We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for family vacation”
Review of Surf Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Surf Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is our second visit to Surf Beach with our 5 year old. Perfect location, 2 bedrooms, great kitchen and living area for when you just don't want to eat out and the kids are completely worn out! Great view of the beach, love watching the sun sets each night. Pool is great and quiet which is the main focus of our kid.

We like to escape 'Disney' and chill out for the remainder of our vacation in Treasure Island.

Recently stayed in Room 402, newly decorated, perfect for the price and having that second bedroom allows you to relax and the kids to sleep.

Will be planning on staying again.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Gulf Coast, floor 3 and above for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfBeachCondos, Guest Services at Surf Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear Haze_n_Dave,

Thank You for choosing Sunsational Beach Rentals, LLC as Your home away from home.

It is a pleasure to hear that You had a successful escape from Disney at our resort and were able to relax and enjoy the brethtaking sunsets.

We are glad that You and Your family will be coming back to visit Us again. Please be sure to book through Us direct to receive a repeat guest discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

658 - 664 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

We recently stayed at Surf Beach and while the location is good, the facility was not so good....very disappointing actually. We stayed in Unit 501 and while the view is spectacular, the unit itself needs a thorough cleaning. In the unit, we found more dust than we would like, especially for the price. We found a few bugs that did not help the cleanliness issue. The Internet was intermittent to non-existent. We also did not receive much help from the staff on several occassions, not to mention they never asked if we needed anything ever! As well, parking is an art because of the tight space. Finally, the visit by a garder snake on the patio sealed the deal; we will not be staying at Surf Beach during our next visit!

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfBeachCondos, Guest Services at Surf Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear Tanya B,

Thank You for choosing Sunsational Beach Rentals, LLC as Your home away from home.

I am sorry that You're stay was not so good and disappointing. We truly apologize about the dust in the room, and the intermittent WiFi connection. We have informed our staff about the dust and will be doing a thorough deep cleaning in the condo. Though the front desk should've taken care of those issues if it was mentioned to them. We are truly sorry that You had a bad experience at our resort, as we do strive to please all of our guests and make their stay as pleasurable and worry free as possible. Please accept our deepest apologizies. We hope that You and Your family wil give Us another chance! Thank You.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed in room 603. It was spotless and nicely decorated. The view is breathtaking. Everything we needed was there - including a beach cart which was a huge help. I recommend renting a cabana on the beach, it's a hike to the water. We stayed with our 1 and 4 year old and they loved it too. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Choose a top level room so you don't have pool lights or noise on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAG_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfBeachCondos, Guest Services at Surf Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear KAG_12_12,

Thank You for choosing Sunsational Beach Rentals, LLC as Your home away from home. We are happy that You had a great stay with Us and enjoyed Your vacation.

We hope to see You and Your family again soon!
Be sure to book through Us for Your next time visit to receive a repeat guest discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Great spot, really enjoyed our week there. Condo was really clean, close to a lot of things.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tc2960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfBeachCondos, Guest Services at Surf Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear tc2960,

Thank You for choosing Surf Beach Resort as Your home away from home. We are glad Your week with Us was great and truly hope to see Your family back visitting Us soon.

Be sure to book through Us direct to receive a repeat guest discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Have no complaints at all about the accomodations. Rooms were clean, well-maintained, staff was friendly and rooms were quiet. Brought the family and had a great time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfBeachCondos, Guest Services at Surf Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear Carla A,

We Thank You for choosing Surf Beach as Your home away from home.

It is a pleasure to hear that You and Your familiy had a great time at our resort. We are glad that You were satisfied with the accomodations, rooms and our staff.

Please be sure to book through Us for Your next time visit to receive a repeat guest discount!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

It had been several years since our family had spent spring break on Treasure Island. With some newer properties like this one, the new Publix, and the new bridge at John's Pass, the area seems a little revitalized. The other reviews are mostly accurate regarding the pros and cons of this property. I think you have to keep in mind that it is a bit of a hybrid between a condo and a hotel. I'd say our "condo" was definitely smaller than other 2 bedroom, 2 bath condos we have stayed in (other places like Hilton Head), but obviously you get much more than a hotel room or suite. And it is nice not having to commit to a Saturday checkin/out like most condos.

There are a lot of comments about the width of the beach. It is very wide, as it is in most of Treasure Island. So, if that is an issue (mobility issues, little kids who want to run between beach and pool) you should probably not stay on Treasure Island.

Some highlights:
The pictures are accurate. Property looks very new and well maintained inside and out.
Condo was very clean and attractively decorated.
We had a 3rd floor unit and still felt the view was fine.
Kitchen is well-equiped but is not huge as far as storage for your groceries etc.
Our second bedroom had two twin beds, which is what we wanted. However, do note that this means no dresser in the room, just a nightstand and closet.
Personally, I wouldn't put more than 4 people in one of these units.
It does come with plentiful starter supplies . . . 3 rolls of toilet paper in each bathroom, roll of paper towels, soap dispensers in bathrooms, several tabs for dishwasher. We even had nice quality hangers in the closets.
Pool area is nice but rather narrow as you can see from the pictures.
We enjoyed walking down the beach path for lunch at Sloppy Joe's. It was better than we expected.
Parking was fine, not as tight as some describe, but maybe our space was better.
There is a pubic beach access right next door, but didn't seem to bring with it any security issues, etc.
Umbrellas and chairs can be rented on the beach, although a little pricey.
Gulf Blvd. is busy. Be careful crossing! A good reason to stay on the beach side.

The only thing we found a little negative was the hot water seemed to run low after 2-3 showers. Drainage in our master tub was also not great, but we reported it a checkout.

Overall, I think Surf Beach is a great choice if you want to stay in the Treasure Island area.

Room Tip: The X01 rooms are on the south end and X06 rooms are on the north end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ohio-Brown-Eyed-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Surf Beach Resort over spring break and had a wonderful time! I spent a long time perusing different places to stay and, after arriving, was very happy with the results. We spent 3 days at Universal prior to arriving at Surf Beach and it was very nice to have laundry facilities and a full kitchen to be able to eat some real food. The beach was fabulous and we found some very cool shells. My kids are 14 and 20 so this was probably our last "family" vacation together and it was everything we hoped it would be.

It was terrific being able to watch the sunset directly from or balcony as well as enjoy our morning coffee there. There were no bugs...not even one mosquito! The couple that owned the ice cream shop across the street were so nice! Conveniently located near a Publix for all your grocery needs too! Thanks for making our vacation an awesome one!

Room Tip: We stayed in 204 which was a handicap room - the shower was HUGE! Higher rooms would have less pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RileyVacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfBeachCondos, Guest Services at Surf Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear RileyVacationers,

Thank You for choosing Surf Beach as Your home away from home!

It is such a pleasure to find that You and Your family had a wonderful stay with Us and were able to make good use of the condo's accomodations. We are truly glad that You enjoyed Your vacation and the beautiful area of Treasure Island. We also would like to Thank You for the picture that You posted for other traveler's to see.

Please be sure to book through Us for Your next time visit to receive a repeat guest discount!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,790 reviews
0.2 mi away
South Beach Condo/Hotel
South Beach Condo/Hotel
#4 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Treasure Island
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Treasure Island
0.6 mi away
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
#2 of 48 in Treasure Island
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Beach Resort

Address: 11040 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#6 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range: £124 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surf Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Surf Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing