We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything You Need”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bilmar Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Lewes, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Everything You Need”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Just returned from a week long stay at the Bilmar. We were 10 women on a yearly reunion. Our friend who lives in St. Pete made our reservations. We reserved one suite and 4 rooms. The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. The hotel has a great beach bar and restaurant offering snacks and meals and tasty drinks. There is also a great full service restaurant (Sloppy Joes) there too. Right on the beach with 2 pools as well. just across the street are shops and convenience store. No need to go anywhere. The employees were all very friendly and helpful.
Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the beach. Higher floors are quieter as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    650
    183
    54
    44
See reviews for
802
778
77
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (782)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I was very pleased with the Bilmar Beach Resort--the room, location, and customer service were great. An easy drive from the airport and easy to get to downtown St Petersburg. We made good use of our kitchenette especially since the Publix is literally a 3 minute walk down the road. The room layout worked well, the bed was comfortable, and the balcony though small was appreciated. The choice of two pools was nice and we went to the restaurants a couple of times because they were so convenient.

The relatively new boardwalk was a nice way to get fresh air and exercise when we didn't want to walk on sand or the weather wasn't so great.

I would definitely consider a return visit.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room but had no issues with sound unlike another reviewer since we were on 2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed for just one night at the Bilmar. The front desk staff were very friendly. (They even called up to our room to see how everything was.) They gave us a $5.00 voucher to use in one of the restaurants for breakfast. We had a kitchenette room which had everything you would need to cook if you were staying longer. The room was pretty clean (except for gunk on the kitchen walls). I didn't like that the air conditioner was very loud.

Our room was on the third floor facing the pool. It was raining so no one was in the pool and just a few people in the hot tub. On a sunny evening I think we would have heard a lot of noise since we could hear the hot tub people with our door shut. They left at a reasonable hour so it wasn't really a problem.

Once you park, you really wouldn't need to drive anywhere. There are two restaurants on site. Sloppy Joe's has excellent food. There is a Walgreen's across the street and a Publix within walking distance. It is a short walk to the beach. There are beach chairs and a volleyball court.

Room Tip: A room facing the water would be idea. Rooms facing the pool might be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank csb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, PA
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I've stayed here many times before with my sister and this time my husband and I stayed here. I just love this hotel. The people that run the hotel are terrific and the location can't be beat. Once we got there we never drove. It just wasn't necessary, everything you need is right there. The room was big, it was in the Shell building on the second floor. Everything was clean and the view was the best, sunsets right in front of you if you have gulf front. The only improvement I would suggest would be to recover the chairs, they were stained from people sitting on them when they were wet and looked kind of gross. We had a full kitchen and plenty of room to spread out. The bathroom was small and clean. I like it when rooms have a patio door with a screen and this had one. The king bed was comfortable. The only other issue was that this room was right above the bar and wasn't really explained to us. They were full so we went with it and didn't ask for a room change. The first night we were there happened to be Dixieland night at the bar and it wasn't necessary for us to go down there because it was really loud in our room. It was over by quarter of ten so it wasn't unbearable. Next time I will be a little more careful with room selection. I always enjoy this hotel and will be back.

Room Tip: It's a big complex so choose wisely. The room above the bar isn't for everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amsirius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luray, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

my sister and I stayed at bilmar for 2 nights, but were very disappointed in our time there . there was advertised 2 heated pools, but only one was heated and that one away from the hot tub. the hot tub did not seem very clean especially at evenings and did not smell very good either. there needs to be some system to put lots of chorine in it throughout the day and not just in the mornings! also the hot tub jets were not spraying outward like they should and were spraying upward instead. the staff was very nice and helpful, especially miss eddie and Michael. those 2 were very kind and caring. the room heater was not heating the room very well and the room was cold! there was a very cold front at the time of our visit. other things were out of order too! the maintenance man was very nice and helpful and fixed the missing screen in my room. he was excellent! it may be good for the hotel to check things to make sure they are in working order, especially the pools and hot tubs and that they have plenty of chlorine in them throughout the day and not just in mornings. I would rather spend money on a new swimsuits than spend money on a doctor bill! don t know if we will return to this hotel.

Room Tip: 1rst floor rooms have good access to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MALCOLMSMOMLuray_va_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBBR, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Repeat Guest,

Thank you for returning to the Bilmar Beach Resort and for your sharing your observations. Your generous compliments for Ms. Eddie (2013 Employee of theYear) and Michael (newly promoted to Guest Services Manager) as well as the housekeeping and Maintenance team have been shared with them and their peers. I sincerely apologize for the lack of heat in one of our two swimming pools and the chill in your guest room. We did have a breakdown on the boiler that services the north pool and due to the cold front that affected our area it lost its heat more quickly than expected. This has been repaired and I am happy to report that both pools are at a comfortable 83 degrees. Despite heavy usage of the hot tub during the cold front our records from both morning and evening chemical readings indicate the water was properly treated. I will ensure we are better monitoring the area during time of heavy usage to improve the experience for all of our guests. I also apologize that the heating unit in your room did not sufficiently work during the cold days of your recent visit. It appears to be in working order but I have had it checked again to be sure. Based on your previous visits to the Bilmar I hope you know these issues are not the standards we strive to maintain. I assure you that your comments will be used to illustrate the need for constant attention to detail and we will continue to address the needs and exceed the expectations of our guests. I welcome the opportunity to have you return in the future and give us a chance to regain your confidence. Sincerely, Clyde Smith – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at the Bilmar in July of last year. Absolutely loved it. We keep Treasure Island on our weather favorites and visit it that way every day. The staff was great, the rooms were clean, and the availability to the beach was everything you could wish for. We rarely went out front, where the rest of the world was....It was the most relaxing and memorable vacation that we have ever taken. From the balcony we watched the 4th of July fireworks, every morning people walking, some with dogs, some without, others jogging on the paved walk way . We watched the staff clean and straighten the area every morning. Michael, Larry and Shawna never failed to have smiles on their faces, and were ever so helpful with anything that we asked for. TOTALLY AMAZING!
I left electronics out on the counter, we never once felt like we needed to hide our belongings.
There is a Publix super market a block away, so if eating out all the time is not your thing, groceries are definitely within walking distance.
We can't wait to return, it has simply become a place that we love to brag about.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NAT100194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBBR, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your “Amazing” experience with other travelers. While I certainly take great pride in the Bilmar Team and our wonderful Island community it is very welcoming to know how much you appreciated your time on Treasure Island. We all look forward to your return. Sincerely, Clyde Smith – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foley, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week it was the best vacation we ever had .sloppy joes was great would go back for sure. Walgreen's is right across the street there a public's store close by . the sand sculptures are spectacular very cool place

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.8 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,767 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Treasure Island
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
0.5 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#21 of 48 in Treasure Island
474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilmar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilmar Beach Resort

Property: Bilmar Beach Resort
Address: 10650 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bilmar Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bilmar Beach Resort offers a traditional Florida beach get away with an aray of modern amenities. We have a central location on Treasure Island and are close to all the Tampa Bay area attractions. With over 15 million in recent upgrades including our signature restaurant Sloppy Joe's on the Beach we provide the service you desire with the relaxed atmoshpere you deserve. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bilmar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilmar Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Bilmar Beach Treasure Island
Bilmar Hotel
Bilmar Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing