We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" The worst place!"”
Review of Seahorse Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Treasure Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seahorse Cottages
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Ok so we showed up to cottage number one. And When we went in all that was in there was a stove and a sink. No bed no couch no nothing!!!! And in the shower was a nasty garbage can filled with water! They came and moved us to cottage four and that bed was covered in dry white stuff!!! It was so nasty. So now I had to find another place to stay.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank kelsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeMadBch, Manager at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2010

I am saddened to see this review. Our company has recently (last 45 days) taken over the management of these cottages, and due to a mixup with our reservation system, a reservation was made for them in a unit that was not ready for occupancy. When the mixup was brought to our attention, we apologized to the guest and brought them keys to the correct unit. Our guest services coordinator was on site when they entered the unit, and at no time was any type of "white stuff" noticed on the bedding. We contract with a professional cleaning company to assure our rental units are clean and sanitary. Any items that a guest feels are not up to their standards should be brought to our attention, and will be immediately rectified. Had this guest let us know that there was something amiss with the bedding, we would have dispatched someone to strip the bed and replace all the linens. It is unfortunate that someone who received a very good deal due to their special circumstances surrounding their stay would not allow us the opportunity to fix what they perceived as not satisfactory.

The entering of the wrong unit was a simple clerical error and had ZERO effect on their stay, other than a 5 minute wait for us to grant them entry into the correct rental unit.

We hope that these 'snipe' type reviews will be giving the credence they deserve and that our potential guests will also read the reviews that have been entered by satisfied guests, after taking over of the management responsibilities.

Thank you,

Vicinity Vacation Rentals

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2010

We have stayed at Seahorse Cottages for 5 summers now. We look forward to going every year. If you are looking for fancy or like to get waited on or to have your bed made everyday.. this is not for you. It's perfect however if you love privacy. We don't stay for the amenities.. it's a place for our 'stuff' while we are hanging out all day on the beautiful beach.. A place to clean up and just relax outside or cookout on the grill.. and to sleep. They have a full kitchen with microwave.. and also have cable for those who like to watch tv. For us it really is more like home than a hotel.. and we don't care that it has no pool. Publix right across the road is super handy. When you want to venture out.. great restaurants are nearby.. and our week would not be complete without a trip to Johns Pass right down the road.

These cottages are little gems that just need some TLC.. and now thanks to the new owners and Vicinity Vacation Rentals they are getting that. The cottages have new air conditioners and also all carpets have been removed for tile. They are professionally cleaned now also.. and we could definitely tell. Anything you need is just a phone call away to Vicinity.

We are planning our trip already for next year.. and we are excited about the improvements to our favorite little getaway spot!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NormBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

This was our first vacation in Florida for my family. We had a fantastic time and Kevin gave us some great advise on the area attractions. Watching sunsets from our dining room table was priceless.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

We traveled with 2 small kids . The cottage was clean, bedding clean, Kevin was wonderful and helpful with info for traveling we did . If you need something a extra blanket or a heater you just need to ask. the beach front is to die for . My kids had a blast . This cottage is a must . Everything was great. Oh and the reveiw on the dog is a lie his name is moses and he visits once in a while . And knows not to poop in public Its against the law . LOL

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weelee20081979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2009

I don't like writing bad reviews, but our experience was awful. Maybe if it hadn't been summer.... the A/C was totally inadequate. The place got into the high 90s with the A/C running full blast. By 3 or 4 in the morning it was tolerable again, but once the sun started beating down again it was intolerable again by mid-morning. The Gulf was so warm that you couldn't even cool off by going swimming. Other than that it was a quaint, dumpy place in a fantastic location. Unless they have since updated the A/C, this is no place to go in the summer.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbadob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeMadBch, Manager at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2010

This response is to let you know that Seahorse Cottages is now being professionally managed by Vicinity Vacation Rentals. The entire property will be going through a thorough renovation (new roofs, appliances, flooring, furniture, air conditioners, landscaping, etc.). We will take care to provide all the necessities for our guests. We hope you will consider another visit to Seahorse Cottages in the future. You can reach us at 727-397-0891.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2009

I visited these charming cottages last weekend and have to say they are truly WONDERFUL. Very private... covered picnic area on ocean side of cottages provides a great shady spot for some serious chillin. Natural sand dunes frame the spectacular view of the wide beach and ocean. So cool. I would recommend this place for serious beach bums like me.

Just a suggestions to owner- would be great to have a few dishes and utensils in the cottages.. Hope to see you again soon !!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

We have stayed at the Seahorse twice before and loved it, but this new manager or owner needs to protect this gold mine. The cottage we stayed in was filthy and hotter then crap because the air conditioners weren't big enough for the space they were cooling. Breakers kepted tripping if you plugged anything else in like a blowdryer. It used to have towels, dishes, etc. but all it had was a half of a roll of TP. We should have received a partial refund but didn't push it, and the only reason it got a star at all was it is a beautiful location on the beach. Kevin if you read this some helpful hints, clean your ceiling fans and behind the fridge, just clean !and that party you had disgusting, grow up, it's time that place could be a money make again. Get some good advice. I am not signing this because I know you know who we are.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherbear2eq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeMadBch, Manager at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Seahorse Cottages. It is due to unfortunate experiences like yours that the owner has hired a new management company to take over the Seahorse Cottages. Vicinity Vacation Rentals is the new manager, and we are helping the owner with a major renovation of the entire property (new flooring, air conditioners, appliances, furniture, roofs, landscaping, etc.). If you love the "Old Florida" charm, with neat and clean accommodations, then I encourage you to come back for a visit. We will our best to make sure our guests have a wonderful stay at the Seahorse Cottages. If you wish to speak with us further, please feel free to call at 727-397-0891.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
135 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
535 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,790 reviews
0.4 mi away
Surf Beach Resort
Surf Beach Resort
#3 of 48 in Treasure Island
873 reviews
0.7 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#22 of 48 in Treasure Island
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seahorse Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Cottages

Address: 10356 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4813
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Treasure Island
Price Range: £57 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing better for your budget on the beach. Kayak, paddleboard, bikes, grills, firepit. Enjoy Old Florida as you did as a child. Not a resort, but a retreat to the good ole days. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seahorse Cottages Hotel Treasure Island
Seahorse Cottages Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing