We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hearty food and beers to tempt the palate!”

British Open Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 243 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: US$8 - US$14
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hearty food and beers to tempt the palate!”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

If you're on a diet, don't bother to go to the British Open Pub. Fish and chips, chicken pot pie to die for and many other tasty offerings. Not too expensive and great for visitors to the area. When the weather is pleasant, waiting patrons can be outside.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MollieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    87
    50
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Friendly, fast service. The Fish N Chips is a house specialty. A somewhat unique atmosphere. Watch the electric train make its way around the dining hall!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food, very tight seating arrangement”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

We went with friends who wanted liver and onions. Because I am gluten intolerant, the server recommended the Yankee pot roast without the gravy. It was very flavorful, and they leave the skins in the mashed potatoes, which I love. My wife had the liver and said it was very good.

My reduction in total score is because of the very tight seating in the dining room. The tables are relatively small, very close together, and the aisle space is limited. I believe it contributed to a full glass of Guinness being spilled in my lap. I don't consider it the server's fault a bit - tables crammed that closely together are at fault. I saw regular conflicts between servers and patrons trying to move around. The owners should take a look at the issue. Tables mean money, but I will have to consider whether to go back and be crammed into a seat again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Warm & Friendly meal”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We were greeted with a warm and friendly greeting. The menu is some really English dishes fish & chips, bangers, kidney pie, chicken wellington. The portions are offered in light and regular. The food was delicious and served hot.
We will return soon.

Helpful?
2 Thank Gitler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Shepards Pie”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The atmosphere is very good and the Shepard's Pie is to die for. It comes tour table hot right out of the oven. When you open the pie it is layer with mashed potato's, met, corn, and sauces. It will fill you up.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank skeeter2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed British Open Pub & Restaurant also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to British Open Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing