We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beach Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thunderbird Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Reviewed 12 January 2011

This hotel is fine for the price with great views of the gulf from our top-floor room. Friendly staff, clean, comfortable beds-"fine" is an apt description.

The hotel sits among a seemingly endless string of nondescript hotels/motels that run north and south along the beach, some appearing quite shabby. Frankly, Treasure Island is no treasure and consists of little more than tacky surf shops. Most of the people you encounter are old and tanned beyond recognition.

If you're looking for a younger, hipper crowd, go north to Clearwater beach or south to St. Pete's beach. The hotels there look nicer, though you'll likely pay more.

One lively spot a short walk from the hotel is Sloppy Joe's. It has a great sunet-watching deck and live music on the weekends.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BFRMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,622)
There are newer reviews for Thunderbird Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,175 - 1,181 of 1,622 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2011

My friends and i have been going to the Thunderbird Beach Resort for years. We go during deer season in Michigan. Therefore, we call it our doe camp, since our husbands are at deer camp. The resort has a wonderful staff, very friendly and helpful ( Especially Barbara, Bill and Monique). The resort is beautiful and well maintained. The rooms are also very nice. But how much time do you spend in your room? We don't spend much time at all were sun bathing, floating in the pool, walking the beach, listening to the band they have at the resort on Thurs. Fri. Sat. and Sun. They also have a Tiki Bar with a great staff, it's so much fun. We have made lots new friends with the guest and it seems we see the same people every year along with new people staying there for the first time. It is so laid back and cozy. We spend 10 days there every November and we never move our vehicle. We walk where we need to go, shopping, great resturants, bars, muisc. What ever you need is in the area. If you decide to travel to the other islands you can take a trolley for a minium cost or Taxi.

You can't go wrong choosing this small quaint resort to relax, enjoy and leave your trobles behind.

Thunderbird Beach Resort, Thank you for giving myself and friends a place to enjoy in florida. Keep it Simple. I have friends checking into the resort in February for a week and they are excited to be beach bums.

OOOP'S - I almost forgot one thing, We do not recommend the resturant located at the resort. However, it is independantly owned and not owned by the resort.

Jana Smith
Big Rapids, MI

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7448_Jana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

This hotel/resort has always been a significant part of my Florida memories. As a child it was the iconic thunderbird sign lit against the dark night; as an adult, it is where I often spend my wedding anniversary. This year my husband and I spent our 25th anniversary at the Thunderbird. The staff was always helpful and pleasant, and the accommodations were great. Our room was a gulf-front efficiency on the third floor. I have stayed at many beach hotels, but this room had one of the most beautiful views. The pool and courtyard area is really attractive and Ikki Woo Woo's Tiki Hut is the perfect place for a drink and great conversation. The Thunderbird has everything you need. There is a bistro for morning breakfast and coffee, but if I wanted to cook, my room had a full kitchen. The location is wonderful: close to restaurants, beach shopping, a grocery store, entertainment, etc. The Thunderbird also has an agreement with a health club at the Treasure Island Yacht Club, so we could work out in a gym if we didn't want to run outdoors. We really enjoyed bringing in the new year at the Thunderbird with the live entertainment and party favors; it was great fun. On our return trips to Treasure Island, we will stay at the Thunderbird Resort.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

I stayed at the Thunderbird Beach Resort with my 89 year old mother, 66 year old sister and 11 year old nephew. We had a room by the pool and with a patio to sit on and look at the beach. The large outdoor heated pool was fantastic since the gulf was pretty cold in late November. The little cafe at the resort was very good and convenient, as were the nearby stores that supplied everything we wanted. Our room was equipped with a kitchen that had everything needed; pans, dishes, cups, silverware, etc. We were all happy. We were also happy about the price.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dddawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Great Gulf Front room with balcony at a very reasonable price. Entire staff was friendly and helpful (Barb Taylor at the front desk could be a top notch Concierge at a 5 star hotel). Great food, shopping and entertainment within walking distance. Last but not least, cross the walkway from the Tiki Bar at the rear of the pool and you are on one of the Best Beaches in Florida.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeKite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

The resort was on the beach and set up perfectly, nice pool and hot tub. Excellent staff!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livertpab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

Our stays in November & December prove that the great service we received during past visits are the RULE at the Thunderbird. Barbara, Sarah, and everyone else we encountered on the staff were helpful and courteous - as always!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miami_huh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
533 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#22 of 48 in Treasure Island
483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Treasure Island
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
686 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,781 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#12 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range: £101 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Feola's Italian Ristorante, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Thunderbird Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing