We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bilmar Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Treasure Island Ocean Club(Treasure Island)
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thunderbird Beach Resort(Treasure Island)
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Beach Resort(Treasure Island)
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$281
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bayside Inn & Marina(Treasure Island)(Great Value!)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House Hotel(Treasure Island)(Great Value!)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites(Treasure Island)
US$372
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,269)
Filter reviews
2,269 results
Traveller rating
1,277
684
197
59
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,277
684
197
59
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssloppy joespalms buildingacross the streetresort feepaddle boardswithin walking distancelive musicstove tophot tubdrug storewatch the sunsetflat screen tvlong walkthird floorgulf of mexicospring breakjohn's pass
Filter
Updating list...
2,153 - 2,158 of 2,269 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2007

We travel to this area of Florida every winter, and each time have always wondered what it would be like to stay at the Bilmar.

I have to say we enjoyed every minute and the staff and amenities were outstanding. Housekeeping took very good care of us and the lobby hosts were most helpful. Even though we arrived one day early we were able to stay in a very nice room until our efficiency was ready for us the next day.

The area is in the center of a lot of entertainment, good food, and of course you are treated to a wonderful sunset every evening.

I would recommend this spot to young families as well as seniors.

Stayed: January 2007
3  Thank janet509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2007

Stayed at the Bilmar from 19th - 26th Jan 2007 and we will be returning. The room was fabulous, with dvd player, plasma tv, multi function microwave, coffee maker, air-con and a stunning beach/ocean view.
The staff were brilliant, and it has both a beach bar, as well as the seperate Sloppy Joes restaurant.
Across the road is Rickys Bar which had live music most nights and a good atmosphere.
Free car parking in the large hotel car park, plus free internet access in the foyer. We're from England, and found the Bilmar to be a stunning hotel which deserves its' plaudits.

Stayed: January 2007
6  Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2007

I hesitated to write a review in case the word got out and the rates went up. However, the staff and hotel were so incredible that I needed to share! I'm actually amazed at some of the other reviews about this hotel.

Our family of three went over for a long weekend in November and we are counting the days until we can return again. We had booked a penthouse suite on the top floor and the suite was just gorgeous. We are used to staying in four and five star properties so we were skeptical about going here. Boy, were we surprised. In fact, our suite had not even been renovated as the other suites have, and it was still great. Extremely spacious with an amazing view of the Gulf. There was a beach wedding shortly after we arrived and we had a great time watching it from our room! Although there was noise from the reception, it was quiet after about 9:30. Also, we always plan for noise and bring a white noise machine with us for our daughter...a little planning can make your trip so much nicer. We had a great dinner at Sloppy Joes and retired early.
The next day we went out to the beach. You walk directly onto the sand from the hotel which is great! Someone mentioned that the beach is a long way from the hotel but that's not accurate. The beach is right there but it's a very deep beach so you have to walk down to the water. This is an added bonus as there is so much room on the sand, you feel like you have the beach to yourself. We rented a cabana down on the beach for a very modest fee and this was perfect for keeping us sheltered. The cabana had two lounge chairs which we moved out so our daughter could play undercover. We went to Bazzie's beach bar at the hotel for lunch and dined under the palm trees while we watched the ocean. Perfection. After lunch, we went to find the sales staff for the hotel. The hotel is actually a condo-hotel, meaning you can purchase a suite and use it yourself. We had a great tour of the hotel and were able to see other rooms. Since we were not in a renovated room, we wanted to see some other rooms. Most of the rooms have been renovated and they are wonderful. We are still considering the purchase because the prices are amazing when you consider you will own a beachfront property. We will probably go back again soon to try to decide. The rest of the weekend, we just relaxed and enjoyed ourselves. The hotel was clean and the staff amazing!

Again, I was nervous about writing a review because the rates of the hotel could go up and I would like to purchase a suite before others find out about it. We have been looking to purchase a place at the beach for a long time and this gives up everything we were looking for.

Lastly, if you are a family looking for a nice vacation, this is the perfect place. If your child is a light sleeper, we can tell you that the noise dies down very early but you can alleviate it altogether by bringing a small white noise machine.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank OrlandoFamilyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2007

After reading some of the reviews on here, my boyfriend and I were a little leery to stay. However, the great price persuaded us to give it a shot, figuring we could find someplace better.

We LOVED this place. The room was just beautiful and really gave the place a homey, yet exotic feel. Our balcony gave us a spectacular view and we spent a lot of time up there. Bazzie's was a great place to get a drink and take a walk. The beach was beautiful. The front desk was very helpful and even arranged to have a bouquet sent up that my boyfriend got me for my birthday. The room was so nice that it took me a moment to even notice my beautiful bouquet of lillies. We will definitely stay here again, and are planning on it when we come down again this summer.
Oh, and for some interesting local food, try Ricky T's across the street. The live music was a treat and so were the fried pickles --really, try them!

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank manderbakah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2007

Our football team, the Tennessee Volunteers were invited to the Outback Bowl on Jan. 1st in Tampa Bay. This was the onus for us to book a short vacation and catch some rays before we had to return to work on Jan. 2nd. We went to the Southwest Airlines website and were able to book a 4 day jaunt to Florida with our accomodations being The Bilmar Beach Hotel on Treasure Island.
We read ALL the reviews posted on this site about the Bilmar and frankly, proceeded with trepedation because we had found that for the most part, traveler warnings about accomodations are usually right on the mark. We decided early on that if the horror stories we read on this site were true, we'd high tail it quickly and find a better place to stay. However, we can honestly say that the negativitiy about this hotel is unwarranted. We read about the loud parties and music, but were there over the New Year's weekend and were pleased with the peaceful atmosphere. Bazzie's beach bar is a quaint little bar with live music that we found both relaxing and unpretentious. Celebrating the setting sun each afternoon was a favorite of ours.
We requested a room as far away from the bar as possible and were given a studio room in the Shells building with a wonderful ocean view but no balcony. (middle most part of the complex). The room was clean and colorful, the bathroom was small but efficient. There was a coffee pot/coffee in the room, a small refrigerator, a safe and a nice flat screen tv for our bowl viewing pleasure.
The staff were both helpful and courteous and when asked to provide info, restaurant reservations, or fresh towels, were always prompt and smiling.
The pool areas were clean and nicely appointed with comfortable lounge chairs and umbrellas. However, we found the hot tub extremely HOT and unusable. The elevators are small, but we opted for the stairs in most cases since we were on the 2nd floor. Parking can be a pain but we were able to find parking at the hotel each night after dinner without having to park across the street. Walgreen's (across the street) has evey incidental one might need, from rain ponchos to cracker jacks.
We ate at the Salt Rock Cafe the first night per recommendations from the front desk staff. The raw bar is great and we enjoyed the fresh oysters as our appetizer. However, the restaurant was out of Amberjack (the waiter negleted to tell us until after we had made our choices) and the Snapper was not a good substitute. We found the bulk of our meal not much better than Red Lobster.
The second night we went to Snappers for dinner per Bazzie's bartender recommendation. The front desk made reservations for us but were not told that because it was New Year's Eve, the restaurant had a set menu. The restaurant was small but festive, especially on New Year's Eve. The waiter tried to make our experience memorable but even though I enjoyed my dinner, my companion was quite upset that he couldn't order from the menu.
After the game on New Year's Day we retreated to Sloppy Joe's, which is located in the Bilmar complex. After chips and salsa, we ordered fish tacos and salad/soup. The fish tacos were horrible, the fish was neither fresh nor tasty. But the waiter was very courteous and did not charge us for the mostly uneaten portions of our dinner.
So, our recommendation to you is to try the Bilmar. We were pleasantly surprised and would return if the opportunity arises.
If you want a fine dining experience, do your homework and don't rely on bartenders or staff. Their tastes may not match yours.
Happy Vacationing!
K and R
Franklin, Tennessee

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank kimmiegoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews