We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dog turd on a gorgeous beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A dog turd on a gorgeous beach”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

If you are a budget traveler who doesn't mind living in filth, the Tahitian "Resort" in Treasure Island is the place for you. I read the reviews prior to staying at the Tahitian, and everyone noted that although the property was shabby and outdated, it was kept very clean and the service was good. Well, they must have fired their competent cleaning staff, because our cleaning person did very, very little. We stayed in an apartment across the highway from the main hotel, and despite tips we left daily hoping for better service, she never: washed a dish, cleaned a surface, washed the floors, sink, or tub once in a week. We had to buy our own Windex disinfectant to clean the rooms ourselves. Evidence of how badly our rooms were cleaned prior to our stay was apparent in the dark grime stains on the paper towels after we finished cleaning the tables, counters, etc. that first day. On top of that, as other reviewers have indicated, literally everything other than the paint on the walls was shabby and old and used to the point of breaking (think: flophouse), and none of it appeared to have been purchased after the year 1980 except for the drip pans on the stove that did not fit! The only benefit of this hotel is its location on the beach and one free parking space. That is it. No joke. My friends and I are not fussy, but this place was a complete dump and not at all well cleaned as other reviews indicated, which was the only selling point other than the location. This "resort" is begging for Gordon Ramsay's "Hotel Hell" to come knocking. Tips for the hotel manager: Try repairing the exhaust fan in the bathroom and adding some hooks to the bathroom and main door to allow guests to dry their bathing suits and towels. I'd also suggest instructing your cleaning staff what is expected of them on a daily basis, as ours did not at all meet what I expect is her job description.

Room Tip: If you would like to choose a good room at the Tahitian, DON'T STAY THERE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    187
    71
    27
    49
See reviews for
216
138
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Millersport, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We recently stayed here after we made a reservation at Jefferson Motel & Apartments and got there and had no room!! We called the Tahitian at the last minute and Dawn at the front desk got us 2 rooms and was very helpful and accommodating. We got maid service everyday, the staff was very friendly and the rooms were very clean. The power went out 1 day while we were there but had nothing to do with the resort. The weather was incredible and the pool was the perfect temperature so the power outage didn't even matter. We will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ludwigv18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

A nice, pretty location, and reasonable quality room, at a price on the low side of what I'd expect.

One major drawback is that their office closes at 10pm, and after that there is no service available. They partner with another hotel a very short drive (though a significant walk) away, and you can pick up keys there or other simple things, but it makes checking in late a hassle, and you can't get anything fixed when they're closed.

Internet quality was very poor when I was there, and due to their office closing before I found out, I didn't get to report it until the next day. Even though I stayed two more days after that, and reported it each subsequent day, it was never fixed.

Sunset and sunrise were both very beautiful.

Room had a kitchen with fridge and microwave.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripCos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The management at the Tanitian Resort offers pleasing and affordable accommodations with friendly, polite, and caring team of employees. For instance, during our recent seven-week stay at the Tanitian, we found our housekeeper, Lyndell, and guest service personnel, Nancy, gracious, dependable, and eager to please who take great pride in performing their duties. Can't beat the location to the beach along the Gulf, nearby food market, pharmacy, post office, convenience store and cafes plus other amenities. Can't think of anything I dislike about the Tanitian. My wife and I will return to the Tanitian next year with secured reservations for a 60-day stay.

Room Tip: Various types. Choose the room that fits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We have been staying at the Tahitian for quite a few years and you just can't beat the value. Although the room are a bit tired and could use some updating, they are clean and comfortable. The beach is right outside the door and the pool is clean. Dawn in the front office is very friendly and goes out of her way to find information for you. Tahitian guests are invited to the weekly cocktail party at the Thunderbird, and this is a great event that is not to be missed! Amy, at the Thunderbird, is just super and obviously loves her job.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FullCaravan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainy River, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This was our first time at the Tahitian Resort on Treasure Island and we had a great stay! We had a pool side room with a kitchen. We could look out our one window and see the ocean or stand on the balcony and watch the kids swim in the pool. The staff were awesome. There is a safe in the room which was great to have. Many of the people staying there are snowbirds and very helpful with what things not to miss seeing or doing. We had our 9 year old and 14 year old with us. They loved every minute of being there. The beds were super comfy and we also had a pull out couch. There is lots to do close to the hotel and walking along the ocean collecting beautiful shells was a highlight. We would definitely go back!!!:)

Room Tip: Pool and sand toys are NOT available, so bring your own or there are a ton of souvenir shops just do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S2H2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Once again, you can't beat the value! Lyndell, one of the wonderful housekeepers, has our rooms, cleaned and well stocked, each day. Even taking time to find a blender, so we could make frozen cocktails.
We travel with two large dogs, and they are welcomed warmly. Dawn and Nancy, in the office, are knowledgeable and friendly. We stay the whole month, and it is a consistently pleasant experience. We will be back. Again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELMNF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#21 of 48 in Treasure Island
454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
120 reviews
2.1 mi away
Blue Waters Treasure Island
Blue Waters Treasure Island
#16 of 48 in Treasure Island
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
#12 of 48 in Treasure Island
894 reviews
1.1 mi away
Island Inn
Island Inn
#34 of 48 in Treasure Island
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island

Property: The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
Address: 11320 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4642
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#17 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#17 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island Hotel Treasure Island
Tahitian Hotel Treasure Island
Tahitian Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing