petersburg, and wanted a location roomy enough for an 18, 21 23 and 56 year old group of four. Selected Westwinds Waterfront Resort based upon TripAdvisor reports, and was not disappointed. We reserved a two bedroom / two bath condo. Unit included a living rom, dining area and kitchen. All amenities were there, including a fullsized refrigerator, dishwasher, full-sized stove and all dishes and utensils. We were VERY PLEASED to find that the resort has two gas grills adjacent to the pool for use by guests. PUBLIX is one block down the street, and we bought some steaks to grill.

The pool was amazing, and heated to a very comfortable temp. However, Westwinds is across the street from the beach. We found ourselves enjoying the beach a couple of times.

Overall, this is an amazing find. The rates for the two bedroom condi were about half of a nearby hotel suite, making this a much better choice from the standpoint of roominess, quality and comfort.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rjgosselin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmyDean55, General Manager at Westwinds Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

I thank you and behalf of myself and the staff here at Westwinds. It was great having you and your family stay with us and may I say your 3 sons were absolute gentleman. Looking forward to your return. Jimmy Dean, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Treasure Island
226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Surf Beach Resort
Surf Beach Resort
#2 of 48 in Treasure Island
886 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
695 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Treasure Island
0.7 mi away
South Beach Condo/Hotel
South Beach Condo/Hotel
#3 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwinds Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwinds Waterfront Resort

Address: 10265 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4873 (Formerly Westwinds of Treasure Island)
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#5 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#6 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range: £112 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westwinds Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snuggled between the Gulf of Mexico and Boca Ciega Bay in beautiful Treasure Island, Florida this bayfront resort offers affordable luxurious condominiums with coastal beach elegance. Just minutes from world class shopping, dining and entertainment this resort features fully furnished accommodations that offers all the comforts of home. Guests can cook a delicious meal in the fully equipped kitchen, barbecue and dine outside in the picnic area or just relax at the waterfront heated pool. If catching dinner sounds fun there is a boat dock for on-site fishing.Near recreational facilities, downtown Saint Petersburg and the world famous John’s Pass Village this resort is where you will want to be.This vacation paradise offers unparralled sophistication and style that is hard to find elsewhere. Make plans for your vacation your way at Westwinds Waterfront Resort. “Where the Beach meets the Bay” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Westwinds Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwinds Waterfront Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing