We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view”
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Inn
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in an ocean front king states room. The view was wonderful we saw dolphins everyday from our balcony. The beach was like having your own private beach there were few people there. The front desk was very helpful anything we needed they helped us with. This place is wonderful for a private get away. I really wouldn't take kids just because the rooms were small. Ask for their lowest price on the phone before booking through any website. They will give military discounts for Veterans. You might want to bring your own pitcher's and other daily things you can't live without since the kitchen is not well supplied. The bathroom was small but for four days it was doable.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Erika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollynn H, Guest Relations Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Erika P.-
Wow, it is so wonderful to hear about your experience at the hotel during your recent stay! Glad you enjoyed the view (and dolphins!) as well as the beach which we agree is less crowded than most in the nearby area. Our Gulf front rooms come with either a King or 2 Double beds, and we do have suites that face both the Boca Ciega bay and the Gulf (the suites accommodate up to 6 people), so you can bring the kids! Thank you for your review and acknowledging our staff at the front desk, we appreciate it! Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was our 2nd stay at the Island Inn. We first tried it out last summer after hearing my parents rave about it for several years when they come down every April. The view is awesome and the units are clean. The housekeeping staff works hard and are very helpful should you need something. The building is conveniently located to many things to do in the area, and the pool and outside tiki bar is great, and yes, parking can be an issue but sometimes we just park across the street in the designated lot specifically for Island Inn guests....we can always use the excersise! We stayed in 308 which was recently renovated and quite lovely! Also, they have free Wi-Fi, which was perfect as I was taking an online course this summer. The beds were rather uncomfortable though. The mattresses offered no support and really need to be firmer. The price is right and you just cannot beat waking up to the beautiful view each morning and sunsets at night! See you next summer!

Room Tip: Rooms farther away from the pool are quieter, and make sure to get a Gulf Front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Jaime P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollynn H, Guest Relations Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Jaime P-
It is such a pleasure to hear about your positive vacation and kind words about the hotel. Thank you so much for acknowledging our housekeeping staff who indeed works very hard to be helpful and courteous to all of the guests. We are also so glad to hear that you enjoyed the location, views, and free WIFI! We can't wait to see you again next summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
47
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Great place - beautiful sunsets and beach area. We stayed in room 310 which was a double room with a king bed and 2 doubles and 2 bathrooms! 2 balconies for gulf viewing and a kitchen too. Staff was very nice and we loved it!! Highly recommend it!

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollynn H, Guest Relations Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello-
We're so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our Gulf Front Suite. We agree the sunsets and beach are simple incredible, and we really appreciate you acknowledging our staff. We hope to see you again very soon and thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed at Island Inn for seven nights with my children. The beach is amazing and only a few steps away from the hotel. I stayed in room 612 which I rented trough ITrip.com so it was a private room and not part of the hotel. The staff are friendly and the bartenders are very good at keeping everyone happy. The property is old and needs lots of TLC. But the location is worth it specially if you stay during the week since there were barely anyone there. The weekend got very busy with way too many people in the pool and making noise until very late at night. Overall I gave the hotel an average rating because of the condition that is in.

Room Tip: Rent a private room that is not part of the hotel. These rooms are completely renovated and come wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Nayvih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollynn H, Guest Relations Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hello-
Thank you so much for the review, we are so glad that you and your family were able to enjoy your stay and time on the beach. We also appreciate you acknowledging our staff and bartenders in a positive light, we certainly do work very hard to keep all the guests happy and leave them with a positive experience. We do want to clarify that every single room in the hotel (through ITRIP as well) is equipped with a kitchenette which includes full size fridge, microwave ,and 2 stove top burners. We have more than 80 rooms that the hotel rents directly and the majority of them are updated and modern. When you rent through the hotel, amenities are also included (such as kayaks, pool towels, maintenance and daily maid service) which aren't included when renting through a private owner or ITRIP. Thank you so much for your patronage and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel has a great view with great balconies. Front desk attendant and house keeping. Had to force smiles seemed like they where serving prison time. Rooms are nothing great but location and beach are unbelievable.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank savannah k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollynn H, Guest Relations Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hi-
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy the beautiful view and the private balconies. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We got a good rate and knew what we were getting into.

Pros:

- the view (we had beachfront) is beautiful. The area is nice with lots of shops and restuarants. It was nice to have the option to fish across the road on the docks (although they are pretty run down). The unit we rented online was updated and clean enough. You really miss not having a couch in the room though. We saw no cockroaches in our room, can't say the same about the rest of the resort which I will get too.

Cons:
- The biggest one was the cockroaches. I have been down south lots of times. I know you have to expect bugs. But the first night we were there the resort and pool area (and pool itself) had a bunch of cockroaches crawling or swimming around. I don't know if they had sprayed that day or something because no other night of our stay was it like this, but that first night was gross and kind of tainted our view of the spot after that.
- The resort could use a fresh coat of paint. The lounge chairs need to be replaced and the pool area refreshed. The BBQ's were filthy and disgusting.
-The patio doesn't have a screen door. That sucked. We couldn't sleep with the door open to hear the waves without flys and other crawling things getting in.

This was a cheap beach break for us. It was cheap and the location/view and access to the beach was great. I don't think we would stay here again, we would probably spend the extra couple bucks and get a nicer/newer spot. Treasure Island is a nice area and I would stay again. If you stay here - walk just up the road to the VIP Mexican restaurant. Doesn't look like much from the outside but, trust me, you will be glad you went!

Room Tip: splurge on a beach front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewfieCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollynn H, Guest Relations Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hello-
Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to write your review. We are very appreciate the feedback and will take it into consideration as we continue to improve our property. We currently have future plans to replace pool loungers, renovate our pool docks and painting the building. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed the beautiful view and Treasure Island area. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed one night while waiting for our rental home to become available. Having stayed in several places on Treasure Island, St Pete Beach and Madeira Beach, I was rather disappointed with this hotel and expected a bit more at the price of $173.00 per night.

Parking was a pain at check in , the front desk staff seemed a bit overwhelmed when we checked in and the staff member was a bit snippy with me. We called ahead to ensure our room was ready and were told it was, upon arrival I was informed it was not yet ready. We went to the bar to have a drink while we waited for the room to become available, wasnt really impressed. The kids enjoyed the pool which was very nice and clean.

The rooms were ok, nothing really impressive, they were a bit dated. The beds I found to be uncomfortable. The view from the balcony was the best part of the stay.

Overall, for the price I will chose another property on my next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollynn H, Guest Relations Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hi Figmoe-
We are sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay. We thank you for your feedback and taking the time to write a review. Throughout the island there is very limited parking and we do our best to monitor the situation diligently so guests have spaces to park. We also do everything we can to work with housekeeping to accommodate early check-ins whenever possible, we are sorry that there was a miscommunication regarding that issue. However, I am very glad your kids enjoyed the pool and you enjoyed the view. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
1.2 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#22 of 48 in Treasure Island
495 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
535 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Treasure Island
Blue Waters Treasure Island
#15 of 48 in Treasure Island
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
#3 of 48 in Treasure Island
406 reviews
1.1 mi away
South Beach Condo/Hotel
South Beach Condo/Hotel
#4 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,151 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 9980 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-3296
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range: £92 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Inn Beach Resort, located on the beautiful Gulf Beaches of Tampa Bay is a tropical paradise where you can relax as you watch sailboats gliding across emerald green waters and wind surfers being chased by a warm, tropical island breeze. Lounge by the pool with an ice cold drink from our tiki bar or enjoy a walk on our World Famous Treasure Island Beach! The Island Inn Beach Resort offers something for everyone with a colorful mix of relaxation, fun and recreation, along with a friendly, courteous staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Treasure Island
Island Inn Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing