We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean, excellent value for the $$”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bilmar Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location, clean, excellent value for the $$”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Great value for the money !

Location is very nice - beach boardwalk is a nice walk that many people take advantage of. We had a Gulf Studio on the 4th floor - nice view and all we needed for two.
Plenty of restaurants close by with early bird specials and live entertainment - no cover charge for entertainment that we experienced.
Bilmar is very clean, (constantly cleaning), staff are friendly& helpful.
Publix grocery store is a block away - very good deli, we bought the crispy chicken for lunch twice & brought back to our room - under $4 & very tasty (ok sodium content might be a bit high, but really good ! ). Bought a beach chair at Publix for $9.99 - way cheaper than renting.

Walgreens across the road, ABC Liquors within easy walking distance. Wine or beer were good value at Walgreens and Publix, ABC has more selection - depends what you are looking for.

We thought we would rent a car while there - never happened - too easy / well set up for walking.
Walked to St. John's Pass and back one day - we are middle 50's, easy walk for us.

Note : Even if you are not staying at the Bilmar & you are on Treasure Island - be sure to check out the Sunshine Coast Dixieland Jazz Band that plays at the Bilmar in Bazzies Beach Resort Bar every Wednesday starting at 6:30 pm - not to be missed - amazing !!
People come from all around, the band has been playing at the Bilmar since 1967.

Acid Test:
Would we go back to the Bilmar?
If we got the same deal with WestJet vacations - Absolutely !
Two thumbs up.

Room Tip: Depends on what you want. If you want to do cooking to save $$, get a room with kitchen facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DF58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,186
    646
    182
    54
    42
See reviews for
792
775
77
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (776)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Bellmore, New York
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed for one night while traveling for business. Unfortunately due to my timing, I got in too late to enjoy the amenities offered by the Bilmar. The room was small but clean and the bed surprisingly comfortable. The bathroom was tiny but clean, and cleanliness takes priority for me. Staff was very friendly and helpful. While on-site parking is limited, they have a secondary lot across the street with a pedestrian controlled crosswalk. The only negative is that the elevator near my room was broken when i was checking out (the door stopped closing half way and i had to force it open to get out) and i had to carry my large suitcase down three flights of stairs. The ice machine was also tricky to find.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbergma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBBR, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear JBergma,

Thank you for choosing the Bilmar Beach Resort for your recent business trip to Tampa Bay. I hope your next visit will allow you the time to enjoy our restaurants, pools and amazing beach in addition to the many other benefits of staying on Treasure Island. Thank you for your generous compliments regarding the cleanliness of your accommodation. We take great pride in our cleaning team and our observation will be shared with them. The room you stayed in during this visit sounds like one of our poolside bedrooms which we only offer on short term bookings and marketed as “run of the house” with the description it is a smaller room. It is actually part of a 3 room combination but we sell it by itself for individuals looking for a great value at the beach without the amenities and square footage found in our other 158 Studios, Efficiencies and Suites. I apologize for the elevator not working properly on your day of departure. We just had major upgrades done on this and after reporting the malfunction you described the proper adjustments were made and we have no other issues with it. I welcome you to contact me the next time business or leisure brings you to the area and will gladly ensure you get a spacious accommodation that is more indicative of our standard accommodations. Best regards, Clyde Smith – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We decided to stay at the BilMar because of the cheaper price than we have paid at our usual place, but we now know why. We got there around 11am and we knew that check-in was 4pm but was told if we could get you in sooner we will. So we went to eat and rented a cabana and played on the beach. Our rooms were not done till almost 4, which I don't understand cause they said we do check-outs first and coming from a hotel background I understand that, but we had 4 rooms and not 1 done? One wasn't done till 4:30 which now I still don't understand cause our room everyday wasn't done at 4 unless we asked them to come do it now, so Im not sure what rooms they were cleaning. Our room 320 smelled musty like a rug that was wet at one time. But hotel was full so no place to move, even Febreez couldn't get the smell out. Sheets were clean which is very important of course. We had a fridge, stovetop. microwave and coffee maker, they do supply dishes, pots and pans, utensils, and a few amenities like salt, pepper, coffee, tea, creamer.which was nice. Overall the room was decent except for smell. The restaurant and bar was nice, food was good, but dishes were often dirty, food on dishes, lipstick on cups. The servers were great and very friendly. The pools (2) were very nice, clean and heated. They have a roof top play/sitting area that was fun, which has a ping pong table and corn hole and seating areas. We used it often.You can't beat the location which makes it desirable, you can walk to shopping and dining and pharmacy and not far from a Publix grocery store. We stayed 6 nights and there was 11 of us, children included and they enjoyed it. I would like this place more if they would clean it up a bit, and the front desk for the most part was helpful but a few wouldn't even look you in the face as they kept repeating the check in time. Not good customer interaction, never a Im sorry but its not ready let me find out why. We won't be going back there, unless they clean it up, so a $4000+ lesson

Room Tip: Try for a higher floor as you can hear the chairs moving on floor upstairs, not to mention children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jm195753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBBR, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear JM,

I thank you and your family for staying at the Bilmar Beach Resort during your recent visit to Tampa Bay. Your satisfaction with the amenities, majority of the staff and location is great to hear but I am sincerely embarrassed over the few issues you encountered that detracted from your overall enjoyment of the resort. We should have done a better job in expediting your early arrival and at least gotten one room ready sooner so your group would have a room to gather while we prepared the other rooms. We try very hard to accommodate early arrivals and certainly should do so with a smile and our best effort! Please accept my apologies for the odor in your guest room and the fact we did not have an alternative. Our inspection process should have identified that before you went to the room and had it addressed. We are also making immediate inspection changes for restaurants to avoid a repeat of what you encountered.

The Team at the Bilmar strives to exceed our guest’s expectations and we will convey your experience with the appropriate departments to better achieve that goal. I welcome you to contact me directly to assist with future plans and I am confident we can deliver 100% if you would allow us the chance. Sincerely, Clyde Smith – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We got a great flight and hotel deal on Expedia. We never stayed at the Bilmar before so we weren't sure what to expect. Given, we decided to pay a little extra to get a room facing the ocean with a cooking stove, fridge, and microwave. It was well worth it. The room we got on the 1st floor (facing the pool) was clean and the large flat screen tv was nice. Upon check-in, we were given a $5 coupon to go enjoy a drink at Bazzies (hotel bar), that was nice for sunset viewing. Free parking, free in-room WIFI, and no resort fees which is a great deal. Lots of food options nearby. Sloppy Joe is on site with Ricky T's Bar and Grill located directly across the street, McDonald's is a short walking distance with Publix supermarket and Walgreen accessible by walking. All the staff I encountered at the Bilmar were friendly and professional. Housekeeping did a great job in our 5 nights stay there. We didn't use the hot tub but the heated pools were refreshing. Overall, Bilmar is a comfortable, safe, clean option when visiting the Treasure Island area for couples or families.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dcnetworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The beach is beautiful here - large and clean. The view is great. Room was clean and comfortable. We had some good times at Sloppy Joe's - they had great food and drinks. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TKNichols60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My husband and I have enjoyed the Bilmar Beach Resort many times and this was our favorite. We've been with family and grandchildren and always found plenty to do with the pools, ocean,restaurants,etc. This time we enjoyed ourselves and had a wonderful time enhanced by the accommodating staff. It really could be an all inclusive resort.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms with ocean view are our preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

A nice hotel in a perfect location. Beautiful sunset views! The staff was very friendly and helpful, even with making last minute changes to our plans/reservsations. Be sure to eat at Sloppy Joe's downstairs!

Room Tip: Great views from the Palms tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.8 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,757 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#20 of 48 in Treasure Island
524 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Treasure Island
197 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#22 of 48 in Treasure Island
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilmar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilmar Beach Resort

Property: Bilmar Beach Resort
Address: 10650 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bilmar Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bilmar Beach Resort offers a traditional Florida beach get away with an aray of modern amenities. We have a central location on Treasure Island and are close to all the Tampa Bay area attractions. With over 15 million in recent upgrades including our signature restaurant Sloppy Joe's on the Beach we provide the service you desire with the relaxed atmoshpere you deserve. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bilmar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilmar Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Bilmar Beach Treasure Island
Bilmar Hotel
Bilmar Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing