We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite spot on Treasure Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Molloy Gulf Front Motel and Cottages
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We just got back from our 4th stay in 5 years at the Molloy. If you want a fancy place you won't want to come here. If you want a great value, family vaction than you want to come to the Molloy. Very friendly, rooms have everything you need and the owners and staff make sure you have everything you need. Full kitchens with a grill overlooking the gulf of mexico. We stayed for 13 days and enjoyed every single minute. 1 night as I lit the grill it ran out of gas, when I told someone about the owner had a new tank in 5 minutes. We have already booked again for next year. Fishing docks available across the street that my son I caught many fish.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KKBirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for The Molloy Gulf Front Motel and Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

I have visited this motel on 3 occasions and would go back at the drop of a hat. Granted the place would benefit from a coat of paint and rooms updating slightly but I go on holiday for the natural beauty and that is directly on the doorstep.
The pool is immediately right by the rooms, no need to take lifts or walk across the grounds to reach it; immediately beyond the pool is a quiet tree shaded area for sun bathing and just beyond that the wide sandy beach. It is a perfect location for sun worshipers and sunset watchers alike.
The owner and staff are very helpful and easy to talk to; I visited at a similar time of year and have met up with some clientel who have been at the same time as me before and we remembered each other which was great.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joolybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Would never stay here again, not kept up at all, shower did not work.
Was 85 degrees in the room at check in. Office gave attitude about the fact they let us book for one night (thank god) when there was supposedly a 3 night minimum. White trash clientele. Do not be fooled by the website pics.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

My family of 5 (Myself, husband, 16,13,10 year old kids) were in a bind when our condo was double booked and we were left to look for other accomidations and the Molloy was presented as and option. I called the manager asking if there were any rooms available to house our family and they told us to drive over and check it out.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the desk clerk and shown the room that might work for us and we felt it would work for us. Everything here is a bit dated but albeit clean. Parking is very tight but we never had to park elsewhere. We had a 2 room apartment that had a pull out couch and twin bed in living room along with a small table and mounted 19 old tv. Efficiency style kitchen with full size stove and refridge, microwave, coffee pot, toaster. Table setting for 4, silverware for 8, pots, pans, glass ware and dish drainer. The bedroom had a double and twin bed...no tv. A door in bedroom and living area accessed the small, clean dated bathroom. Towels were clean and plentifull.
Pool is small and RIGHT there in the courtyard so it makes everything feel a bit tight. I saw everymorning the pool lady cleaning and maintaining the pool. The concrete around the structure and stairs could use a really good scrubbing. No ice machine, coin operated washer and dryer available for your use in the afternoon after the motel has done their laudry in it. The front desk person is even kind enough to let you know when it available and when your load is done. She was such a sweetheart I saw her washing and drying two young gentleman's clothing because they were napping. Too cute!

Our first evening of 7 our air conditioning went out and they brought us a fan. The unit was fixed the very next day and worked great for the remainder of our stay. There was no housekeeping during our stay but if we needed something they took care of it immediatly. The front desk closes at 9pm so get what you need before then.

If you are looking for upscale, modern amentities, to be catered to hand and foot..this is not your place. For a family or a couple looking to relax on the beach and won't be spending much time in your room...consider the Molloy.

A fresh coat of paint, a pressure washer for the outside areas would really help out here. For the phenominal rate we got, the location and friendliness....the Molloy can not be beat (except maybe by the Suncoast...but they were full).

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank chelb33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

WOW! This place is great old florida charm, watch sunsets right from the pool! Very relaxing and in the middle of all the places to go and see. This is a must stay vacation spot ,remember shuffle board well they have a new one and what fun in the sun.
and it was so nice to meet the other guest that have been coming back for generations.
The Molloy is the place to stay

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CRAZYPIRATE77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Love it, great famiy fun! Perfect for young children. Very accomodating. The owners are always willing to help with anything and always got everything we asked for.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 08beachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We had an efficiency room. The motel is a bit dated but it was clean overall and well equipped. Manager was quite helpful. The price was reasonableThe location along the beach was great for watching sunsets. . The motel was only half booked so there were no issues with noise.
Although no negative comments, there are a number of more modern motels and hotels along Gulf Blvd to choose from.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hausl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.8 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
533 reviews
0.9 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#22 of 48 in Treasure Island
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island Inn
Island Inn
#33 of 48 in Treasure Island
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Blue Waters Treasure Island
Blue Waters Treasure Island
#15 of 48 in Treasure Island
36 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
iBeach Resort
iBeach Resort
#32 of 48 in Treasure Island
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Molloy Gulf Front Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Molloy Gulf Front Motel and Cottages

Address: 10164 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Price Range: £66 - £833 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Molloy Gulf Front Motel and Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Molloy is the perfect Florida experience. This family-owned and operated resort is located directly on the Gulf of Mexico in beautiful Treasure Island, and offers hospitality seldom found anymore. We know how expensive vacationing with a family is so we don't charge any resort or extra guest fees. In addition, our suites come with a full kitchen so you can prepare your own meals if you choose. Sunrise-sunset, you'll enjoy them both at the Molloy. The Molloy features a sparkling heated pool in the center courtyard, where the shade trees beckon just beyond in the white sand. Grab a towel and stroll down to the shore, you'll never want to leave. The atmosphere at the Molloy is very comfortable and family oriented. Once guests find this treasure on the beach, they come back year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Molloy Gulf Front Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Molloy Gulf Front Motel And Cottages Hotel Treasure Island
The Molloy Gulf Front Motel And Cottages Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing