We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, too bad service left lot to be desired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thunderbird Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hotel has a great location. Unfortunately, tons of families with cooking in rooms and smell of cooking all over including in the rooms. Cleaning left a lot to be desired. Mold in shower, maid did not even bother to empty coffee pot. Manager gave lame excuse it was a "FL Law" that they couldn't clean out the coffee pot, too bad he made the excuse to a lawyer who knew the law and all we could do is simply laugh at him. Ran out of towels for beach. Just were very unprepared for the busy 4th of July weekend like it was the first time it ever happened. However, the desk staff was overly friendly and tried their best. Day after 4th of July, pool was so trashed by the families there that it had to be closed all day. No ice available to guests for drinks. If it were not for the magnificent view of the fireworks up and down the whole beach this place would have been a disaster. I cannot say this place is terrible, but if they put in a little more effort the place could be spectacular and they did not seem like they wanted to put forth that effort. If you have a family and are on a low budget vacation where you want to cook at your own food and hang out by the pool drinking and smoking then fine you can do that here. The beds were like sleeping on a floor, very hard. Air conditioning barely cooled the room even at 62 degrees. The place is old and needs a major face lift.

Room Tip: Gulf view rooms are the only way to go unless you want families and kids looking into your rooms tha...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulM29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,622)
There are newer reviews for Thunderbird Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

609 - 615 of 1,622 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

Friendly, clean, and great location. Many nice places to eat all in walking distance. Only downside (if there is one) would be the long walk to the Gulf. Seemingly a wide section of the beach. The Big Blue slide which is just a couple steps down the beach was lots of fun for the kids. Unfortunately, they were having issues with the wind and had to take it down on our 2nd day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geraghty-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Amanda was so precious! She was able to calm me down and provide a remarkable room for us. She was truly a God send! I couldn't help but hug her for being so helpful. We had just been to the hotel next door and was very disappointed. We will definitely stay at the "Bird" from now on. We LOVE THE "BIRD"!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tquinn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband & I hadn't planned on going to the gulf side, but at the last minute decided to spend a couple of nights there. When researching condos/hotels/resorts, we found Thunderbird had a room available. We had stayed before many years ago and decided to try it again. We weren't disappointed! If you are looking for fancy, this isn't the place. However, we don't have one complaint regarding our stay! We had a suite, which consisted of a queen bed in a private bedroom plus a living area with a pull-out couch. A kitchenette with stove/oven, apt size frig, sink, & microwave was just perfect for us. Furniture and flat-screen larger tv was nice. Bathroom was very clean. We arrived late the first night just in time to order a pizza delivered to our room. Pizza was very good! Room was clean, no freaky odors, and we could see the beach from our shared balcony/walkway. Our room was on the north side near the second pool. It was much quieter there, away from the nightly music, which didn't bother us & was quite enjoyable. There seemed to be a "quiet time" curfew and we had no problem with unruly, loud people. (We were there on weeknights.) Both pool areas were nice. Outdoor furniture was nice & clean. Staff was super friendly! Hotel parking was cramped but not a problem. We used the laundry room (takes quarters) and washer/dryers were clean & worked great. Everyone MUST go north a block and get a snowball (fine snowcone like famous in New Orleans)! We had heard ahead of time Treasure Island had a place to get them and it is near hotel. So many options and you can ask for samples. Ocean is a bit of a walk but the sand/beach is very near the hotel. It wasn't a problem for us and the beach is wide at all areas of this particular section. The beautiful white sand beach was clean and had cabanas to rent if interested. The resort's outdoor area facing the beach was perfect. A lot of seating, tables with umbrellas, & grills available. If I had one thing to do over it would've been to plan ahead & got a beach-facing upper level room just for the view. That is what we had when we were there before. I really don't have any complaints and we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DMMAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Our first time here after ten years when the kids were little. It has been remodeled, it's beautiful. The hotel room was spotless. We walked to Hooters to watch the USA game. It was a pleasant walk (30 minutes) to the draw bridge. The staff is very helpful with directions. At night we stayed poolside by the tiki bar listening to music and drinking cocktails. We will come back time after time. Don't let this hotel slip away!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank maria52652001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The location of the Hotel was amazing. Beautiful beach but it is a long walk to the Gulf from the Hotel so for anyone having issues, the distance may be too much for some. The sandy white beach was gorgeous and swimming in the warm clear gulf was delightful. The Hotel pool and Hot Tub was nice and we had a room just off the pool area. There was also live music by the pool area. The Hotel itself has the charm of an older Florida Hotel but could use some updating. The room was clean but we did not have our room cleaned one day, we were in the room when the cleaning crew came by and later they simple set fresh towels on the bed and did nothing else. A little disappointing when there was obvious things that needed to be done such as a running a sweeper on the carpet and taking the dirty towels from the bathroom and making the beds. Other than that, the office staff was nice and the restaurant offered wine and cheese one evening free for guests. The location of the Hotel is close to a Publix, McDonalds and Walgreens which was convenient. Overall we had a nice stay and the beds were comfortable. A nice place to visit for a family.

Room Tip: A little noisier by the pool so if you want a quieter room, request to be further away from the pool...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dewey419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is my second trip to the Thunderbird, and the place is still lovely. The people who run the resort are even better. I would like to thank the head housekeeper, Janice, and her staff: Edra, Chantell, Rita, Kathy, Dot, and Qua for their hard work in keeping the room and surrounding area perfect. I will be returning to the family-friendly, good-feeling resort for my next vacation. My first trip was with a 2 year old child plus another adult for three days in a simple room, this trip I took solo for 5 days and stayed in a suite with a kitchenette and a private room. I suggest a suite with kitchenette for longer stays as it feels more like home.

Treat this place like your home away from home and everyone will be happy.

Room Tip: For longer stays, it is nice to have a suite with a private room/kitchenette
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
533 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#21 of 48 in Treasure Island
484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Treasure Island
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
686 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,781 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#12 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range: £101 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Feola's Italian Ristorante, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Thunderbird Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing