We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable with a breathtaking gulf front view and friendly service”
Review of Surf Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Surf Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Surf Beach Resort is located on the beach and close to gift shops, restaurants. The rooms are very clean and comfortable.The kitchen allowed us to eat some meals in, there is a grocery store close by. We enjoyed some wonderful sunsets over the Gulf of Mexico. The personnal is very friendly and efficient. A great place for a family vacation with children or adults.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Junior1375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (866)
There are newer reviews for Surf Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

722 - 728 of 866 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2011

Have to start this review stating that our previous 6 trips have been to numerous Marriott resorts in Florida, Hilton Head, and Myrtle Beach. With that being what I would consider 4 or 5 star resorts, this place fell way short of those places. It was a family vacation with 2 boys ages 7 and 5. Wanted a place on the beach for the week of Christmas. This place definitely met that criteria. Huge sand area 50 ft. from resort. Water is about 200 yards from resort, so there is plenty of room for throwing football, frisbee, etc.. There is a small pool and a very small hot tub and a deck for sunbathing with about 30 lounge chairs. There are 2 propane grills for your use. That is it for the outdoor amenities. This is basically a 30 unit condo. There is no workout room, no restaurant, no store, no activities. The inside of the units is average at best. There are 2 small bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, one of them with a large shower the other with a small basic tub. There is a queen bed in each bedroom and boy are they uncomfortable. By the 7th night I was dreading bedtime. If you have someone staying above you, expect to hear their every move. Again, not to beat a dead horse, but we are used to much better and this place was no cheaper. Every unit faces the water, which is nice. Went to get in the heated pool and hot tub on Tuesday and they were ice cold. Told someone in the office and their reply was "someone comes in for that 3 times a week." No phone call to have someone fix it!? HUH? It was not fixed till Thursday.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TDAVIS44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

This week, we stayed at Treasure Island at the Surf Beach Condo resort. We arrived late and our key was easily accessible in a drop box by calling the number on the lobby door. Unfortunately, we were put on the fifth floor and the balconies aren't screened in - which isn't good for our lively three year old boy! When we asked to move, we were quickly moved to a second floor two- bedroom condo without any fuss or bother. The staff are pleasant and friendly. The place was comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated. The kitchen was well stocked for cooking. The view is fantastic as every unit faces the gorgeous Gulf. The pool is pleasantly heated, as is the hot tub and the beach is clean, wide and a delight to walk along.
This has been the best palce we have stayed in in many trips to Florida. I have never written a trip advisor review before, but I was so impressed by the comfortable, private,relaxed stay that I just had to recommend this place as a treasure to relax and enjoy beautiful Treasure Island in! We came with four young kids ages 3-8 and despite our loud ruckus as we trekked in and out to the beach directly in front of the resort, we were never made to feel out of place and in fact, people made us feel right at home. I recommend you visit this great condo resort!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pjsvetec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

This place was exactly what we were looking for. Situated directly on the beach, we had a perfect view of the water and beach in front of us. It was altogether a very relaxing and wonderful retreat from our normal busy schedules.

I guess this place is a condo/rental place because the people at the front desk spoke about the owners and such. Still, they had a maid service and everything, so that was nice. Our 5th floor unit had a kitchen and two bedrooms and we had more than enough room on the balcony. We also used the pool and hot tub quite a bit after running on the beach. One tip I would have is to definitely do the kayaking, which is abot 20 minutes away. Oh, and you'll definitely need to rent a car.

The beach is a pretty quiet beach and I think it is a local beach, so there are not many tourists...but its huge! Tons of room to play volleyball, football, and run around.

We also liked that Treasure Island was a short drive to St. Petersburg and the attractions around there. We liked it so much, we hope to return next year again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EuroHoneyMoon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

This little treasure is nothing short of AWESOME! My wife and I traveled to this nice little town to visit family and friends and was flabergasted by this condo on the beach. Newly remodeled 2 bedroom fully stocked condo is a must do!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bcombs60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

The hotel is on the beach with a great pool, hot tub and landscaping. The young lady that manages the hotel helped us with a car problem that we had. Our car reservation was cancelled because we were not on time at the airport and after explaining the problem she the very next morning had us a car reserved. Can't ask for more than that. The suite was a 2 bedroom 2 bath with ample room, washer, dryer and equipped kitchen. Great place to stay and will stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobber00820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

My husband and I stayed seven nights at Surf Beach during our 2010 Florida vacation. I agree that the two bedroom condo was in good shape and had a well-stocked kitchen. The pool area is good and there were two gas grills for customer use, along with some nice tables. The area where the hotel is located is great because it is within easy walking distance of many excellent restaurants, bars, and shops. The level of cleanliness of our unit was good but not great. We noticed that there was quite a layer of dust on the living room TV and it's stand. The bed sheets in the 2nd bedroom were very worn, nubby, and had quite a bit of lint -- luckily there was an extra set in the closet which I immediately used in place of the set that was on the bed. The balcony is nice and has wonderful views but they are in full sun in the afternoon, making them uncomfortable in hot weather. On our last evening we sat on the balcony and watched the sunset, which was nice. There was a washer and dryer behind a folding door -- but I don't know how anyone could actually use them in the unit we were in because the door opened on the left and the controls and appliance doors were on the right; unfortunately the door didn't open far enough to be able to reasonably access any of the controls or door handles -- poor planning and design. Overall I agree that Surf Beach is a nice place and we would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TCJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,781 reviews
0.2 mi away
South Beach Condo/Hotel
South Beach Condo/Hotel
#4 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Treasure Island
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Treasure Island
0.6 mi away
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
#2 of 48 in Treasure Island
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Beach Resort

Address: 11040 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#6 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range: £121 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surf Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Surf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Surf Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing