We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great view but desperately needs renovation” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island Inn
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great view but desperately needs renovation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

the views of the gulf are great but the inside needs a lot of work, some rooms are private owned, they are in it for the money no doubt, our room needs to be gutted, way over priced for what you get, service is pretty good although for the most part, a lot of partying going on, especially on the weekend, if you are looking for quiet and relaxing you may want to go elsewhere, the rooms are very small, the bathroom sink is by the door entrance, the rooms smell extremely musty. the air conditioner is window mounted/loud/noisy/only inches from the bed, lot of drunks at the tiki bar on the weekend, pricing at the tiki bar is inconsistent and the overweight chick that works there really should put on some clothes and not hang out of her thong-like apparel

Room Tip: shop around, go for cleaner and quieter unless you like to party and get wasted
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    86
    36
    31
    24
See reviews for
84
99
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

This hotel is perfect if you really want to experience the beach but can't afford the fancy, more expensive beach hotels. I am a teacher and was on a girls' trip for my spring break and didn't want to spend a fortune and this was great for us. Having a kitchen in the room really kept costs down and we stayed on the fifth floor where I could keep the sliding door open to listen to the ocean at night without worrying about too much pool noise in the morning.

I did find a few surprises, however. If you are afraid of heights or are wary of your little ones, don't stay on a high floor--the open-air walkways feel a bit narrow when you're 5 stories up. The mattresses felt like they were last changed decades ago (gave my friend a sore back and we're in our 20's) but they were right by the balcony which I liked. When I got to my room before my friend I used the bathroom right away and then went down to the beach. About an hour later when I returned I realized the toilet was running and when I called down to the front desk the girl said the maintenance person had left for the day so I'd have to wait until morning. This is a very annoying problem that wastes a lot of water and I know how to fix it so I just used the grilling fork in the silverware drawer to fish the disconnected chain out of the fill tank of the toilet and reattached it. Not exactly what I saw myself doing on my vacation--but oh well.

BUT the kitchen, free kayaks, quiet beach and tiki bar made up for the self-repair earlier in my stay. There is nothing like grilling out while watching a picture-perfect sunset and then taking a stroll down a quiet stretch of beach with the waves crashing at your feet once it gets dark. No one really mentions the fishing pier on the bay side of the hotel in the parking lot either! (Fun place to sit and watch for dolphins) I will definitely be returning--just maybe at a time when I can get a little bit better of a deal than the high-season rate for the hotel.

Room Tip: If you get a room on either end of the ocean view you get a corner to your balcony and no neighbor o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niles, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

My idea of heaven on earth. We were on the 6th floor beach side. Able to open balcony door and hear the surf day and night! Saw Dolphins two mornings in a row. Walked on the powder soft sand and swim I. The pool. Your choice. I will return for sure!

Room Tip: Loved being on an upper level so we could have the balcony door open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Terrific location right on the beach on a relatively quiet section of the Gulf shore. Rooms on the small side, in serious need of updating. Tiny bathroom. Mattress overdue for replacement. Dangerous looking electrical connections with residential style extension cords and power strips because of a lack of sufficient outlets. No fee wireless Internet connection in the room. Lot of Gulf Blvd. traffic noise in the room. Nice poolside bar with enthusiastic staff.

The Treasure Island area is a good base for your Gulf adventure. There are dozens of ocean beachfront and Intercostal frontage hotels. Evaluate several for the level of accommodations and value to best fit your needs.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThreeRivers75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Point, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Overall stay was good, however our car got white spray paint all over it including the windows by a maintenance guy who was spray painting pieces of metal outside the back of the building next to our car and others that were parked there. We noticed after we washed it once we arrived home and we have placed several calls to the resort and the manager will not return our call. We were there from Wednesday April 3 to Saturday April 6

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jserratos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Room 313 is next to elevator and it rumbles until 2am then quiets down. The king mattress is the worst I've slept on. Location of Island Inn is great. The staff was a bit slow but in general were accommodating. Ricks Tiki bar is not bad for quick food and the drinks are good and fair priced. The swimming pool is small but clean and the water was warm. Your on the beech and the area is kept up and clean.

Room Tip: Stay a room or two from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wallzworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Treasure Island hotels

Norwood, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We spent 9 nights here on vacation. The room needed some updating but all in all it was acceptable. A small kitchen area with full refrigerator, microwave, full-size coffee pot, and even an island table as well as another table next to the beds. The room was old; nicks and worn areas around the furniture. The room had a small safe which the batteries had to be replaced when we got there (by the hotel), but oddly enough the safe isn't bolted down... Strange... The two elevators could be a little slow but we had no problem with them. There is a laundry room on site which helped since airlines are not restricting baggage to 40 lbs at $40 a piece; therefore you bring less clothes that need laundering more often. There is a pool side bar that was open every day and the staff was very friendly. Sometimes these bars aren't open during the week but it's nice after sitting on a hot beach coming back for one or two brews before getting ready for dinner. The hotel is right on the gulf/beach and there's kayaks and paddleboards, and 2 volleyball nets set up for hotel guests as well as 4 gas grills that can be used by guests. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I wouldn't do the 6th floor because the rooms don't have balconies. Noise was minimal at thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunflower67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
1.2 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Treasure Island
Blue Waters Treasure Island
#21 of 48 in Treasure Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
1.0 mi away
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
#13 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Bayside Inn & Marina
The Bayside Inn & Marina
#37 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Property: Island Inn
Address: 9980 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Inn Beach Resort, located on the beautiful Gulf Beaches of Tampa Bay is a tropical paradise where you can relax as you watch sailboats gliding across emerald green waters and wind surfers being chased by a warm, tropical island breeze. Lounge by the pool with an ice cold drink from our tiki bar or enjoy a walk on our World Famous Treasure Island Beach! The Island Inn Beach Resort offers something for everyone with a colorful mix of relaxation, fun and recreation, along with a friendly, courteous staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Treasure Island
Island Inn Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing