We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oceanfront and Awesome!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bilmar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bilmar Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Oceanfront and Awesome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Good: Oceanfront, clean and amazing! We literally walked out our back slider and on to the beach. Staff cares for this place like it's their own home. From the maintenance crew to the front desk attendants, every interaction was pleasant. The included kayak rental was awesome! We upgraded to the 2-person and it was so much fun! We forgot about the $5 credit at the restaurant, but it was a great perk, if you use it. I loved the beach chairs right outside of our room. Overall, it was an absolute joy to stay here!

Bad: It's a loud hotel, but it's not the fault of the hotel. It's an open air hotel and I think people forgot that people are sleeping in the rooms right next to them. I wish that the beach cabanas were included! It's a non-smoking hotel, but there are ashtrays by the pool. It didn't directly affect me, but I wonder if the smoke reaches the rooms?

Ugly: Not a thing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vagabond_Yogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,112
    616
    170
    51
    42
See reviews for
730
736
72
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is the second year staying. Each year we stay on the fourth floor in a Gulf Front Shell. Both times it was an enjoyable stay. Everything you need is available to you. The air conditioner was very loud this time and the room smelled like smoke when we arrived( rm 433 june '14). Everyone is and was very friendly and helpful. Parking is difficult during the weekend but not so bad during week days. It is very nice to NOT be charged to park...Great pro! I guess I needed to do a better job of asking about beach chairs and umbrellas. I didn't realize you could take some down to the beach. A suggestion would to have more chairs available and remind guests of that. The bathrooms are a tight squeeze..but who goes to the beach to hang out in the bathroom. Overall it exceeded my expectations. I will be returning again next year. Hopefully my husband will have us stay even longer than 5 days:)

Room Tip: 4th floor Gulf Shell Efficiencies are great:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mimisue31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokomo, Indiana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Bilmar Beach Resort is in the middle of the Florida West coast stretch between Clearwater beach and St. Pete Beach. The are excellent food and shopping within 10 minutes. The Hotel is very clean, the people were friendly and the fantastic white sand beach is out your door. They have recently added a resort fee. The value will depend on your objectives. I will stay at the Bilmar in the future. There are two restaurants on the property are nice. We prefer Brazzie's as we are "morning" people. House keepers were very friendly and did a great job. Check-in and out was a breeze. They have two pools. Both are very nice. They ar eat each end of the property so you can have sun or shade and enjoy at pools at the same time. Local flavor and fast food is available within two blocks. We visited the Bilmar two years ago. The parking has improved. That was our only issues last time we stayed.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a complete Kitchen others have fridge and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob4Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were exploring beaches around St. Petersburg and decided to go to Treasure Island. The Bilmar looked good on paper and we were not disappointed when we got there. We arrived there 2 hours before check-in time but were given the parking permit so we could go and relax at the beach or pool, we chose to go to the beach. After one hour we were called to be notified of our room being available. We got a nice room on the 5th floor of the Palm building facing the beautiful beach we got one studio with a balcony and 2 queen beds. It comes with a small kitchenette were we prepared a late pasta dinner and breakfast, there is a Publix nearby thank goodness. One of the pools was below our balcony but it wasn't noisy at all. At the beach, we paid $30 for 2 loungers and an umbrella and it was totally worth it, the walk from the hotel to the beach could be long if you are carrying this (I don't think this service belongs to the hotel, probably not since we were not told so). After just one night (we were actually staying in Siesta Key), we left but will probably be coming back for longer stay next time.
I also left something behind but they just called to let me know they will be sending it back! Thanks to Housekeeping and all the staff at the Bilmar for a fantastic customer service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petisita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Bilmar Beach Resort offers a GORGEOUS location with fantastic amenities in Treasure Island, Florida on the beautiful Gulf Coast that is great for families, couples, and groups of friends.

We were met with phenomenal hospitality and felt very well taken care of during our entire weekend. As hospitality professionals who travel over from Orlando, this was HUGE for us. When you KNOW the art of hospitality, and see it not only done well but also done in a truly genuine fashion - that's to be commended! The Bilmar really goes above & beyond in making you feel welcome and special. All the employees we encountered were warm, friendly, and immediately familiar. My guess is that the Bilmar has many return guests who look forward to "coming home" because of these characteristics.

We appreciated receiving an area/property itinerary at Check-In that was complete with activities that were going on throughout the weekend. We also loved that there were two pools, and a hot tub! Bilmar's has a great vibe, lots of energy, but was also quiet and relaxing during our stay. There is a resort fee of $15 - but this is LOADED with great additional amenities, which I found to be worth the fee. Some of these perks include a one hour kayak rental, chairs on the beach for Bilmar guests to use, and a $5 gift certificate to use at Bazzie's Beach bar - one of their two onsite restaurant/bar options (the other is Sloppy Joe's).

We are looking forward to returning to the Bilmar Beach Resort as soon as we possibly can as this easily ranks as our favorite Gulf Coast resort on the beach! Thank you, Bilmar Staff for such a fantastic & memorable stay!

Room Tip: We felt extremely lucky to be on the first floor (normally we hate this level due to security &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheNameIsCasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel was great, we were upgraded to a suite overlooking the pool. The beach access is right out back of the hotel and there is a nice walkway along hotel row. Plenty of restaurants nearby. The hotel also has two pools and two restaurants. We ate at sloppy joes and the grouper sandwiches were brilliantly prepared. Service at sloppy joes was good, but not excellent. The other restaurant/bar is called Bazzies. We went there because they give you a 5 dollar comp ticket at checkin. We ordered breakfast and waited 30 minutes to receive the wrong order. No apologies, just the waiter and waitress blaming each other for the mistake. 20 minutes later, one of the two orders came to us correctly, the other still wrong. We ended up eating one breakfast and got a free OJ. No apology. We decided that anyone could have a bad day so went back the next night for drinks and snacks. Service was equally bad. It took 35 minutes to get our drinks and some chicken wings. On the menu it says they are served with celery. Waitress argues with us and the finally brings celery. We would stay here again, but Bazzies should be called Badzies.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank joebo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Mary, FL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hotel is older, but is well kept and clean. The room we stayed in had two beds but was pretty small. The parking lot is absolutely ridiculous. You will more than likely need to park in their lot across the street.

The beds were comfortable, but it was really noisy. There is an outdoor bar straight across the street from the room in which we stayed. On our last night there, the crowd at the bar kept us awake until after 1:00 am and then the wheels on the housekeeping carts and other guests luggage woke us up around 8:00 am. If you're not looking for a lot of rest, this might not be a problem. However, between the air conditioner and other noises, I just had a really hard time sleeping. We stayed in the Shell building. I have read really good reviews about the Palms building. If I were to ever stay at the Bilmar again (which I doubt) I would stay in the Palms.

The hotel is ocean front and Treasure Island is very pretty, but the beach at this particular spot is probably the widest in the area. It's quite a hike to carry your chairs, coolers, etc. from the hotel to the ocean. We prefer the convenience of short walks from hotel to the ocean. If you don't mind the walk, it shouldn't be a problem.

The location is convenient to John's Pass, Pass-A-Grill, shopping, dining and about whatever you're looking for.

The Sloppy Joe's at this location is really good. Friendly staff and good service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.8 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#11 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
#13 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
#8 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilmar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilmar Beach Resort

Property: Bilmar Beach Resort
Address: 10650 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bilmar Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bilmar Beach Resort offers a traditional Florida beach get away with an aray of modern amenities. We have a central location on Treasure Island and are close to all the Tampa Bay area attractions. With over 15 million in recent upgrades including our signature restaurant Sloppy Joe's on the Beach we provide the service you desire with the relaxed atmoshpere you deserve. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Bilmar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilmar Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Bilmar Beach Treasure Island
Bilmar Hotel
Bilmar Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing