We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”
Review of Mardi Gras Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mardi Gras Motel
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Reviewed 13 November 2007

The room was clean, the couple who owned it were right on site keeping eveything up. very affordable! Can't say enough good about the place! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sdgirl1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2007

We have stayed at the mardi gras as a family and found that it's proximity to john's pass, st. pete beach and other area attractions makes this place a great value. Nice warm heated pool during the winter month's and ICE cold air during the summer month's. Sunsets just across the street are a can't miss, and don't forget to get up early to search for shells on the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sgtjweez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2007

I rented an efficiency suite at The Mardi Gras for 4 days, 2 of which I was joined by my adult daughter and her sons, ages 15 and 10; the last 2 nights was just my husband and myself.
The Mardi Gras is located just across the street from the beach, not more than a one minute walk! There is a convenience store next door and an ice cream/sandwich shop just across the street before the beach. Some restaurants and shops within walking distance, John's Pass Village about 3/4 mile south of the Mardi Gras which has nice shopping, great restaurants and parasailing, jet ski rentals, dolphin cruises, etc. Plenty to keep kids occupied for a day.
The Mardi Gras grounds are not elegant but are well kept and clean. There is an on site laundry. The pool was very clean and sparkly, landscaped with lovely tropical foilage. The kids really enjoyed the pool in the evening.
Our efficiency was spotlessly clean, smelled fresh and the kitchen well equipped for our needs. The main room was large enough for 2 double beds, a foldout sofa, night stand, large dresser and a comfy chair. The television was large and had a DVD player and hook ups for video games. The kitchen (full sized) was a seperate room and large enough to accomodate the dinette set. The bathroom was extremely clean and modern with plenty of shelf room for toiletries. Also, a large closet to store baggage, sacks of souveniers, etc. We were 2nd floor so had direct view of beach between the hotels across the street. The owners were very accomodating but not intrusive. Our unit went for $55 night base price ($5 extra each person over double occupancy, but 12 and under stay for free...unbeatable price.)
The unit was plenty roomy for 5 and could easily accomodate 6.
The beach was beautiful, clean and uncrowded, the sunsets just spectacular.
All in all, this little place is an excellent value, great location, comfortable and very clean. We will definitely return next summer for a lengthier stay.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank beach58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2007

Very friendly place to stay. Owners live right there and are up early making sure the pool and the grounds are clean. Washer and dryer at the motel for guests was an added help. Great restaurants close by. Other visitors and owners very friendly and made you feel welcome and like you had "come home." Beds comfortable, room clean, and small refirgerator in the room an added treat. I did not have a full kitchen, however, the other people I went with did and it was fully
stocked will all the pots and pans etc.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ltbtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2007

Immaculate, quaint(did I just say that), and unbelievably low priced. The family that owns this property lives on site, so they have a stake, and make sure that their guests are taken care of. Its location is great, not on the ocean but directly across the street from it via a short walk. This place is tops for families/couples on a budget or not and who would prefer to spend their money elsewhere. Lets face it, on Treasure Island, you should only be using your room to sleep in anyway.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachbum070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2006

We stayed at the Mardi Gras Motel September 2005 and were pleasantly surprised with this little treasure.
There are 9 units in total. Our room was on the ground floor by the pool. We were with two small children who took full advantage of the pool.
Being across the street from the beach was not a disadvantage at all since the kids were kept busy at the pool.
This hotel is exremely clean and pleasant with the palm trees and plants in the terrace area.
We would highly recommend this motel to anyone!!

8  Thank trijo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jean Yves F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bayside Inn & Marina
The Bayside Inn & Marina
#35 of 48 in Treasure Island
211 reviews
2.4 mi away
Blue Waters Treasure Island
Blue Waters Treasure Island
#15 of 48 in Treasure Island
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#22 of 48 in Treasure Island
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach House Hotel
Beach House Hotel
#21 of 48 in Treasure Island
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bungalows
The Bungalows
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sands of Treasure Island
The Sands of Treasure Island
#37 of 48 in Treasure Island
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mardi Gras Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mardi Gras Motel

Address: 11965 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-5195
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range: £71 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mardi Gras Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Mardi Gras Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mardi Gras Hotel
Mardi Gras Motel Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing