We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old and out-dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropic Terrace of Treasure Island
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here in Unit 16 from April 30th to May 5, 2014; room was moldy, even the curtains had mold on them. very out dated room; dishes were dirty in the cabinets; bedding was old and not in good shape. the bed was a king size mattress setting on a full size box spring. the only good thing about this place was the pool! it was very nice. I was so disappointed because the pictures of the other units looked really nice. we will investigate more before we book a trip with Hotwire.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

My husband and I have come to the Tropic Terrace from Canada for a vacation. We had booked unit 32 last year without being able to see it. When we walked into our unit were very disappointed as the place was so musty and very cluttered. There is absolutely no storage at all and the bathroom door hits the fridge. We are here for 2 months and we feel we have paid a good some and we have not got fair value. I totally agree with the former occupants.We would not come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

When we walked into our room, we were pleasantly surprised. It's a two room suite with a very nice kitchen and separate bedroom with lots of storage. However, there's no maid service, they don't provide pool towels, and the front desk is closed most of the time. We ran out of toilet paper two days before the end of our trip and found it hard to catch someone in the office. This is a condo hotel, meaning the rooms are owned separately, so maybe the amenities depend on each unit's owner. Probably would only stay here again if there were no other options.

Room Tip: Try to do an owner rental. The resort fee was ridiculous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GingerSnap317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were looking for a family-sized hotel room and found it at Tropic Terrace. Our unit had been renovated and had a nice (if small) bathroom and fully kitted-out kitchen from Ikea, which is nice for longer stays. The 2 bedrooms could sleep 6, and was great for our 4. The only fault I can find with it overall was the cheap rug that constantly shed fibers everywhere (my wife swept them twice daily) and a truly uncomfortable leather sofa that was the only 'soft' seating in the unit. The newly installed pool as lightly used and heated to 87F while we were there.

Room Tip: Unit 40 has been renovated, and is a 2 bedroom suitable for family use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hogtownmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Now these condos are tiny but AWESOME! Nice décor, good comfortable king sized bed, a portable air conditioner in bedroom (huge plus), granite counter tops, full sized fridge and one beautifully tiled shower. We too are landlords and we do our own maintenance on 15 units in TN. When you can impress my husband you did good! Hats off to the lady who owns #21! We will come back!

Room Tip: I really like 21 for a one bedroom but if you want a two bedroom, get the retro unit from the 60'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over the fourth if July. Our room was adorable and retro styled. We loved it!!! Everything was clean and impeccable. We will be going back. We were within walking distance to many eating establishments, bars and shops. Not to mention the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bevandbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Very happy overall. I tried to find a hotel/motel for Memorial Weekend but had a hard time finding a place that did not mandate 3 night stay. This ended up be much cheaper than a lot of other hotels in the area. So I was worried about the quality. Totally worth i!. When we first checked in the fire alarm was chirping and within minutes of reporting it, the front desk person was at the door with the new battery. The unit was refurbished with a murphy bed. Bed was ok. Too small for us tall people but fairly comfortable. Room is small but that's not why you are there. The pool was clean and actually spent more time there than the beach. Motel is technically on the beach but it is a good 1500 yards from the water, which is a long walk for my husbands knees. The beach is at a public access point so crowded as well. But beach is beautiful and was worth being there for the sunset and early morning before crowds. It is convenient to Johns Pass and is at a light which makes it easy for getting in and out. Would totally come back but would ask for a room with regular bed. Also pro and con. We were allowed to check in earlier than the 3oclock which we had to do because office closes at 5 and had plans that would not let us make that.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sabrena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#23 of 48 in Treasure Island
513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tahitian Beach Motel
Tahitian Beach Motel
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
548 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bayside Inn & Marina
The Bayside Inn & Marina
#34 of 48 in Treasure Island
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Island Inn
Island Inn
#30 of 48 in Treasure Island
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
#11 of 48 in Treasure Island
945 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#7 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Terrace of Treasure Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Terrace of Treasure Island

Address: 11730 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-5118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range: £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropic Terrace of Treasure Island 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the perfect beach getaway? Enjoy this charming beach side condo that gives you the beautiful sunsets over the Gulf of Mexico. Tropic Terrace also gives you the option of relaxing by the heated pool where you will be surrounded with landscaping that will bring a sense of tranquility to your vacation time. Come enjoy this beautiful and quaint part of the gulf you will be sure to love. Amazing Beachfront units ranging from studio to 2 bedroom on the beautiful sands of the Gulf of Mexico in Treasure Island, FL. A tropical courtyard features a heated in ground pool, BBQ grills, and shuffleboards. The Tropic Terrace property is centrally located and close to the supermarket, pharmacy, and John's Pass which offers a variety of restaurants and shops. A coin-operated laundry facility is on site. A recreation room is stocked with ping-pong, tvs, snacks, and much more. There is a three-night minimum. This unit is NOT pet friendly. There is on site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tropic Terrace of Treasure Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Terrace Of Treasure Island Hotel Treasure Island
Tropic Terrace Treasure Island
Tropic Terrace Of Treasure Island Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing