We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location But Needs Work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I spent a week for our summer vacation/babymoon at Sunset Vistas last week. We splurged and stayed in one of the 2 bedroom beachfront suites. The suite had plenty of space for two people and an unbeatable view of the beach and sunsets in the evening, The location was great as Treasure Island is noticeably less crowded than St. Pete Beach and Clearwater Beach. Driving to sights in Tampa, St. Petersburg, Orlando, Homosassa Springs, etc. was not too bad either.

The staff was always friendly; however, we experienced a few situations that could be improved upon to make Sunset Vistas a better place to stay. Sunset Vistas has a policy that housekeeping would replace towels and toiletries and take out the trash every two days in the afternoon. This was not followed at all in our experience. We had to call to have extra towels on the third full day of our stay. The office staff told us they had been shorthanded on staff causing our room to be missed. The person then showed up at 9:00AM the next day banging on our door even with the "Do Not Disturb" sign out. I brought the trash to the person at the door and then asked for a few more towels. We then no longer received any housekeeping service for the remainder of our week stay even though they should have come by three times in total. This was disappointing for spending $250-$300 per night. We just said we were staying at a rental condo with no service instead of a hotel from that point forward. The property did not even seem to be at full capacity during our stay there.

The suite itself was clean and there is going to be some understandable wear and tear in a beach environment; however, some furnishings were extremely uncomfortable. Both the sofa in the living space as well as the mattress in the master bedroom needed to be replaced. The cushions were extremely worn on the sofa and did not provide much if any support. The mattress was the worst mattress I have ever slept on in my experiences which some have been much more primitive than Sunset Vistas. I usually enjoy softer mattresses; however, this mattress was completely shot. Both my wife and I woke up several times throughout the night due to poor condition of the mattress. We also would be woken up due to hearing neighbors constantly moving their furniture around at 1AM and 5AM which did not make any sense to us. We looked forward to getting out of the bed in the morning so it made it easier to get the day started earlier.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GHR85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

830 - 836 of 1,837 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Just spent 3 nights and 4 days with my family celebrating my mom's 90th birthday at this resort with a gulf front suite; beautiful view, clean, comfortable accommodations; easy access to elevators, stairs, etc. The staff, especially George Hoch, Kay, Drew, and Christina, were gracious and attentive. We had a great time---and we will be back!

Room Tip: Good view from most rooms-loved our gulf front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We rented three suites for the three families on a seven day vacation. We are not prima donnas. We wanted a nice beachfront suite that is family/kid friendly and relaxing. The rooms were clean and updated. The staff was exceptionally friendly. Our every need was met. The beach front was perfect for the family. The swimming pool and hot tub was great. The parking was helpful. I used the nice fitness center almost every day. The resort was centrally located for our needs. Jon's pass was just up the road. (We really enjoyed everything there) Lots of dining to the south. We also enjoyed the shake shack just to the south of the hotel. We are definitely coming back here again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank jlutt87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Hotel was In our opinion, flawless!...but the staff was exemplary and not one passed you without a friendly "good morning" or "hope you are enjoying yourself",,,,The front desk was the best!....you asked a question and they would clamour around you to help out!...Julie was above and beyond when we needed anything and made our stay stress and problem free. If you are thinking about staying in Treasure Island,,,look no further!...this is the winner!!!!

Room Tip: You gotta have a water view from the balcony,,,preferably over the walkway to the beach,the view wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachbaby33952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed in the three bedroom prnthouse suite for 10 days in January/early February this year.with my mother and sister The suite was clean, spacious and suprisingly affordable. Great value for families or two or more couples. The views of the beach, gulf and sunsets were amazing. Spent a lot of time relaxing by the pool and the beach was never too busy. A walk or short car ride up to neraby Johns Pass is a must to browse around the many shops and look out for dolphins swimming by. Never went to any of the restaurants in the area as we cooked meals in the unit. There is a nearby publix for groceries. The staff were very friendly and check-in was very quick and efficient. We really look forward to returning again in 2015. I highly recommend the three bedroom penthouse suite if you are looking for a lot of space and amazing views from both balconies.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oneKennyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Absolutely amazing!!! Beautiful views, very nice living space, and close to everything! You even get your own parking spot! Only down side is they don't give you clean towels everyday but we had a washer and dryer in the room. It was a two bedroom condo with gulf front view.

Room Tip: You must get a gulf front view. It is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I had family visiting from out-of-town and wanted them to enjoy a great beach vacation. So, I rented 2 gulf-front penthouse suites for three nights at Sunset Vistas during the week right before Memorial Day weekend. The view was BREATH-TAKING and the beach was lovely and quiet. We had 3 couples in each 3-bedroom suite, so divided among us, the price was very reasonable ($150 a night per couple with Florida resident discount). The suites were comfortable, roomy, and clean, and the staff was friendly and efficient. We had 2 very minor maintenance issues, and the staff responded immediately. The only negative I can think of is that the kitchen was lacking a few things we could have used as we did a lot of cooking (such as measuring cups and mixing bowls). Next time, we will just remember to bring that sort of thing with us.

Room Tip: If you have a large group, the penthouse suites are a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seafan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
237 reviews
0 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Treasure Island
0.3 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#22 of 48 in Treasure Island
506 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
#5 of 48 in Treasure Island
410 reviews
0.6 mi away
Surf Beach Resort
Surf Beach Resort
#2 of 48 in Treasure Island
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites

Address: 12000 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-5124
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#7 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#10 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range: £158 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect family beachfront resort offering condo-sized suites and resort amenities all under one roof! Located directly on one of America’s award winning beaches and overlooking the Gulf of Mexico is this “all-suite” resort hotel offering 154 - 2 bedroom/2 bath & 3 bedroom/3 bath condo-size suites. 24 hour front desk, on-site restaurant/cafe, beach/tiki bar, heated pool, 2 whirlpools & kiddie pool with fountains. Free use of business & fitness center, free WiFi, reserved parking & daily paper. Enjoy beach volleyball, ping pong, corn toss and more. Each suite is designed in a “Coastal Living” style motif and offers spacious living/dining rooms, full size kitchens with all appliances, china, glass & silverware, in-suite washer/dryer & private balconies facing the beach. Lush tropical courtyard with multiple waterfalls and fountain. Daily, weekly & group rates are available. Walk to world famous John’s Pass Village for more restaurants, shopping, jet skis, fishing and dolphin tours. Tampa Bay’s Busch Gardens and the area’s other world-class museums and attractions are just minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Hotel Treasure Island
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Resort
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing