We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Trip Back in Time” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sands of Treasure Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Sands of Treasure Island
Ranked #41 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
NPR, FL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Trip Back in Time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This apartment/hotel was built in 1947. It still looks like 1947, and there was a definite moldy smell. Those things aside, it had fresh paint, and a certain charm. It reminded me of my Aunt's house when I was a kid. People were super friendly, and the guests used the outdoor spaces, instead of being holed up inside. We had a blast. The beach right there is pristine!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cozmicallygood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    25
    11
    13
    6
See reviews for
41
14
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My family stayed at The Sands for 4 days in room 124. I loved the vintage appeal of the place. It was right on the beach, and my kids loved being able to head to the beach anytime we felt like it. The beach is beautiful and right there! If is certainly a perfect location. The rates are reasonable and the apartment style rooms are great for family accommodations. The space could have been cleaner, but that is somewhat expected of a place that is older without any updated luxuries. It was comfortable yet simple, and overall we really enjoyed our Spring Break vacation. We would certainly book another stay at The Sands the next time we travel to Treasure Island. :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Riann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
143 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

You know what they say....location, location, location. And this place is the best. It's right on the beach and has a beautiful view. The hotel itself is OK. There were only a few things that were disappointing but there were plenty that was good.

First the good: We stayed in room 114. It's the last room closest to the beach and directly in front of the pool. It was very quiet and we couldn't hear the kids in the pool. There is a kitchen with all the necessities. The bedroom had two double beds that were comfortable. The living space was very big. It had 2 tables, couch, 2 chairs, some end tables, and a TV. The pool was great. It was heated and very comfortable. The girls had fun swimming in it.

Now for the bad: The vent on the airconditioning unit in the bedroom didn't work. It was broken so the air pointed directly on the bed. And because it, we couldn't sleep with the air on in the bedroom. So we just turned it on a head of time to make it cold in the room to last all night. As mentioned in other posts, the sheets wouldn't stay on the bed. We have 2 teenage daughters and planned for them to sleep on the pull-out bed in the living room. However, when we opened it at 11:00 pm, we discovered the corner of the bed was badly ripped and there were no sheets. So the girls ended up sleeping in the second bed in the bedroom, and my husband slept on the couch...which was too short for him. We're used to sleeping on a king sized bed and we both would have had a terrible night's sleep if we both slept in the same double bed so he slept on the couch. Since we were only staying one night, I didn't make a big deal out of it. In the bathroom, the shower dispenser was about 5 feet up....therefore, both my husband and I had a difficult time taking a shower.

Other than the minor things listed above, there wasn't anything wrong with the place if you're looking for a reasonably priced hotel without all the luxuries of the newer versions. The place is definitely dated but who cares if you're just looking for a clean and comfortable place to lay your head at night.

The staff were very nice and helpful!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

I have stayed at the Sands several times in the past and was quite happy with the place. Reasonable prices, relatively clean and nice people who work there. In particular is Harry who works the front desk and is always ready to help.
Oh yes, Its a BEAUTIFUL spot on the Beach.

Joyce Librant

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joysea923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We were in room 115 right at the pool. Perfect spot. If you have kids and plan to spend time at the pool make sure to get a poolside room. The room itself was OK. The kitchen had plates, bowls, toaster, microwave, stove a a full size fridge (they will supply you with dish clothes and towels if you request them). The smell was a little funky in the kitchen but more of an old smell. The beds were ok. As said in some other reviews the linens did fall off. They give you plenty of towels and if you need more they will gladly give them to you. The living room was huge and had 2 day beds which for smaller guests (children) would be fine but our 2 17 yr old boys had a bit of a difficult time getting comfy. That being said there is room for cots or blow up mattresses. Both ice cream stores down the way were great! Publix (grocery store) is only a 2 min drive and very well priced. The fried chicken is awesome!! All in all a good place to stay. We would stay again. I loved the fact that they took my reservation and charged nothing to my CC and upon check in I paid cash.

Room Tip: Pay the $10.00 more and get a poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRisdahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

First of all, this is a fantastic location. It's "on" the beach (but don't forget that the stretch of beach to the water is about half a football field). The pool area is really nice.
The rooms themselves are quite dated. Kind of funny and charming actually. The corner rooms (201 and 207) are HUGE. They have 2 double beds, and there's room for a couple of cots or a nice big air mattress. The beds were just "ok" comfortable, and same with the bedding. The key thing for me is cleanliness... and it was all very clean. The mini fridge, the microwave, and stove top and the few utensils (which were mix-match), were all clean. The carpet was old, but again, clean (if a little sandy, but that might've actually been what we dragged in ourselves... it's a beach motel, it's expected).
Parking is very limited right in front of the motel itself.... there's a short street directly across from it, and there's more assigned parking out there, not far at all (maybe a couple minutes walk). The front desk was very nice and helpful. Total for 1 night stay was $89 with tax during the off season (which is about right in that area).
There's a DELICIOUS ice cream short next door (maybe two doors down) from it that is a MUST TRY. There's also a convenience store a 5 minute walk away. Perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AegisRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valrico, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

My family has been coming to the Sands for the last 50 years. It is clean, basic and right on the beach. The pool is great and well maintained. This is not a romantic honeymoon hotel. We all love it and would hate to see it go as it is the last of the generation of true beach motels.

Room Tip: Just be honest about your needs they will suggest the best room for you. Rooms under the lanai are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank collegeorbust10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropic Terrace of Treasure Island
Tropic Terrace of Treasure Islan...
#31 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Swashbuckler Motel
Swashbuckler Motel
#43 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bayside Inn & Marina
The Bayside Inn & Marina
#37 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands of Treasure Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands of Treasure Island

Property: The Sands of Treasure Island
Address: 11800 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sands of Treasure Island 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sands of Treasure Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Of Treasure Island Hotel Treasure Island
Sands Hotel Treasure Island
Sands Motel Treasure Island
The Sands Of Treasure Island Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing