We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! This was the best vacation ever.”
Review of Swashbuckler Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Swashbuckler Motel
Ranked #45 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
East Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow! This was the best vacation ever.”
Reviewed 27 September 2010

My husband and I used to live on Treasure Island from late 1980's to early 2000's. We used to book rooms at The Swasbuckler for friends and family. We came back this summer to visit old friends and decided to stay at The Swashbuckler. I was amazed at the changes. The rooms are all updated, clean, and nicely furnished. The property is freshly painted and very well kept. The pool is sparkling clean. The landscaping is well tended.

There used to be a cranky owner there, but no more. Dick and Dj , the owners, are cheerful as well as helpful. Richie, the manager, is always there 24/7. He is upbeat and does anything to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Having lived on Treas Is for over 20 years Richie can direct you to all the local attractions. This was very helpful as things have changed since we lived there. He even took my husband fishing one evening when he finished work.

We will always return to stay at the Swashbuckler. Thanks guys for a wonderful stay.

Ginny & Rich
Monroe Twp. NJ

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhwiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    7
    0
    3
    4
See reviews for
10
18
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

unkept, Its all about money, to these people, they take it and then you never see any staff !!!!
appears to be alot of drug traffic. we left early and went to a real motel, where we felt good about the stay

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AT234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, VA
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Had to go to St. Petersburg on business last March, and the family wanted to come along to spend some time at the beach. The Swashbuckler was perfect. Got a suite and a single, not connected but right next to each other. Both were well appointed, quite comfortable, and very pleasant. The pool was fine and usually pretty empty while we were there. Can't beat the price for this much space or rooms this nice. The staff was great and very helpful. Parking was okay; not much in front, but plenty just around the corner.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

My wife and I just got back from our annual Florida vacation. For the second year in a row, we had the pleasure of staying at the Swashbuckler in Treasure Island. It couldn't be more convenient with beach access a short walk across the street and a good central location to local food and entertainment. They even have beach chairs, umbrellas and towels for you to use so you don't have to worry about packing those! Dick, the owner, is a great guy and goes out of his way to make sure you have a relaxing, enjoyable stay. Considering the convenience and affordability, for us, the Swashbuckler can't be beat in that area.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaeljulius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

The Swashbuckler is across the street from the beach and has easy beach access. Beach chairs and beach towels were available in the room.
The room was a spacious two bedroom, nice and clean, nice furninshings, and well laid out. Kitchen utencils were available.
Restaurants and nightlife were within walking disctance.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

We just finished our third trip to Teasure Island this year and each time we stayed at the Swashbuckler. Dick, the owner, was his usual customer oriented self. He periodically checked to see if we needed anything to make our stay more enjoyable. We have now stayed in two different apartments and both were equally furnished for a comfortable stay. We are looking forward to being there in April 2010, if not sooner.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TDPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

Nice comfortable place. Even though it isn't on the beach side I could see the beach from my living room window (which is better than when I stayed on the beach before). The staff was great! Dick was so wonderful and was always offering any help that we might need and made sure we were comfortable and enjoying ourselves. The place is close enough to anything you might need (groceries, restaurants, etc.). I stayed in an apartment that you can rent weekly (also nightly) and it was furnished with everything you needed down to the plates and silverware, pots and pans, and spices. Thanks for a great time and I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smidget2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Oasis Palms Resort
Oasis Palms Resort
#23 of 48 in Treasure Island
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#20 of 48 in Treasure Island
524 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ebb Tide Motel
Ebb Tide Motel
#43 of 48 in Treasure Island
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tropic Terrace of Treasure Island
Tropic Terrace of Treasure Islan...
#33 of 48 in Treasure Island
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mardi Gras Motel
Mardi Gras Motel
#27 of 48 in Treasure Island
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swashbuckler Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swashbuckler Motel

Property: Swashbuckler Motel
Address: 11875 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-5119
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Swashbuckler Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swashbuckler is located in Treasure Island, FL within steps from the beautiful Treasure Island beach. We have a generous size pool with large sun deck, BBQ area; clothes care center and onsite parking. We offer fully furnished efficiencies, studios and one bedroom, two bedroom/one bathroom accommodations. The rooms are completely furnished including a fully equipped kitchen with a full size refrigerator, built in microwave, cook top range, all dishes, pot pans, toaster, Foreman grill, coffee maker, dish towels, linens, beach/pool towels, beach chairs and beach umbrellas. There is Direct cable T.V.offering 150+ channels plus free movie channels. Free Internet. 25 inch TV’s in the bedroom and living room. The bedroom has a full/queen size bed and most rooms will have a pull out sofa. We are located within walking distance of Historic John's Pass Village and Boardwalk where you will enjoy a variety of venues to include shopping, water activities, fishing, several different restaurants, casino cruises, night life and so much more. There is beach trolley that stops right at our front door if you prefer not to drive. Taxis, Limo service and free transportation options are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Swashbuckler Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swashbuckler Hotel Treasure Island
Swashbuckler Motel Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing