We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scamotz Tomato Pies - CLOSED

Scamotz Tomato Pies
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“sad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

we have always been a fan of scamotz. We had not been there recently and decided we need a scamotz fix. we were sadly disappointed in the service and quality of the pie. we ordered a roasted veggie pie with sausage. when it arrived, we didn't even had time to tell the server that the sausage was missing. By the time we hailed her down, and told her, and she could bring some sausage, the pie was cold and greasy. Sorry to have to write this.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank finediner62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    51
    21
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not sure why this is only #21.... Amazing food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Only #21 no way. You all have to go give them a try! Very small menu selection but everything on the menu is great! We had the white pizza with sausage. The pizza dough is amazing! Since moving to Florida we have yet to find a pizza that we cant stop talking about. We have finally found one! It was delicious! Simple but perfect.

Hubby had the Cesar salad and I had the summer time salad. WOW and we got the half small portion. I was expecting a tiny bowl but got a salad enough for two! It was so tasty! The garlic knots with dipping oil they bring out free were so good as well! Next visit I am going to have the salad and add chicken.

Service... very good. Our waitress was under the weather and let us know because she felt bad she was not talking a lot but I would have never noticed because she was so attentive and sweet. Another girl (Britney I think her name was) came out to bring us our salads and was super sweet. She helped us as well and was very nice to my kids. I wish all servers were as nice as they were. We liked them so much we are talking about making the 2 hour drive one day in the next month or so just to go eat there! Out door seating was great.... you feel the breeze but your covered so no hot sun or rain and tons of herb plants all around. Pretty cool place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clarissairene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good pizza , weird owner , very pricey.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We went to Scamortz one night , very small place , we ordered pizza , the owner stop by our table to pick some basil in a pot hanging over our head , he was wearing one red tennis shoe and one black one, at this point we started to question our choice of pizza restaurant , but when our pizza came it was very good , hot , fresh and delicious , the price was very expensive , we have never been back due to the price , but if you don't mind pay the price its worth a try.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonyappco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't miss Wednesday pasta night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

We wanted to try the pasta night we have been here before and really love the pizza. Well the pasta was great ! The service was good and the price was right ! We will try pasta night again!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Klime82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nokomis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“scamotz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

First of all, it is off season, so the restaurant was quiet tonight. It is essentially pizza and salad, but really, really good. Also, the little braided breads with garlic oil were great to have while we were waiting. For us it was the perfect last night dinner with our granddaughters.Nice house Chiati,nice service and nice ambience outside. It is a small place, so when the snowbirds arrive, there might be a wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank violettaNokomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scamotz Tomato Pies also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing