We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everyone is happy in this place”

VIP Lounge & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Everyone is happy in this place”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is a little dive Mexican restaurant in a strip mall on Gulf Blvd. It's super close to the beach with a barely noticeable "V.l.P." sign over the entrance. I read other reviews and heard from others that this place had great Mexican food. Don't go there for the atmosphere, but go for great margaritas and food and lots of happy people. Everyone in there is so happy to be there and so happy to be eating the amazing food. It's packed, so expect a wait. The hostess is in the back of the restaurant, outside. So if you want in on the street entrance, walk all the way back through the kitchen area to the outside and put your name in. There's a bar out there where you can get drinks while you're waiting. We went back a second time because we were craving the nachos!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahs209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    236
    55
    21
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food with a twist”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Ate here on trip to TI. Bar atmosphere with some tables. Great service. Great food. Wife had chimichanga and I had Chicago grilled burrito. Taste didn't seem like normal Mexican fare, but it was fantastic. Definitely recommend it. Huge portions.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican ”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Slow down or you might miss this place. Very small inside, but what it lacks in space, it makes up for it with quality food.
We stopped there on the advice of trip advisor, glad I did.
First it's more of a bar setup so if you don't mind eating at the bar you could save time instead of waiting for a table, which could be a while as the place is small and very popular.
The staff could be a but friendlier, but your here to eat not make new acquaintances..
The nachos are huge and tasty..
I had the famous wet burrito and labored to finish it. My family had the chimichangas, all loved them.
Food is fresh and made to order so it will justify some delay.
If your in the area and a fan of Mexican this is the place for you.

Helpful?
Thank Spdurante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fun, casual, yummy food”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We really enjoyed eating out on the patio. The food was simple but really delicious. The restaurant has a good energy to it, good place for kids too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, NY
Level Contributor
111 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“MUST HAVE BRUNCH HERE. All other meals incredible, better for takeout if with family”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had dinner, breakfast, then dinner again from here, but only ate breakfast on premises. Takeout first and second nights, "wet burrito"s, nachos, and a few other things.
Burritos are loaded with food (easily 2 meals for a small to medium size meal eater) and the rice and beans are yum. If you like spicy, the diablo sauce needs to be asked for in addition, but is yummy (but not TOO spicy).

The dinners were general fare, so to speak, but really good and lots of food for the price. I wouldn't bother eating on premises for dinner b/c it was super packed and kinda loud - too loud for a family but probably awesome for a fun night out with friends. Family-friendly, even though outdoor seating has a bar too. Hard to explain how they pull that off, but they do!

We came Sunday morning for brunch (this is not year-round so check first) and this was possibly the best breakfast I have EVER had. I had the huevos rancheros and had to try to not be seen licking my plate. THAT good. Served with fresh fruit. Little guy had chocolate chip pancakes. They told me that the main cook, who had been there 18 years, basically cooks all the meals his mama taught him in Mexico. You can tell.
I would have eaten breakfast there every single day if it were an option. I will dream about those huevos rancheros til the day I die.

It's a "no-frills" place but I could care less about that. Food was excellent, service homey and efficient, oh, and did I mention the huevos rancheros?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TiffNLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed VIP Lounge & Restaurant also viewed

 
Treasure Island, FL
Treasure Island, FL
 

Been to VIP Lounge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing