We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Family Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
West Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Spot”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here in early June. Our trip included 4 adults and two children ages 4 and 7. We stayed in a two bedroom suite. The suite included two bathrooms, a full kitchen, a washer and dryer and a balcony with a partial ocean view. There was also a sofa sleeper. The suite was perfect for our family. It was like a small apartment. We were on the second floor. So, it was a short walk to pools and beach. The beach was very nice with fine sand and a gentle, warm surf. There are no first floor rooms. Parking and courtyard is on ground floor. The suite came with an assigned parking spot. Internet was free. The restaurant was small. It closes at 5. You either cook or go out to a different location for dinner. Cleaning service is only once a week. You can get clean towels from the office at any time. If travelling with a larger group, I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEJ72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    940
    526
    151
    47
    35
See reviews for
1,090
244
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albert Lea, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My husband and I, along with our 3 daughters (4, 14, 16) just got back from the Sunset Vistas. We stayed in Orlando 4 nights and then moved to Sunset Vistas for 3 nights. We wanted to relax on the beach and chill after the crazy Orlando crowds. That is exactly what we got. Treasure Island is a quiet little town without any hustle or bustle. We spent 3 days on the beach and it never felt crowded.

The resort itself is located in a great spot directly on the ocean. The rooms are set up so that all balconies aim toward the ocean, although I don't imagine you'd have much of a view from the ones further back by the street. We were lucky enough to have a condo on the 6th floor, first back from the direct ocean view. I had emailed the resort directly and requested a high floor with a great view, and that is exactly what we got! The sunset from our balcony was fantastic!

Although we spent most of the time at the beach, we did use the pool as well. It's not real big, but it wasn't very crowded when we where in it. I can't believe I'm saying this, as I'm usually always cold; however the pool water was very warm! It was hot out and I jumped in the pool expecting it to feel refreshing, but it didn't. It felt more like a hot tub. Felt good early in the morning or late at night though.

The condo was good sized for a family of 5. The only downfall is both bedrooms had a queen sized bed. One of my teens refuses to sleep in the same bed as her sister, so she slept on the hide-a-bed in the living room and the 4 yr old slept with the other teen in the queen bed. It all worked out! Our bed in the master was very comfortable! I love down comforters, so it's always a treat to stay some place that has them instead of cheap bedspreads. I read a different review where they said their bed was not comfortable; however that was not the case with ours. Not sure about the comfort of the couch, as we had it pulled out into a bed and never folded it back up to sit on. Other than to shower and sleep, we were never in the room.

We did eat breakfast twice at the little café on the 2nd floor. The ladies there were friendly and the meal was quick and cheap. We also visited the Tiki Bar on several occasions and had a couple yummy drinks!

All in all, our stay was great! It's not easy to find something affordable directly on the beach in the Clearwater/St Pete area - however Sunset Vistas fits the bill! I would not hesitate to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for top floor on the north side if you want to enjoy the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atchison, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just spent a weeks vacation with the family at Sunset Vistas first part of June. We had a two bedroom suite with two full baths. The Staff was just amazing, everyone was so friendly and went out of their way to help if we had questions. Would recommend this hotel and would stay there again. Loved it....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was our second year at the Sunset Vistas. We had a oceanfront penthouse this year, and booked the same for next year. Three bedrooms, three baths. Lots of space. The views are spectacular. All the staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, the beds are comfortable, although I couldn't find a good pillow. ( there were 10 pillows alone in the master bedroom walk in closet). Towels and supplies were restocked every 2 days by friendly staff. Our rooms were cleaned on the 7th day. We were there for 11 nights. If anything else was needed or you were running short it was available at the front desk. The pool is nice, plenty of chairs available, a few more umbrellas wouldn't hurt. Also, the pool is not chlorinated. My understanding is the Brackish method is used. You don't smell the over powering chlorine, and it doesn't dry your skin out. It's great. Looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 419gerrym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I spent a week for our summer vacation/babymoon at Sunset Vistas last week. We splurged and stayed in one of the 2 bedroom beachfront suites. The suite had plenty of space for two people and an unbeatable view of the beach and sunsets in the evening, The location was great as Treasure Island is noticeably less crowded than St. Pete Beach and Clearwater Beach. Driving to sights in Tampa, St. Petersburg, Orlando, Homosassa Springs, etc. was not too bad either.

The staff was always friendly; however, we experienced a few situations that could be improved upon to make Sunset Vistas a better place to stay. Sunset Vistas has a policy that housekeeping would replace towels and toiletries and take out the trash every two days in the afternoon. This was not followed at all in our experience. We had to call to have extra towels on the third full day of our stay. The office staff told us they had been shorthanded on staff causing our room to be missed. The person then showed up at 9:00AM the next day banging on our door even with the "Do Not Disturb" sign out. I brought the trash to the person at the door and then asked for a few more towels. We then no longer received any housekeeping service for the remainder of our week stay even though they should have come by three times in total. This was disappointing for spending $250-$300 per night. We just said we were staying at a rental condo with no service instead of a hotel from that point forward. The property did not even seem to be at full capacity during our stay there.

The suite itself was clean and there is going to be some understandable wear and tear in a beach environment; however, some furnishings were extremely uncomfortable. Both the sofa in the living space as well as the mattress in the master bedroom needed to be replaced. The cushions were extremely worn on the sofa and did not provide much if any support. The mattress was the worst mattress I have ever slept on in my experiences which some have been much more primitive than Sunset Vistas. I usually enjoy softer mattresses; however, this mattress was completely shot. Both my wife and I woke up several times throughout the night due to poor condition of the mattress. We also would be woken up due to hearing neighbors constantly moving their furniture around at 1AM and 5AM which did not make any sense to us. We looked forward to getting out of the bed in the morning so it made it easier to get the day started earlier.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHR85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Just spent 3 nights and 4 days with my family celebrating my mom's 90th birthday at this resort with a gulf front suite; beautiful view, clean, comfortable accommodations; easy access to elevators, stairs, etc. The staff, especially George Hoch, Kay, Drew, and Christina, were gracious and attentive. We had a great time---and we will be back!

Room Tip: Good view from most rooms-loved our gulf front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sloan, Iowa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We rented three suites for the three families on a seven day vacation. We are not prima donnas. We wanted a nice beachfront suite that is family/kid friendly and relaxing. The rooms were clean and updated. The staff was exceptionally friendly. Our every need was met. The beach front was perfect for the family. The swimming pool and hot tub was great. The parking was helpful. I used the nice fitness center almost every day. The resort was centrally located for our needs. Jon's pass was just up the road. (We really enjoyed everything there) Lots of dining to the south. We also enjoyed the shake shack just to the south of the hotel. We are definitely coming back here again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jlutt87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.7 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Surf Beach Resort
Surf Beach Resort
#2 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#11 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Beach Condo/Hotel
South Beach Condo/Hotel
#3 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites

Property: Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Address: 12000 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-5124
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#7 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#10 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect family beachfront resort offering condo-sized suites and resort amenities all under one roof! Located directly on one of America’s award winning beaches and overlooking the Gulf of Mexico is this “all-suite” resort hotel offering 154 - 2 bedroom/2 bath & 3 bedroom/3 bath condo-size suites. 24 hour front desk, on-site restaurant/cafe, beach/tiki bar, heated pool, 2 whirlpools & kiddie pool with fountains. Free use of business & fitness center, free WiFi, reserved parking & daily paper. Enjoy beach volleyball, ping pong, corn toss and more. Each suite is designed in a “Coastal Living” style motif and offers spacious living/dining rooms, full size kitchens with all appliances, china, glass & silverware, in-suite washer/dryer & private balconies facing the beach. Lush tropical courtyard with multiple waterfalls and fountain. Daily, weekly & group rates are available. Walk to world famous John’s Pass Village for more restaurants, shopping, jet skis, fishing and dolphin tours. Tampa Bay’s Busch Gardens and the area’s other world-class museums and attractions are just minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Hotel Treasure Island
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Resort
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing