We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Menu, Great for Families, Too Noisy and You'll Have to Wait”

Sloppy Joe's Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Big Menu, Great for Families, Too Noisy and You'll Have to Wait”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We've been to Sloppy Joe's on numerous occasions -- just the two of us, another time with grandchildren, another time with a huge family party . . . every time the experience has been very good.

For our most recent visit we anticipated that we'd have to wait, even though it was after 7 p.m. but the wait was less than 10 minutes. As always, the bar was packed with noisy people! We sat outside and part of the bar extends outside and there was a young woman who obviously had too much too drink and too much too say in too high of a tone. It was a blessing when she finally left with someone.

We tried the homemade chips and salsa -- excellent. Sliders -- cheeseburger (excellent), pulled pork (good) and sloppy joe's (excellent). Clam chowder -- better than average, nothing special and it should have been. House salad -- well, it was a large house salad and it served its purpose.

Kids love the place . . . service is friendly . . . and I can't imagine we'd ever have a bad meal at Sloppy Joe's.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank John52342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,003
    885
    454
    114
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“The best sandwiches”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Awesome sloppy joe (not to spicy or sweet), and best fish sandwich ever (fried Grouper). Definitely worth a try.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Food was good but the service was slow and some things were forgotten. 11 people had all different dishes so yes things could have been forgotten however the waitress should have been more alert that some hadn't gotten their drinks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food --- Bad service”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My family and I went here on our last night of vacation and unfortunately left us feeling frustrated. The food was good -- highly recommend the blackened fish tacos but the service was horrible. Our waitress was extremely slow. We were seated for over 10 min before we were even acknowledged. My husband ended up having to go up to the bar to get us a second round of drinks because our waitress never came back after taking our order. Not sure we'd go back -- too many other restaurants to choose from.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Disappointed!!!!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were looking for a place to eat on the beach and came across this place on Treasure Island, We walked in and there were 6 employees (?) standing at the hostess station. We were seated and given menus. My biggest complaint was the wait before we were able to order, with plenty of staff at the front door, I felt this place was not being managed well. The food was average and the price of a beer was ridiculous 8 and 9 dollars. I order 2 beers and they brought these plastic mandatory cups which we didn't ask for or want. My wife asked for a second beer and was told it would be cheaper if she used the cup from the first beer which she hadn't finished yet. Found out when the bill came we saved a dollar by ordering using the same plastic cup. So we had 3 -21 oz beers and spent 27.00 (really!!!!) Had fish tacos an they were over seasoned and drenched in tarter sauce. Will not go back here. Total bill lunch for 4 with tip was $108.00. 2 fish tacos meals, shrimp salad, sloppy joe and blue cheese chips appetizer. Went to Woody's on St. Pete's beach twice during our 7 seven day stay and for the price, food, live entertainment it was a much better value.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarcAnji S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger J, General Manager at Sloppy Joe's Treasure Island, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear MarcAnji S,
Please except my apology for your unfavorable visit to Sloppy Joe’s. Please know that when purchasing our 21oz Pilsner souvenir cups the price of $9.95 does include your cold beverage and take home cup. We only provide them in plastic so that they may be taken out on to the beach as well as packed snugly in our visiting guest luggage without fear of breaking. I will speak to our Chef regarding an over amount of avocado tarter sauce to make sure each taco is favorable. We are happy to know that during your visit you did get to try some of our guests’ favorite menu items and sincerely appreciate the feedback you provided.

Sincerely,
Roger Jones – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sloppy Joe's Treasure Island also viewed

 

Been to Sloppy Joe's Treasure Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing