We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2008

Our family stayed at Sunset Vista the week of Thanksgiving. We have 3 children 15, 12 & 5 and stayed in the 2 bedroom ocean view. The beach in front of the resort is wonderful. The kids enjoyed the pool area. The room was ok. It was nicely decorated and of nice size. I did find a empty beer bottle under my bed. The fitted sheet is not fitted on the bed and comes off the bed with every turn, next time I think I will bring my own. Also they do not give you any more paper towels (so if you start out with a half a roll you make ask for a full one) or go by some when you shop. Only 2 packs of dishwasher liqud is your limit. No salt or pepper if you plan to cook bring your own. The Publix was great. The fresh seafood they have was amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ShellyBranson_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,591 - 1,597 of 1,802 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2008

Our family of 6 just returned from a fantastic stay at Sunset Vistas. We booked a 2 bedroom gulf front suite, which was just right for us to all enjoy our 5 day stay! The room was in great shape minus a few small flaws that we certainly could live with. Plenty of cooking utensils, however ours did not have any potholders...so taking the cookies out of the oven that we baked was a little tricky..but we managed. (there is a security guard that walks the grounds alot of the time and he LOVES freshly baked cookies,,,just to note)

All employess were very friendly and very willing to help if you had any ?'s or just wanted info on where to go and what to see. The views from our balcony were gorgeous. The pool area was exceptional and water nice and warm. The beach was very nice and clean. We had a great time at the poolside bar..drinks are a little pricey, but we were on vacation and that comes with the territory. The people we met at the bar were friendly, and the singer that regularly sings there was so much fun!!

Right next to the hotel is shakeshop with fantastic shakes and sundaes!! YUM!

We went to Johns pass,,,but we drove..some reviews on here say it is a short distance, but we felt it was quite a hike.

Cannot say enough things about this hotel...for us it was a fantastic getaway...we will definately go back...I wish today!!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank moofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2008

Overall we were very satisfied with our stay here. This is a large suite hotel located very close to the beach. We booked through the hotel because they had a special for their beach front rooms going on. These rooms all face the beach and gulf as opposed to the rest of the rooms that have angled views of the gulf, some sitting far back from the beach. We thought it was worth the extra money. Our room was on the fourth floor which had fantastic views. The only drawback was that we were near the pool area and it was noisey at times. The sodium lights at night by the pool are very bright and distracting even 4 floors up.
We had a 2 bedroom suite with a full kitchen and two baths; very convenient. There are plenty of kitchen utensils, pots, pans, and dishes to prepare meals. The full refridgerator, dish washer, washer/dryer combo were nice, we used it all. The room is nothing fancy, but it was satisfactory for us. The beds were comfortable except for the non fitted sheets that were always coming undone. One of the bedrooms has its own sliding glass door that exits onto the private balcony also accessable from the living room which also has a large glass sliding door. We did find a few stains on the carpet, couch cushions, kitchen chairs, and walls. Your room does not get cleaned every day. The staff brings towels, dishwashing soap every two days. But you are responsible for the upkeep. This was fine by us but since this is a beach resort you constantly track in sand and all they supply is a broom. No dust pan! The livingroom television has a DVD/VCR built in. The other bedroom also has a smaller television.
The beach was our favorite part of our vacation. It is clean, safe, and you can walk forever. There are numerous birds and pelicans about and we saw an occasional dolphin from a distance. The gulf water was clean but cold. A private business not associated with the hotel rents the beach shelters. It was $20.00 for the whole day which includes two lounge chairs. They also rent by the hour and give discounts for multiple days. Just pick one that is unoccupied and has a red tag on it and someone will come by. The hours are from 8AM-6PM. We checked out the hotel bar but the drinks are way overpriced and tasted watered down. There is a liquor department at the Walgreens a couple of blocks away or you can purchase beer and wine at the Publix grocery store about a half mile from the hotel. Way cheeper than the hotel. The Publix grocery store is a full service grocery. It has everything you need. We loved this store, the produce and meats were very fresh. It has a large beer and wine selection.
If you are bored you can walk to John's Pass just over the bridge in Midera Beach. (15 minute walk) It's a tourist trap full of t-shirt shops, and the usual overpriced merchandise. We ate at only two restaurants. Bubba Gumps in John's Pass and Sloppy Joe's located behind the Billmar Beach Hotel. The food was good but nothing to rave about. Sloppy Joe's did have a great looking bar and the outdoor seating offers excellent views of the sunset. We really didn't need our rental car since most everything is within walking distance. All in all we had a great time here and would book it again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishlad57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2008

Just returned from a fabulous week at the Sunset Vistas. We were a group of 4 adults and had a 2-bedroom condo.

There was plenty of room for us all, although 4 chairs on the balcony would have been better than the 2 provided!

We were in the south building and had a lovely view of the beach. I think the rooms on the north side probably get a better view of the sunset, but those on the south side get more sun during the day, which was more important for us. After all, it's literally a 2 minute stroll to the beach if you want to see the sunset.

The entire place was really well kept, clean and comfortable. Staff were very helpful and pleasant.

The position of the hotel is also great. An easy walk to John's Pass which offers a large number of bars/restaurants for either lunch or dinner time eating/drinking. Added to this was the fabulous view of wild dolphins "doing their thing" each afternoon/evening. Sitting with a cold beer, watching them play is something you really can't beat! Even closer is Gators, which might look a little rough around the edges, but they offer great food, great drinks and more great views of the dolphins.

A 15 minute stroll along the beach brings you to the Waffle House, where we enjoyed great waffles (obviously!) a couple of mornings.

Having said so much about eating out, the kitchen in the condo had everything you could need to eat in as well. There's a Publix supermarket a couple of miles down Gulf Boulevard for stocking up and the size of the fridge (probably normal sized to Americans, but HUGE for us Brits!) means you can stock up for about a month!

Overall, we really couldn't fault our stay at Sunset Vistas. We're already planning our next trip there and plan to take more folks next time around, and perhaps book 2 or more condos.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sarah-Keeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2008

I just returned from the "destination wedding" of my eldest daughter, and the families of both the Bride and Groom spent several days at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites. The hotel provides two and three bedroom suites, all with some view of the Gulf Coast through the living room glass doors accessing the two person balconies. The floor plan is ingenious and spacious, with full kitchen, dual bath, dining table, television with DVD player, air conditioning, ceiling fans, and a bar with stools that separates the kitchen from the living area. The hotel was clean and comfortable, featuring a large pool and hot tub, a small bar, a small cafe providing salads or hot and cold sandwiches, and immediate access to a very nice beach. The hotel assumes you will live in the suites, and does not provide room service. The staff is very friendly, and the guests during our stay were uniformly friendly as well, with a good mix of couples, families with small children, and senior vacationers. While the room was comfortable, the water pressure in the master bath was inadequate, the oven was unusable and required a good cleaning, and the bed skirt on the master bed was ripped. The hotel is minutes from John's Pass Village, which borders a large lagoon that includes a number of restaurants and shopping typical to tourism. Treasure Island is bustling but relaxed, with every amenity available within a reasonably short distance. We enjoyed an excellent reception at The Wine Cellar some four miles north and a truly superb meal at the sophisticated and comfortable Middle Grounds Grill only blocks south of the hotel. The local residents, service, and tradespersons were approachable and friendly. Everyone in the party agreed that the stay was relaxing and fun, and looked forward to another opportunity to visit Treasure Island and stay at Sunset Vistas.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank Raybees55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

This is a frustrating property, because some things inside the units are nice, new, and other things are old and gross, and for me, unfortunately, the gross won out.

I especially hated getting in the bed at night, felt like the linens had just been slept in by someone else, and yes there is a washer and dryer, but do you really think you are going to want to tear apart the bedding, wash it all and re-assemble it, I doubt it. I was just glad I was very tired so I fell asleep anyway.

The view is nice, the kitchen and baths are newer seeming with nicer cabinets/counters and fixtures, and the towels in the bathrooms seemed newer and decent quality.

The gross problems were with the living room furniture and the bedding, comforters and pillow shams, which pretty much covered any areas you would be able to sit, I mostly sat on a deck chair that seemed like the cleanest option.

Really a shame that the kitchens and baths are nice, while the furniture, bedding, oh and I forgot to mention the bedroom carpets, were all yucky like you didn't want to touch them.

Also the outside corridors to the rooms were nasty, and the elevator pretty dirty. I couldn't believe when I saw a man and his two kids walking barefoot on one of the gross corridor floors, so I guess some people don't mind a nasty place like this.

If you are fussy about hotels like I am, you will overall feel gross in this place. So unfortunate that so many hotels in Florida are overused, under cleaned and just plain gross.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank mazeyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetOpsManager, Operations Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2008

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We take all feedback, both positive and negative, very seriously as we are always striving for excellence. We are just finishing a property wide re-carpeting project and are constantly looking for other areas to improve upon. I am truly sorry for your experience with us and we will work hard to ensure this is not repeated in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2008

My husband and I spent a week at Sunset Vistas in October, 2008, and we had a wonderful time. Almost everyone there was very friendly and helpful. We did encounter a very surley maid the day beore we left, she refused to give us clean towels for our room, but maybe she was just having a bad day. The cafe is good, we had lunch there a couple of times, the beach bar is a little pricey, but the drinks are good.
The view from our oceanfront condo was breathtaking. The balcony had doors opening out of both the living room and the master bedroom. We did experience a problem with the noise from the unit above us, since the floors are tile and not carpet, the moving of furniture from above is very noisy. I'm not sure what was going on in the unit above, but they moved the furniture constantly!
It was very nice having 2 bathrooms!!!! The washer and dryer in the unit is also a plus.
Overall we had a very relaxing vaction at Sunset Vistas.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DebB47905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Treasure Island
0.7 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Treasure Island
226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Surf Beach Resort
Surf Beach Resort
#2 of 48 in Treasure Island
887 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Beach Condo/Hotel
South Beach Condo/Hotel
#3 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#23 of 48 in Treasure Island
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites

Address: 12000 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-5124
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#7 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#10 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range: £139 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect family beachfront resort offering condo-sized suites and resort amenities all under one roof! Located directly on one of America’s award winning beaches and overlooking the Gulf of Mexico is this “all-suite” resort hotel offering 154 - 2 bedroom/2 bath & 3 bedroom/3 bath condo-size suites. 24 hour front desk, on-site restaurant/cafe, beach/tiki bar, heated pool, 2 whirlpools & kiddie pool with fountains. Free use of business & fitness center, free WiFi, reserved parking & daily paper. Enjoy beach volleyball, ping pong, corn toss and more. Each suite is designed in a “Coastal Living” style motif and offers spacious living/dining rooms, full size kitchens with all appliances, china, glass & silverware, in-suite washer/dryer & private balconies facing the beach. Lush tropical courtyard with multiple waterfalls and fountain. Daily, weekly & group rates are available. Walk to world famous John’s Pass Village for more restaurants, shopping, jet skis, fishing and dolphin tours. Tampa Bay’s Busch Gardens and the area’s other world-class museums and attractions are just minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Hotel Treasure Island
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Resort
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing