We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thunderbird Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thunderbird Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
“Love this place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is amazing. Staff, location, and super friendly people! Louis at the front desk is always great to my family. We will return every year possible! Love, love, LOVE!!!! I am a Florida resident and have tried many other places. It doesn't get any better then the Thunderbird! Also they are very children friendly :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    426
    151
    61
    67
See reviews for
652
413
48
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was our first time staying at the Thunderbird. Check-in was quick and the front desk staff were all very friendly. My daughter and I booked a first floor room in the main section located near the restaurant. The grounds were well kept and landscaping was very pretty. Our room seemed to be clean and was average in size. The bathroom was very small and the bathtub/shower was old and the faucet was VERY hard to turn on. The other draw back was that our room had an odor to it that we could not pinpoint. An air freshener " plug-in" was plugged into the wall to mask the smell but it did not help in fact it it probably made it worse. The other draw back to the room was that you could hear everything loud and clear in the joining room through the kitchenette. As other guests have stated the parking is very tight especially when it is full. The pool seemed to be nice and was enjoyed by many ( we preferred the beach) The beach is quite a long walk from the hotel so I can understand why people with small children would stay around the pool. The nightly live music was fun and the the tiki bar was a hit with us- we especially liked the "Thunderita's ! One of the plusses of the Thunderbird was it's convenient location- we walked to almost everything we needed such as the Publix, Walgreens, VIP Mexican Restaurant and "Scoops" the ice cream shop! All, in all we did enjoy our stay and for the money it was a good value.

Room Tip: My tip would be to request a room on the second floor in newer section- it seemed to be quieter a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparkles59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plant City, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We just spent two wonderful at the Thunderbird, 7/13 - 7/15 what a little gem this hotel is, the stay started out with awesome staff at the front desk, a big shout out to Missy she was so much help, answering all my questions, and our room wasn't ready so she offered to put all my food behind the counter, even asked if any of it needed to be refrigerated, she has an awesome personality along with all the front desk staff! Our room was a Suite #38 we loved it, we saw some of the most awesome sunsets, and the room was spotless, I can't say enough about the housekeeping staff, they are wonderful, the best I have ever seen, and those ladies work hard, we were there after the weekend, it was Sunday and they were working so hard to get us in our room early, and they did just that! Our stay was great we enjoyed being right on the beach, yes it's a little walk, but so worth it, and we will be back in August for a 2 week stay, can't wait! Thank you Thunderbird staff for making our stay awesome!

Room Tip: We prefer the Suites, much quieter on this side, and the rooms are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Here right now. Got a double double on first floor overlooking the pool and has a partial ocean view. Quite an old resort and retro in places but makes it quite quirky, has character compared to your normal modern hotels. Room very clean on arrival, reception staff very helpful and friendly. We have a fridge and a MICROWAVE and coffee machine in the room. There is an ice bucket and ice is just along the landing from a machine. There is a restaurant inside the hotel, Italian I think, not tried but smells amazing. We went next door to Sloppy Joes a couple of times which was great as you sit virtually on the beach on a high up terrace overlooking the ocean. The maid service came in after 1st night and replenished coffee and cups, changed towels and cleaned round. We have a lockable safe and a very large tv with lots of channels plus free wifi which works fast and perfectly. Air con works great. Carpark is fairly full but we got parked ok each time, I noticed other people on hear moaning. Pool side bar available and live singing, you can sit on the beach, hotel has its own chairs just for hotel patrons. Overall very happy, glad we came to the Thunderbird!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weltons-vacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

No better atmosphere than this hotel on any given day but especially the 4th of July. If you look down the beach everything happening is here. Once in a wile a person that had to much to drink gets stupid but the pros out weight the cons. If I could change one thing it would be the refrigerator in the rooms need to be better and stop hogging the ice. We will continue to stay on the 4th because it is a family tradition now and some other occasional visits. after all we have been coming here for 40 years..Thanks for mostly all good memories....You all rock !!!!!

Room Tip: We like the side by the small pool because a lot more quieter when you want to break away but 80 % o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tncbucfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templeton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I will never stay here again!! The hotel states there is coffee pots in the rooms....great for one day. The staff never refilled our coffee supply after day one, also there is nothing to drink the coffee in unless you count the plastic cups in the bathroom as coffee cups. They didn't even empty or clean the pot the entire stay. They also never gave us more cups.
We were on the second floor facing the pool. The room was very dark with the only window facing the pool with people walking by all day. If we went downstairs the hall to the stairs was always filled with dirty linen baskets, several times we had to move them out of our way just to get to the stairs.
Guests had pool towels and for the life of me I don't know where they came from. I had to ask housekeeping where they were and they gave me two for our entire stay! We had to leave them outside or hang them on doors to dry for the next day.
Housekeeping over the weekend was no where to be found. Our room didn't get changed until after 5:00 on Saturday and 3:00 on Sunday. When we returned to the room all they did was give us new towels, empty the trash, and make the beds. We ran out of toilet paper and had to go the front desk to ask for more. The sink was never cleaned. The drain on the tub came off as soon as you turned the water on. Gross for my child's bath!
Parking was an issue every day. It was very loud at night for us to try and go to sleep. The rooms were very dated. After the room door was shut you could see a huge space around the entire door to allow bugs in. The pool was gross, all around the pool was mold from never being cleaned. I wake up early and I never saw the staff cleaning the pool.
Waste of money! If you want to stay on the beach do NOT stay here!!!

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel for a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Read all the great reviews from Trip advisor so I decided to book it here for my daughter's 15 birthday. The beach is a good walking distance from the hotel to the water. PARKING is an issue T night. We got a suite that had a separate bedroom with 2 double beds and a pull out sofa. The room is in need of renovations. The AC did not work properly even with 2 fans. They came to fix it but did not. They tried to accommodate us by letting us look at another room. The suite side of the hotel needs work. The main pool area rooms were remodeled and looked beautiful but still not as cool as we'd like it to be. I was embarrassed for my daughter and her guest. So here we are at 10 at night finding another place to stay at. We drove and went down the street to the Marriott Inn-- Twice the money but worth every penny that we didn't have. The only good thing about the Thunderbird was that they were trying to get us in a better room and that we got our money back. I WOULD NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN.

Room Tip: Don't choose a suite and make sure the AC is working. 3 of the rooms that we were shown were la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RainaWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#11 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
#12 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Tre...
#5 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Property: Thunderbird Beach Resort
Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4706
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#12 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Feola's Italian Ristorante, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Thunderbird Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing