We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summer vacation”
Review of Sea Chest Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Chest Motel
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Loudonville, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Summer vacation”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

You couldn't ask for a better place to enjoy a week with the family. A beautiful vacation destination that has the best of everything. Great staff, excellent service, updates and improvements every year we return. You know the place is excellent when guests tell you they have been vacationing there for forty plus years. We have been guests for 8 years and year nine has been scheduled!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    35
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
96
90
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This hotel was a ver pleasant surprise for us. The hotel only had about 23 rooms and was an older style. The front desk was very help upon check in and anytime I had a question it was answered by the couple in a friendly way. In our room it was small but the bathroom was newly remodeled and the room was very clean. On the premise they have a very nice pool and the hotel sits on the beach! I would stay there again, actually we are talking about our next trip back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramar81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This was our 3 rd visit to this motel, and once again met all our expectations, the motel is spotless and so friendly, you will not find as good motel as this in the whole of Florida!! We come from the uk and love this type of motel, the bathrooms been refurbished they look great!! Maria the owner is very hospitable and friendly, we also met some great people there too!! See you next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nat61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This was our first time staying at this motel and it was amazing! The rooms were spotlessly clean and very cozy and inviting. The bed linens were fresh and pleasantly scented. I was very impressed with the service and friendliness of the entire staff. I will be staying here every time I need a vacation at the beach. I will tell all my friends, actually I already have told them on Facebook what a great place The Sea Chest is. The views are beautiful and all the rooms over look the pool which is the cleanest pool I have ever swam in. This was my wifes and mines 28th wedding anniversary. My daughter who lives in St. Pete got the room for us, and when we walked in there were balloons, flowers and champagne waiting. The owners allowed her to decorate our room so we would be surprised and boy were we ever!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This motel was recommended to us by a friend, and I am so glad we gave it a try!

A small two-story place on a nice quiet stretch of Treasure Island beach, this space boasts a variety of room options, a pool, outdoor dining and BBQ areas, and a very short walk to the beach.

The thing to know is that the rates are great in this area and the rooms book up early. We were booking a week early and were lucky to get the last room available for a one-night stay. No online reservations are possible (at the time of my review) and I'm sure that's because this place doesn't need to go that route, they have so many repeat visitors. It's kind of old fashioned that way, but without being old-fashioned in its rooms and trimmings. :) A perfect combination for a low-key getaway.

We had an upstairs 2 queen room with kitchenette facing the pool and beach. Gorgeous views out of the large water-facing windows, and being on the 2nd floor afforded some privacy. Everything in the bathroom had been updated and was great, and the full-size fridge and kitchenette gave us a really nice way to do snacks and drinks for the beach. Comfy beds, plenty of space to move around and put our luggage.

Prepare for a tiny parking lot (typical in this area) - some parking spots don't look like spots at all, but the front desk agent was helpful to point out where our options were, and we made out just fine for our stay.

We had nice guest service from the gentleman who helped us book by phone and welcomed us upon arrival, to the lady who checked us out with a smile.


I'm sure we'll be back whenever we want a low-key, affordable, well-appointed place right on the beach. Thanks Sea Chest!

P.S. Check out a new little New Orleans style breakfast place/pub around the corner called Shrimpy's - yum!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kelley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

My family and I just recently stayed here on our first trip to Treasure Island. My husband and I had our two boys with us, ages 6 and 10. We were immediately greeted with smiles and wonderful hospitality. If you are looking for a more laid back and quiet place, this is it. If you're looking for a hopping party-like atmosphere, you'll have to go up the road. We picked Sea Chest because we wanted a smaller mom and pop type place where we didn't feel overwhelmed. It was perfect for us. The view off of any room is breathtaking, as they all look out into the ocean and beach. We loved the small size of Sea Chest, as it didn't feel like I had to worry about our kids getting lost in the shuffle or fight for a good place at the pool. If my kids needed anything while we were swimming (like using the restroom), they could walk up to our room themselves as all the rooms are still visible from the pool, and close enough to feel comfortable.

The beach itself if beautiful, and really not that far of a walk if you ask me. While the beach is wider than the others, it certainly doesn't take more than a couple minutes to get all the way to the shore. Since Sea Chest sits right next to the beach, you don't have the headache of having to cross the street to get there. The sand starts as soon as you step off of the property and is quite convenient, especially if you have kids.

I also want to mention the cleanliness of Sea Chest. Housekeeping does a fantastic job, as do the groundskeepers. The property itself is really beautifully maintained. While some of the fixtures of the rooms may seem a bit antique, they are extremely clean and well maintained. I would rather have a clean room with older features, than a room with new and dirty features. There are some dives in Treasure Island among some of the nicer places. IMO, the nicer places are fewer, especially when it comes to being clean and maintained. Sea Chest is one of the nice ones, and is truly a hidden gem. Once you walk into the common area, you are immediately surrounded by beauty. My family and I would highly recommend Sea Chest to anyone. There is a reason why so many people are regulars there!

Room Tip: Rooms are very spacious, and the noise level from rooms next door is very minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed here for a few days in late April. This is a very nice hotel for the price and location. I loved the fact that you can walk out the back directly to the beach. The beach is amazing; soft sand, shells, gentle surf and WIDE with plenty of space to spread out. The owner is nice, responsive and knowledgeable, other staff also sweet and charming. I think it bares repeating the office closes at 8PM so late arrivals should let staff know to make arrangements.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#20 of 48 in Treasure Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#7 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
0.6 mi away
Thunderbird Beach Resort
Thunderbird Beach Resort
#13 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Chest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Chest Motel

Property: Sea Chest Motel
Address: 11780 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-5118
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#7 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely two story motel with lush green grounds and heated pool directly on the Gulf of Mexico beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sea Chest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Chest Hotel Treasure Island
Sea Chest Treasure Island
Sea Chest Motel Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing