We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“march visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bilmar Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“march visit”
Reviewed 1 April 2007

the hotel is 500 ft. to water. cabanas are available for rent. The pools are heated.The chairs that are available pool side are taken before 8 am by pool "hogs" who leave hotel towels on chaises,but seldom use the chairs. The hotel can and needs to do something about that. My 7 day visit, the sheets were never changed. and the room did have small ants. by the end of our stay the bed also had the bugs. Two positives, the view and sloppy joes, neither have anything to do with the bilmar.Wait at sloppy joes was 45 min. to an hr. Across the street was Walgreens and Mcdonalds. Entertainment at both restaurants on site were adequate. Would I go back, no. But the staff was pleasant and my stay was relaxing.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank gunar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,163
    635
    181
    53
    42
See reviews for
771
765
75
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2007

Our room was quite spacious and fairly clean upon checkin, however during our stay the maid service was a bit hit and miss. The kitchen was great and had every amenity we needed so we ate breakfast in the room before heading out for the day.

On the last day the pool was closed for maintenance for a few hours which from what we heard was quite a common occurance. It gets really hot around the pool in the afternoon and there is no shade, so it's a good idea to buy an umbrella from one of the shops across the road.

There's not much to do in Treasure Island but we used the hotel as a base and spent a day in Clearwater and another in Tampa. The views can not be beaten though and overall it was worth what we paid!

  • Liked — The beach views
  • Disliked — Not much to do there
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv2TrvlLots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2007

My wife and I are young retirees from the UP of Michigan who have regularly traveled to warm locations during Winter months, including Mexico, Caribbean, Orlando, and California. However, we have heard about the nice, clean, white sandy beaches of the Clearwater, Florida area so we booked our first vacation online in June 2006 for a two week vacation from January 11-25 at the Bilmar Beach Resort. We arrived at Tampa in the later afternoon hours and took the Super Shuttle straight to the Bilmar. Check-in was smooth, fast, and very pleasant experience. Although we had booked a beachfront room, they gave us a beachfront studio efficiency accomodation with balcony on the 7th floor facing the Gulf. The room was clean, beautiful, with new ceramic countertops in bath, kitchen, and tub surround. The unit was furnished with all cooking and eating utinsils and the two beds were comfortable. There was a built-in, new smooth-top electric range, large refrigerator, and microwave. Everything had been recently painted and looked like new together with latest type electronic room safe. Sliding patio doors w/screen led to the balcony with round table and two chairs. The view from the room was ever changing , awesome, breathtaking, and the sunsets were overwhelming. We had 13 continuous sunny days with overcast skies only on the morning of departure. Daily room service was efficient and thorough. The two pools are heated as is the wonderful whirlpool and maintenance was daily and systematic. We heard no sounds from surrounding rooms. Across the street and within a 800 feet are numerous, inexpensive, and excellent places to enjoy your favorite foods. In front of the hotel are bus stops for trolleys and bus service that connects rapidly and cheaply to all parts of the Tampa/Clearwater/St.Petersburg area. There is absolutely no need to rent an automobile or take a taxi. A 3 minute ride south on the bus will bring you to Sweet Bay Super Food Store with fantastic selection of food at regular, non-tourist prices. The extensive, clean, manicured, white sandy beach in front of the hotel stretches for miles in both directions but is widest in front of the Bilmar. Shelling is a lot of fun and in the evening spontaneous groups form with Caribbean-type music and singing and hundreds of people join-in as participants or observers. The beach area is constantly patrolled by police but was never crowed and was meticulously clean and safe. Our experience staying at the Bilmar was the finest, most enjoyable vacation we have ever had. Check out was less than a minute. We are planning to return to the Bilmar Beach Resort in December 2007, as well as January 2008.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, ocean views, room facilities, quiet, beach+beach+beach
  • Disliked — cannot think of any!
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank Quinnesec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2007

Stayed at the Bilmar M-F 12-16 Feb for business that I had in St Pete and I found it to be a disappointment. First night as I lifted my sheets to get into bed a large bug was waiting for me. No lie. That was just the beginning. The rooms are decent size, have a minfridge, microwave, and coffee maker which are pluses. The bathroom appeared to have been done over with faux marble and such and my room had a 20+ inch LCD tv but wasn't very good because it didn't have a HighDef cable box. Location is right on the beach which is nice but the area itself is nothing special. I mean, if stripmalls and McDonalds are your thing then the location is great. I also had these little tiny ants crawling on the seeled plastic cups in the bathroom so the overall experience was just plain bad. I mean, I never felt comfortable sleeping in the room because of the bug issues. Overall this place is what it is. A motel. Not a hotel. A motel on the beach. The problem is that there isn't anything else on Treasure Island but these motels. It's all the same for miles and miles. Stay someplace like the Don Caesar if you can afford it and leave Treasure Island to someone else.

  • Liked — Its on the beach
  • Disliked — Bugs bugs and more bugs in my room
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank TheBullBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2007

We travel to this area of Florida every winter, and each time have always wondered what it would be like to stay at the Bilmar.

I have to say we enjoyed every minute and the staff and amenities were outstanding. Housekeeping took very good care of us and the lobby hosts were most helpful. Even though we arrived one day early we were able to stay in a very nice room until our efficiency was ready for us the next day.

The area is in the center of a lot of entertainment, good food, and of course you are treated to a wonderful sunset every evening.

I would recommend this spot to young families as well as seniors.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank janet509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, England
Level Contributor
412 reviews
294 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 622 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2007

Stayed at the Bilmar from 19th - 26th Jan 2007 and we will be returning. The room was fabulous, with dvd player, plasma tv, multi function microwave, coffee maker, air-con and a stunning beach/ocean view.
The staff were brilliant, and it has both a beach bar, as well as the seperate Sloppy Joes restaurant.
Across the road is Rickys Bar which had live music most nights and a good atmosphere.
Free car parking in the large hotel car park, plus free internet access in the foyer. We're from England, and found the Bilmar to be a stunning hotel which deserves its' plaudits.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2007

I hesitated to write a review in case the word got out and the rates went up. However, the staff and hotel were so incredible that I needed to share! I'm actually amazed at some of the other reviews about this hotel.

Our family of three went over for a long weekend in November and we are counting the days until we can return again. We had booked a penthouse suite on the top floor and the suite was just gorgeous. We are used to staying in four and five star properties so we were skeptical about going here. Boy, were we surprised. In fact, our suite had not even been renovated as the other suites have, and it was still great. Extremely spacious with an amazing view of the Gulf. There was a beach wedding shortly after we arrived and we had a great time watching it from our room! Although there was noise from the reception, it was quiet after about 9:30. Also, we always plan for noise and bring a white noise machine with us for our daughter...a little planning can make your trip so much nicer. We had a great dinner at Sloppy Joes and retired early.
The next day we went out to the beach. You walk directly onto the sand from the hotel which is great! Someone mentioned that the beach is a long way from the hotel but that's not accurate. The beach is right there but it's a very deep beach so you have to walk down to the water. This is an added bonus as there is so much room on the sand, you feel like you have the beach to yourself. We rented a cabana down on the beach for a very modest fee and this was perfect for keeping us sheltered. The cabana had two lounge chairs which we moved out so our daughter could play undercover. We went to Bazzie's beach bar at the hotel for lunch and dined under the palm trees while we watched the ocean. Perfection. After lunch, we went to find the sales staff for the hotel. The hotel is actually a condo-hotel, meaning you can purchase a suite and use it yourself. We had a great tour of the hotel and were able to see other rooms. Since we were not in a renovated room, we wanted to see some other rooms. Most of the rooms have been renovated and they are wonderful. We are still considering the purchase because the prices are amazing when you consider you will own a beachfront property. We will probably go back again soon to try to decide. The rest of the weekend, we just relaxed and enjoyed ourselves. The hotel was clean and the staff amazing!

Again, I was nervous about writing a review because the rates of the hotel could go up and I would like to purchase a suite before others find out about it. We have been looking to purchase a place at the beach for a long time and this gives up everything we were looking for.

Lastly, if you are a family looking for a nice vacation, this is the perfect place. If your child is a light sleeper, we can tell you that the noise dies down very early but you can alleviate it altogether by bringing a small white noise machine.

  • Liked — The cleanliness, great staff and amazing beach!
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank OrlandoFamilyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.8 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,730 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Treasure Island
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
0.6 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilmar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilmar Beach Resort

Property: Bilmar Beach Resort
Address: 10650 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bilmar Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bilmar Beach Resort offers a traditional Florida beach get away with an aray of modern amenities. We have a central location on Treasure Island and are close to all the Tampa Bay area attractions. With over 15 million in recent upgrades including our signature restaurant Sloppy Joe's on the Beach we provide the service you desire with the relaxed atmoshpere you deserve. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bilmar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilmar Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Bilmar Beach Treasure Island
Bilmar Hotel
Bilmar Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing