We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dust & Noise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Banyan House Vacation Rentals
Hamburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dust & Noise”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Our stay at Banyan House was a bad experience. We have flown long distance and were surprised to live on a construction site causing dust and noise. No previous message about that. The innkeepers are presently modernizing their own home and garden which is next door. And this seems to be all that matters to them. The innkeepers recommended to leave during the day or to wear earplugs. No excuse, no interest in tourist's needs. The apartment was not clean, refrigerator and toilet not properly working. There is no maintenance of the interior fitting, which is obsolete and has no bearing on "historic". We did not feel welcome at all. Venice is lovely and offers a lot of beautiful accomodation - but we can no longer recommend Banyan House.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Claudia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banyanhouse, Owner at Banyan House Vacation Rentals, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
This guest has stayed with us multiple times over the past 19 years. We were very
disappointed to read her comments. If she had brought any of these items to our
attention we would have gladly corrected them. She was not staying in our B & B
but in one of our monthly apartments which does not include daily housekeeping.
We are very sorry she was unhappy on this visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
41
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Banyan House during our November trip to Florida. We have stayed there multiple times since my brother-in-law discovered it back in 2000, and it continues to be one of our favorite places! In fact, on three different visits over the last four years, we took a nephew and two nieces with us as their high school graduation gifts, and they loved it as well. We always stay in the Sundeck room and have our visitors stay in the Laurel room right across the hall. And Venice is such a great location - we take side trips to Sarasota, Naples, Tampa and other Florida locations from our home base at the Banyan House.

Susan and Chuck McCormick are very hospitable hosts who make us feel right at home. Susan's breakfasts are delicious - fresh squeezed juice, a fruit course and a main course. My husband has taken pictures of many of the breakfasts; Susan put them in an album, and she told us that many guests look through the pictures and pick the ones they want her to make during their visit!

I highly recommend the Banyan House. We look forward to our next visit in June!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

After returning for our third visit at Historic Banyan House we continue to feel fortunate to stay at this outstanding B & B. Return guests find in their room a "welcome home" note in addition to wine and scrumptious home-baked treats. Chuck and Susan are talented and generous hosts, kindly responding to any requests for advice regarding the local area. The breakfasts are creative and delicious and Susan cheerfully accommodates any special dietary needs. The amenities provided by Banyan House attract a loyal and interesting cliental as well as lucky new guests. This is a very special place, we can't wait to come back next year!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Your Property is very lovely and well appointed but
afternoon tea a little cheese or crackers wine & cheese and from scratch breakfast would make you special your property is pristine and your effort on how the house looks is exceptional

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

A very nice well appointed B & B the premise was clean and the bed was confortable
we stayed in the palm suite the bathroom was tuff to navigate if your over five feet six inches tall you will have a difficult time in the shower the inn keepers are polite and friendly the house was very nice a very well cared for now the ok part the breakfast lacked in creativity first day a bannana with to much sauce and fritata that was sitting around to long that would have been sold at the clock restaurant had a little specialty bread it was ok second day stawberry's in granola a little yogurt would have gone a long way with it main course french toast wonder bread battered and shape of christmas tree with pineapple in raspberry syrup a little bit clever but try a homemade bread or at least a specail bread from a baker
If I came back to venice I would come again seems like best B&B in town but don't get exited about breakfast maybe pass and try restaurants in town!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Catharines, Ontario
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was our second stay with Susan and Chuck at Banyan House, we tried a different room this time. The hosts cannot do enough for you...they will offer helpful advice about restaurants and attractions also.
Convenient location to walk to restaurants, shops or the beach. You can hangout onsight by the pool or on the patio. Superb breakfasts, but be sure to bring an appetite...there's always lots to eat.
This experience was as good or better than our first stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al_Jo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay here. Chuck and Susan were very pleasant and breakfast was tasty every day. We liked our room (The Palm) because it had a little kitchenette and a nifty little deck that looked out at the banyan tree and the pool area. By the way, the patio area was really nice and we liked the little pool and the exercise room as well. I also liked that they had bikes that we could use to ride the few blocks over to the downtown area or even to the beach if we wanted. Our hosts had an ice machine and equipment such as coolers and "sand digging tools" that we used at the beach. We would stay here again if we made it back to this area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Redbirds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
0.8 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Venice Hotel Venezia
0.4 mi away
Island Sun Inn
Island Sun Inn
#8 of 13 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bayside Venice
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ambassador Suites Venice
1.9 mi away
Sunshine Motel
Sunshine Motel
#6 of 13 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan House Vacation Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan House Vacation Rentals

Property: Banyan House Vacation Rentals
Address: 519 Harbor Dr S, Venice, FL 34285-2812
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Venice
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1926 European Style home with rooms & suites with one week minimum and monthly apartments. Heated pool & spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Banyan House Historic Hotel Venice
Banyan House Historic b&b
Banyan House Vacation Rentals Venice, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing