We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bilmar Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The area in my opinion is very congested. Although there were a couple restaurants that were average GiGis and Middle Grounds Grill were way overpriced for what you got. Publix the closest supermarket was an inconvenience. You parked in a parking garage and then walked up several steps to do your shopping. The hotel was well taken care of and very clean. Bazzies and Sloppy Joes food was average. The main complaint which we should of looked into better is that the walk across the beach to the water is approximately 1/4 mile. We personally prefer hear the ocean from the balcony if that is the same for you I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rayna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBBR, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Rayna C,

Thank you for staying with us at the Bilmar Beach Resort during your recent Tampa Bay vacation. Our entire team also appreciates you recognizing our commitment to quality and cleanliness. It is unfortunate you did not enjoy the local restaurants and grocery options within walking distance. The Publix a block away does have elevators available to avoid the steps. Treasure Island does have a very deep beach caused by a 1980’s beach nourishment and subsequent sand build up when the passes north and south of the central beach have washouts during storms. A wonderful advantage of the large beach is the peace and tranquilly you enjoy at water’s edge without the sounds of restaurants, pool activities and hotel traffic. Few locations in Florida have this opportunity to enjoy such a secluded water front experience. I hope you will return on your next visit to the area.
Sincerely, Clyde Smith – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,197 - 1,203 of 2,209 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

2nd time staying here. Great location for me while I'm visiting my family. Everything I need within walking distance. Staff friendly and the rooms are clean and fresh smelling. Older hotel, but shows pride in ownership. Only negative 2 pools, but both are smaller compared to some places I have stayed. Rooms have great gulf views though.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SUSAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I have stayed here on numerous occasions and always have had beautiful, roomy acomodations
and Excellent Views. Staff is wonderful, helpful, professional and personable. Restaurants on site are tasty and good values. They offer many specials throughout the year that are fabulous - great savings.

Room Tip: Higher floors with balconies are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank doreenc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Spacious room and a kitchenette made the stay comfortable. The staff is very friendly and responds immediately to any problem you encounter. We came there to celebrate my daughter's birthday. She also took her friend with her. We needed an extra bed and it was brought immediately. At the reception desk when they found out that we came to celebrate the birthday we were given vouchers to the bar on the house. The hotel takes 15 dollars a day a resort fee but though it does not provide umbrellas and chairs it provides kayaks for free. Overall we enjoyed our stay. We went to S Dali museum and some other attractions and one day we spent in Sarasota which is not far.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank VeraOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The Bilmar Hotel is a great location with great staff. The hotel is conveniently located on the sandy beach of Treasure Island with easy access to the beach, a tikki bar (next door at the Thunderbird), and beach events (depending on the time of year that you visit).

The room itself is functional - decor and furniture is dated but for as much time as you spend in the room - is not an issue. Rooms have a fridge, coffee maker, and microwave and some units have a more functional kitchen.

Across the street is a Walgreens with attached liquor store, and there is plenty of souvenior shops and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SgtHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

My wife and I were married at the Bilmar several years ago so it will always hold a special place for us. This time we returned with our toddler and it was still fantastic. The staff is very accommodating and extremely friendly. The rooms are clean and even though the hotel is 40 years old the staff does a great job keeping it up. The location is amazing with lots of beach to play on. I would highly recommend the Bilmar to anyone coming to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We have stayed a few times. This was like the others excellent. Rooms very clean and you now get value for the resort fee charged. Only fault is very small bathroom - you have to close/open door to get round toilet into shower. Still worth the visit.

Room Tip: Check not next to ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fatpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
241 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#7 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,849 reviews
0.7 mi away
Island Inn
Island Inn
#30 of 48 in Treasure Island
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#23 of 48 in Treasure Island
513 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#2 of 48 in Treasure Island
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tahitian Beach Motel
Tahitian Beach Motel
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilmar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilmar Beach Resort

Address: 10650 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range: £139 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bilmar Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bilmar Beach Resort offers a traditional Florida beach get away with an aray of modern amenities. We have a central location on Treasure Island and are close to all the Tampa Bay area attractions. With over 15 million in recent upgrades including our signature restaurant Sloppy Joe's on the Beach we provide the service you desire with the relaxed atmoshpere you deserve. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, bedfinder AG, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bilmar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilmar Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Bilmar Beach Treasure Island
Bilmar Hotel
Bilmar Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing