We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent visit to the Thunderbird Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thunderbird Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Our family stay at the Thunderbird Resort was amazing. The staff are excellent and anticipate your needs. The hotel is super clean and the grounds are beautiful. The resort is close to shopping and a lot of options in restraunts. We loved the pool and the entertainment on Labor day located next to the Tiki Hut. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

800 - 806 of 1,639 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed here for 2 weeks May-June, 2013 & again for a week in August 2013. This is by far the friendliest place on earth! Not just the guests and locals but the staff was efficient with a smile! I'd like to make special mention of Tiki Hut bartenders: Vlad & Lou, housekeepers: Michelle, Lindell & Veronica, maintenance/landscaping: Bill. Jay & Kelly at the restaurant and Louis, Missy, James and everyone at the front desk. Sorry I can't remember all your names (nice lady that lives in Seminole/Ridgeview...) I will be staying here again in September and have recommended it to all my friends. Anytime I have guests in town the Thunderbird is where we will be. Always accommodating, it really is there pleasure to have you stay with them! Love ya' all and see you soon - Mariah!

Room Tip: Beautiful views from your own private balcony in the gulf front rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We decided not to make reservations before leaving on a short getaway. We just flew by the seat if our pants. We stopped at one other hotel just north of the Thunderbird and got a rate that seemed a little high with no balcony. So we decided to check out the Thunderbird because we liked the name. We were greeted by Amanda who was eager to help us find the best room as I am disabled and walking is a difficult thing. She proved two options and beat the other hotel hands down. We got a squeaky clean room, ground floor with parking right outside our door with the most comfortable bed ever and a fabulous balcony. It was the best ever. We were so pleased we had to write this review. If your ever in the quaint and quirky town of Treasure Island you must check this little jewel on the beach. Be sure to ask for Amanda and tell her to make your trip the best ever.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Butterflygirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Just as promised....2nd floor balcony facing the gulf/near the pool. Great facility....clean, accommodating, friendly, great location. We normally stay at the Bilmar right next door, but have always wanted to check out the Thunderbird. We were very pleased! And Amanda at the front desk was especially helpful and provided truly exceptional service! We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Courtyard could be a bit noisy, we chose just off the courtyard, second floor facing the gulf...coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I first went to the Thunderbird hotel as a child back in the 60's. Somehow I ended up making reservations there 40 years later on a girlfriends trip. The moment I arrived something felt familiar. I walked in the lobby and saw the gardens, the pool with the painted Thunderbird on the bottom and the pristine beach straight ahead.

Our stay was amazing. They now have a tiki bar on site, there was music on the weekends. There is a small diner on site and its perfect for sitting out at breakfast and enjoying the ocean breeze and the beautiful flowers.

Staff has been amazing. I returned last winter with my fiance. We are returning again this Feb. We also plan to have our wedding there next year w family and friends. We will walk straight out to the sand, say our I Do's and enjoy a coctail from the Tiki Bar.

I would recommend The Thunderbird to everyone. Adults and families. There is so much to do within walking distance. I give it a 10 10 10.....

Room Tip: Ocean view is great, but every room is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The room was clean, hotel is on the beach, beach is massive and clean, plenty of shops and restaurants close by, travel is easy, employees were very helpful and really appreciate the concern and assistance given by Amanda. The only negative was that parking was tight. It was a holiday weekend so they were booked and some vehicles were parked that weren't supposed to be. Would prefer the smoking guests stay away from the rooms and pool area. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jumpjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Nice people but room just felt dirty. Room walls paper thin- could hear everything our neighbors said. The common areas reeked of cigarette smoke.
Would never return. This was a last minute trip and wish we stayed elsewhere

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oriolesdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#17 of 48 in Treasure Island
541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#22 of 48 in Treasure Island
503 reviews
0.8 mi away
Island Inn
Island Inn
#32 of 48 in Treasure Island
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
698 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Treasure Island
229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#12 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range: £103 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Feola's Italian Ristorante, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Thunderbird Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing