We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won`t beat the view from here!”
Review of Sand Pebble Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sand Pebble Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The apartment block (ugly, 1960s) is right on the white sandy beach of Madiera Beach in Treasure Island. Masses of free parking at the resort; we hired a huge 4 x 4 and it easily slid into the big spaces provided! Initial impression was of a rather dated resort, dingy reception area, but our welcome was pleasant enough. Apparently RCI has "messed up" our booking. We had booked a THREE bed apartment and what we got was 2 x 1 bedroom adjoining apartments, each with a sofa bed in their respective sitting rooms. Actually this worked for us as our party comprised my husband and myself, our 23 year old son and his 23yrs old friend, so the boys were happy to share a bedroom of two large double beds. However this arrangement would not have been any use to a family with young children.

The apartments vary. The boys` apartment was very shabby and dated; rather dark, with no balcony and a microscopic kitchen are with just a small fridge and a kettle. The 2 x double bed bedroom they shared was fine, if a bit old fashioned, and the bathroom was dated. Our apartment was better, bigger, with a bright sitting room with flat screen TV (boys had an ancient TV) and a balcony. Furniture in our apartment was comfy although not new looking. Ample glasses, plates etc. Dish washer (powder provided), good sized fridge. Cooker and microwave. Air conditioning was good in both apartments.

The views of sunsets from the larger apartment were fantastic. Do ring and check you have a sea-facing apartment before you book.

The lift was a bit antique - they started re doing this as we left and I`m assuming they will brighten up the reception area at the same time!

Outside is a heated, clean swimming pool and a fantastic uber-warm jacuzzi. There are BBQs for your use which was a nice touch. Everything is clean and well cared for.

The beach is literally `on site`. Bring your buckets and spades!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank supermummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

Did a Time Share exchange for a Studio; got an efficiency with multiple problems. Buyer beware - if you rent or exchange for a studio / efficiency you will receive a room that was split off of a larger unit.
There is no control over the central A/C unit; the controls are in the other half of the unit that you have no access to . You get the option of opening the one window facing the parking lot or using a wall unit. Imagine it is August 90+ degrees and the other unit has the A/C on colder than you would like, so the options are open the window or turn on the HEAT using the wall unit! Yep, lots of fun regulating the temp.
You also will be using a Murphy bed - the pull down equivalent of a sleeper sofa. Not very comfortable.
Unit has a kitchenette. No counter space or dishwasher. Has a small bar sink to use to wash dishes. We had to use the bathroom sink to wash the skillet - bar sink was not big enough. Coffee maker broke and was replaced. Toaster would heat up but never shut off. Burned the bagels, but was so feed up by then that a replacement for the toaster was never requested.
Staff at the desk was friendly and professional, but could not place use in another room during our stay.
Our advice is to rent / exchange ONLY for a 1 bedroom or larger unit!
Housekeeping staff is excellent and will meet any and all requests.
Amenities are wonderful. Spa and Pools are very well kept. Plenty of lounge chairs and pool side tables and chairs to use. Pool toys for kids are available. BBQ grills are available.
Easy access to the beach is what makes this place a wonderful location.
It is a short walk to the John's Pass area for dining and shopping.

Room Tip: Get 1 bedroom or larger unit - ask about the beach views since they vary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cindy_and_Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We have nothing against older resorts. However, they must be clean! Last year we came to this resort and the two bedroom was ok, and clean. Not this second time around!

My grandchild walked barefoot on the carpet for 10 minutes. His feet looked like he had walked on charcoal! disgusting!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gigi09watch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

We stayed at Sand Pebble for ou anniversary. It is located right on the beach, in quieter section of Gulf Blvd just a short walk south of John's Pass (with it's restuarants and shops). The Gulf view rooms are simply appointed, with a small kitchen and dining area. There was plenty of space, and while the interior is not the most up-to-date, everything was in good condition. The staff was friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a nice place on the beach, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brink5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We have owned at Sand Pebble since 1994 and have been lucky to have gone back every year except 2009, we really really missed it and can not wait to get back in October this year.
The staff are so helpful and friendly and we have made many friends over the years, we have no complaints about "our second home" see you all in October 2010

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PaulineBexleyheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

My former fiance and I purchased our timeshare back in the 80's. I have been going there
now every year, and wouldn't miss taking this trip. Sand Pebble's staff are very, very, helpful, friendly, and will go out of their way to help you. The staff have been there for several years and it is always good to see the same staff year after year. The Sand Pebble is a wonderful place to stay. It is in walking distance for shopping, clubs and restaurants.
The white sand beaches are filled with sea shells and the blue ocean is just spectacular!
I love the Sand Pebble so much that I purchased an additional week of timeshare there.
Love you Sand Pebble and can't wait till my next visit !!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank windylindy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2009

Had an enjoyable quiet week here on an RCI exchange.
The Gulf Beach properties are all a little tired ,really,so we did not expect too much in the way of luxury here.The property is set back from Gulf Blvd which is good as far as traffic noise goes and is right on the beach via the access footbridge.The Centre Atrium of the apartments is actually open to the elements above so the rain can and does get in there!
The walkways and doors are not very nice, the stairways worse and the elevator as promised in other reviews awful! We were on the first floor and used the stair mostly ,though it was locked at night.and you had to use the lift.I never checked if the stair could be opened from the inside(FIRE?)as I reckoned we could jump from the first floor,but would have checked this out if I was further up for sure.
Reception is a tiny corner desk and not manned at night,you are given a code for access.
The pool was quite nice and the hot tub a great temperature,and was adjacent to the dunes of the beach.
Just a few minutes walk to John's Pass eateries and shops, over the bridge ,we walked this many times so no-one had to drive and the men could have a couple beers with their meal ,so this kept spirits up during the stay!
Pleasantly surprised by the apartments- they were fairly spacious and comfortable with two queens in the second bedroom.Clean and well equipped kitchen all in working order.We did buy a gel airfreshener as there was a faint funky smell when you first walked in (like a house with a dog,but not quite),But I suppose that's better than overuse of harsh chemical sprays which go for my sinus big time!
We really enjoyed our stay here,but they could do with upgrading the stairwells as they bring the place down.
Would recommend this place if you wanted to be near John's pass but still somewhere quiet and family orientated without 18-30 crowd scenario problems,just get over the state of the stairs,kick back and enjoy!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cardigran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Treasure Island
0.2 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#7 of 48 in Treasure Island
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
698 reviews
0.6 mi away
South Beach Condo/Hotel
South Beach Condo/Hotel
#4 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
#11 of 48 in Treasure Island
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Pebble Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Pebble Resort

Address: 12300 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-5004
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Treasure Island
Hotel Class:3 star — Sand Pebble Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Sand Pebble Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Pebble Hotel Treasure Island
Sand Pebble Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing