We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front Office saved our vacation!”
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Inn
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Reviewed 13 September 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Island Inn over the Labor Day week-end. We rented an efficiency thru a private owner, who had mailed us the room key cards prior to arrival. Upon arrival we checked in with the front desk to get our parking pass. They were very helpful telling us where to park and where not to. We got everything settled in room (this was early a.m.) and went down to beach & pool. When ready to go back to room, I could not find my key card. I had checked and double checked to make sure I had it before we left the room. We went to office and explained situation. Luckily, Vicki had originally checked us in and was still there. She called maintenance and they has master key. And, right there on the floor was my key. It had fallen out of my bag due to my double checking. Normally, when you rent from a private owner, if you loose a key, your kind of out of luck. We would have had to contact the owners who live over an hour away (if they had even been in town over holiday), then would have had to drive to get key and back. Which would have taken up mostly one whole day. Thank you Vicki for saving us a day.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank gypsyjFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2009

Multiple family members used to spend a week every summer at a 'mini'reunion' here. Our last visit in Aug 09 will be our last. The place has not only gone downhill from a maintenance standpoint, the staff are rude and inconsiderate. When I called and spoke with the manager about this and my being overcharged, I realized, it flows downhill - he was almost as bad. There were several of us overcharged and now I want to send them a bill for the toilet repair my husband had to do since there is no maintenance staff in the evening. Worst vacation experience ever. The only redeeming quality is the bartender at the tiki bar.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargiVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

The ONLY positive thing I can say about this place was that the beach access was WONDERFUL.

Unfortunately, the front desk staff was rude and not helpful. The rooms (especially the floors) were dirty. There was a cockroach in the restroom, the toilet didnt flush correctly and the sliding glass door to the balcony was impossible to close.

I am a Florida resident and only stayed for 2 nights. I would've been really really upset had I been stuck there for an entire week.

To top it off, they charged us the wrong room rate at the end of the stay and we were told that it couldnt be corrected until the next day. To his credit, the manager did take care of this for us the next day, but the front desk person told us that it was OUR fault they charged us the wrong rate and there was nothing he could do about it until we spoke to the manager.

I would never stay here again and would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pandorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

For the price ($100/nt.) my wife and I were not expecting much, but the Island Inn had everything we could want. It was a bit dated but the room was large, clean and nicely decorated. There was a full kitchen complete with stove, refrigerator, microwave, dishes, utensils, pots, etc. and access to the BBQ grills outside. The TV had a load of channels and there was even a DVD player. There was an in-room connection for free internet access. The staff was very friendly. Outside on your balcony were chairs and a table where you could chill out and watch the sunset over the ocean. The beach was literally five feet outside the door and was very uncrowded. Up and down Gulf Blvd. were restaurants, bars and shops. A very nice experience!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpbOakLawn_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

The room was clean and very, very basic. Great for a low budget, cook your own meals ( in room kitchens and bar-b-que on the beach), wonderful beach vacation. Beach is wide, water is amazing, and you can walk for miles . If cooking is not your idea of a vacation, combine budget priced room with a 1/4 mile or so walk in either direction for great beach front dining -- breakfast through late night snacks. Beach trolley stops at door -- explore every beach from Clearwater to Pasa Grille without a car. If your main concern is a wonderful beach and plan on using the room to shower/sleep only.... this is a perefct place!!! Make sure to bring or rent a beach umbrella!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancysnotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

We have been going to the Island Inn for 5 years now. We knew it for what it was - the rooms could use some updating but the beach, pool, and staff were great. Until this year. They have cut the housekeeping service to every 3 days and if you are lucky you will be asked "do you need anything?" We were there for 3 days before someone asked if we needed service, and she was not thrilled about asking. All I wanted was fresh towels and the trash emptied - she acted as if she was going to collapse from exhaustion. And the kicker -- my husband left his wallet on top of the fridge when we checked out. We returned about an hour later and the maids had been in the room for 5 minutes and it had mysteriously disappeared. Through questioning (by us) it became apparent that one of the ladies had taken it. The management did not even talk to the staff about it as far as we know. The manager was not willing to help us in this matter at all - his only suggestion was that we file a police report. Obviously we know that it was our fault for leaving it but the situation could have been handled much better. We had been coming here and bringing friends/family but we will be looking elsewhere next year.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank go_jackets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Was looking for a quiet stay and got it. We are a family with three kids.Stayed at the Bilmar on two previous occasions; nice hotel but was noisy (music from bar area) and beach was a little crowded which is alright if thats what your looking for. At the Island Inn the beach was much closer than at the Bilmar and not crowded at all. Full size refrigerator was a plus. Before our trip I read reviews on several places in T.I. and I have to laugh a little at these people who write real nit-picky reviews of their hotel room. I brought my family to Fla. to experience the ocean, beach, and attractions, not a hotel room. For us its a place to crash and store our stuff. As long as its clean and the staff friendly, I don't care if my towels aren't folded perfectly geometric or the bed spread doesn't match the drapes. If these people wrote a review of the beach, they would complain they got sand in their shoes.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNfamilySC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
1.2 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#23 of 48 in Treasure Island
502 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#17 of 48 in Treasure Island
540 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Blue Waters Treasure Island
Blue Waters Treasure Island
#15 of 48 in Treasure Island
40 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#7 of 48 in Treasure Island
146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
#4 of 48 in Treasure Island
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 9980 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-3296
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range: £100 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Inn Beach Resort, located on the beautiful Gulf Beaches of Tampa Bay is a tropical paradise where you can relax as you watch sailboats gliding across emerald green waters and wind surfers being chased by a warm, tropical island breeze. Lounge by the pool with an ice cold drink from our tiki bar or enjoy a walk on our World Famous Treasure Island Beach! The Island Inn Beach Resort offers something for everyone with a colorful mix of relaxation, fun and recreation, along with a friendly, courteous staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Treasure Island
Island Inn Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing