We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sands of Treasure Island
Ranked #38 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
New Port RIchey Florida
1 review
“loved it”
Reviewed 15 February 2009

I use to go to The Sands with my Grandparents every year - i have very fond memories of the place and still even have the old post cards from the 70's-the place looks exactly the same and I am super happy about that-Its a little depressing that The Surf was tore down -but anyone who has a problem with the sands needs there head checked -its an awesome place and I cant wait to bring my children there so they can have the same experience i had -an awesome one!

  • Liked — The pool has always been awesome so many memories swimming there!!!!!
  • Disliked — I loved everything -when i was a kid they even had a ping ball table i use to love it
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlonaIlona7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    26
    14
    14
    6
See reviews for
46
16
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2009

I have been coming down to Treasure Island for 20+ years and when I'm not staying at the Timeshare I own, the SANDS is the place to stay! Excellent pool, sunsets on the beach, morning walks on the beach, couldn't ask for more. Rooms are available with stove, dishware, toaster, microwave, mini refridgerator. Perfect for the price :)

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank redwingfan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2009

We started going to the Sands ever since its sister motel The Surf was demolished in '03. Although the Sands doesn't have quite the great 50s design of the Surf, it is still a fantastic little motel that is truly a trip back in time. In the best possible way. The rooms are clean although a bit dated but who cares!

If you're looking for a sterile, corporate, bland room with all the amenities then go to Sand Key or just about any other place in Florida. If you love motels with character and friendly folks that will actually look at you, you'll love The Sands. Enjoy.

Going back next month and really looking forward to it.

  • Liked — architecture
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gskidmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

Great Place for the Value. We stayed in Room 211. There was Overlooked the Gulf. Large balcony. Rooms are dated but are HUGE!!! Large dressing area. Showers were good. Beds and pillows okay. Nice pool. 17 people in our party. Some had rooms on the lower level which they liked. The only downside was all the kids who left their pool toys out for everyone else to walk around. Would defintely recommend at this price. Can't wait to go back. Very nice front office staff.

  • Liked — Large Rooms
  • Disliked — Pool toys all over the place
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKSKFultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asboatman
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2008

My family and I have been spending a week every summer at the Sands for the last 5 years and have made great memories there. It is an older motel and it hasn't had a lot of upgrades, but that is part of the charm of the place. It is definitely a comfortable place for a beach motel. It is not pretentious in any way, but if you like things fancier and newer, it is not the place for you. It's great for kids, you don't have to worry too much about having sand or water on your feet when you go into your room. Everything opens up to the middle courtyard or pool area, which is very quaint and cozy. Most of the people there are very nice (visitors and employees), however, we have had a couple of the people at the front desk not be the nicest to deal with. Besides that, it's great. It's not the cleanest motel in the world, but a lot of that is due to the age of the place. The ocean is quite a walk across the beach from the motel (it's about 600ft, which seems much longer because your walking in the sand), but it is great exercise and makes you feel justified when splurging on a yummy milkshake or banana split from the local ice cream shop just a short walk north of the motel. Overall, it's a great place to make family memories that last forever!

  • Liked — The convenience of a small kitchen and having a living room separate from the bedroom.
  • Disliked — The cleanliness or newness.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank asboatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2008

Me and my family stayed there last summer for a week and when I booked the room I had told the man how many and that I would need 2 rooms but instead he said no 1 would be fine. When we arrived he was very nasty and I had 1 too many for the capacity and 1 of us had to stay with family through out florida. The tub would take for ever to drain and they would not fix it and the place was dirty. The only good thing about the place it was in a nice area and close to the beach. The owner is not very nice at all I just felt very uncomfortable while we were there and felt like we had to watch our back the whole time but remember I asked for 2 rooms to begin with but he said everything would be fine.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank uncomfortable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Treasure Island hotels

Bayonet Point, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2008

After reading reviews on TripAdvisor we were a bit hesitant, especially because there was nothing of recent months. Stayed a week, first week of April 2008. Had an effeciency with a balcony overlooking the gulf. The room was very adequate. Though, the furniture and room should be updated. The mattresses were new not as another reviewer had stated, so maybe they're starting to update. The place was spotless. No mildew or damp odor, no bugs, no dirt of any kind. Very family oriented. Everyone was very friendly. A man cleaned the pool every morning at 8 am. and the pool was spotless. We got this room at a very good rate. Only drawback was the parking. It was very limited but they did have parking under a carport a short block away. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. It was a very nice place.

  • Liked — cleanliness, location
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#22 of 48 in Treasure Island
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bayside Inn & Marina
The Bayside Inn & Marina
#36 of 48 in Treasure Island
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach House Hotel
Beach House Hotel
#21 of 48 in Treasure Island
76 reviews
0.8 mi away
iBeach Resort
iBeach Resort
#31 of 48 in Treasure Island
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands of Treasure Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands of Treasure Island

Property: The Sands of Treasure Island
Address: 11800 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-5120
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sands of Treasure Island 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Sands of Treasure Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Of Treasure Island Hotel Treasure Island
Sands Hotel Treasure Island
Sands Motel Treasure Island
The Sands Of Treasure Island Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing