We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a great value.”
Review of Seahorse Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Treasure Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seahorse Cottages
Michigan
1 review
“Great location for a great value.”
Reviewed 17 March 2010

This was our first vacation in Florida for my family. We had a fantastic time and Kevin gave us some great advise on the area attractions. Watching sunsets from our dining room table was priceless.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    52
    17
    14
    16
See reviews for
65
48
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
toronto
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2010

We traveled with 2 small kids . The cottage was clean, bedding clean, Kevin was wonderful and helpful with info for traveling we did . If you need something a extra blanket or a heater you just need to ask. the beach front is to die for . My kids had a blast . This cottage is a must . Everything was great. Oh and the reveiw on the dog is a lie his name is moses and he visits once in a while . And knows not to poop in public Its against the law . LOL

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weelee20081979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

I don't like writing bad reviews, but our experience was awful. Maybe if it hadn't been summer.... the A/C was totally inadequate. The place got into the high 90s with the A/C running full blast. By 3 or 4 in the morning it was tolerable again, but once the sun started beating down again it was intolerable again by mid-morning. The Gulf was so warm that you couldn't even cool off by going swimming. Other than that it was a quaint, dumpy place in a fantastic location. Unless they have since updated the A/C, this is no place to go in the summer.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbadob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeMadBch, Manager at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this review, 15 June 2010
This response is to let you know that Seahorse Cottages is now being professionally managed by Vicinity Vacation Rentals. The entire property will be going through a thorough renovation (new roofs, appliances, flooring, furniture, air conditioners, landscaping, etc.). We will take care to provide all the necessities for our guests. We hope you will consider another visit to Seahorse Cottages in the future. You can reach us at 727-397-0891.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Treasure Island hotels

Floyd, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

I visited these charming cottages last weekend and have to say they are truly WONDERFUL. Very private... covered picnic area on ocean side of cottages provides a great shady spot for some serious chillin. Natural sand dunes frame the spectacular view of the wide beach and ocean. So cool. I would recommend this place for serious beach bums like me.

Just a suggestions to owner- would be great to have a few dishes and utensils in the cottages.. Hope to see you again soon !!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2009

We have stayed at the Seahorse twice before and loved it, but this new manager or owner needs to protect this gold mine. The cottage we stayed in was filthy and hotter then crap because the air conditioners weren't big enough for the space they were cooling. Breakers kepted tripping if you plugged anything else in like a blowdryer. It used to have towels, dishes, etc. but all it had was a half of a roll of TP. We should have received a partial refund but didn't push it, and the only reason it got a star at all was it is a beautiful location on the beach. Kevin if you read this some helpful hints, clean your ceiling fans and behind the fridge, just clean !and that party you had disgusting, grow up, it's time that place could be a money make again. Get some good advice. I am not signing this because I know you know who we are.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherbear2eq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeMadBch, Manager at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this review, 15 June 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Seahorse Cottages. It is due to unfortunate experiences like yours that the owner has hired a new management company to take over the Seahorse Cottages. Vicinity Vacation Rentals is the new manager, and we are helping the owner with a major renovation of the entire property (new flooring, air conditioners, appliances, furniture, roofs, landscaping, etc.). If you love the "Old Florida" charm, with neat and clean accommodations, then I encourage you to come back for a visit. We will our best to make sure our guests have a wonderful stay at the Seahorse Cottages. If you wish to speak with us further, please feel free to call at 727-397-0891.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Do not waste your time! Even if they offered to let me stay there for FREE...I WOULD NOT GO! The guy running it, Kevin, is horrible! I called there for info at 10am on a Tuesday, and he called me back at 9:30pm. When I told him I had made other arrangements, he was very belligerent and hung up on me! I didn't even feel like this was a legitimate business!

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SamTampa_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2009

Stayed at the seahorse 3/22/09-3/30/09 with my wife and two teenage kids.We have stayed at the seahorse approx six times over the last 20 years. kevin is the new manager and is helpful.Cottages are older but were clean.Reminds me of being on Cape cod. They are some of the last original 30's cabins brought in on barges before bridges connected land and water. If you are looking for a luxurious plush room stay elsewhere.If however you want to enjoy the beach and have a good family vacation at reasonable rates the Seahorse may be for you.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank genew417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
124 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#20 of 48 in Treasure Island
524 reviews
0.7 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#22 of 48 in Treasure Island
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Surf Beach Resort
Surf Beach Resort
#2 of 48 in Treasure Island
841 reviews
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
0.2 mi away
Bilmar Beach Resort
Bilmar Beach Resort
#7 of 48 in Treasure Island
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seahorse Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Cottages

Property: Seahorse Cottages
Address: 10356 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4813
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing better for your budget on the beach. Kayak, paddleboard, bikes, grills, firepit. Enjoy Old Florida as you did as a child. Not a resort, but a retreat to the good ole days. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seahorse Cottages Hotel Treasure Island
Seahorse Cottages Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing