We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gulf fried shrimp”
Review of Robbi's Reef

Robbi's Reef
Ranked #18 of 243 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$28
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Robbi's Reef is a floridian-style restaurant that focuses on fresh, quality seafood and smoked in-house barbecue - a winning combination for the whole family to enjoy! Robbi's Reef is located in a beautiful, 175 seat restaurant overlooking a small body of water & beautiful fountain with large windows to maximize the view. With plenty of private parking, a full indoor & outdoor bar, a fresh seafood market, lots of large fish tanks to entertain, and plenty of photos of locals with their "big catch" to peruse, kids and adults will enjoy the casual, relaxed atmosphere and the wonderful food!
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
83 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gulf fried shrimp”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Have eaten here several times and it's fairly consistent. The gulf fried shrimp was very good but a little skimpy on the sides. I had the beans and rice with fries. Both very good. The only bummer is that their menu is somewhat limited and they do not serve hush puppies. Other than that, a great place to eat.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sailor-man74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    265
    111
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mouthwatering”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a great dinner at Robbie's Reef.
The grilled Amberjack and grilled Snapper were delicious with a wonderful choice of sides.
Just looking at the outside of the restaurant (nestled in a small shopping area, on Rt. 41) one would never expect such a warm and inviting marine atmosphere.
The waitress and staff were friendly and the service was outstanding.
Robbie's Reef is well worth the visit. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ladhume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best fish taco's ....”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

What a find....Robbi's Reef is in a little strip mall that's easy to miss...but don't. The friendly atmosphere is only surpassed by the friendly service. The fish taco's were outstanding. The side of black beans and rice were so yummy!. I was so full but when Sydney our waitress asked if we would like a piece of the homemade key lime pie we couldn't resist and I'm glad we didn't. OMG it is by far the best key lime pie i've ever had. We will definitely be going back to try some other dishes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank moveebuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Robbi's place is great!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Robbi, the owner, works out front and her husband is in the kitchen. I usually get the fish tacos - always delicious. My husbands has the gumbo and smoked fish spread with a dark beer. We have had salads and burgers, too. And the fish and chips is incredible!

It is always crowded and is pretty loud. But everyone is friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
195 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Outstanding Neighborhood Restaurant”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We tried to eat at Robbie's Reef on Sunday but found out they are closed Sunday and Monday. Tuesday night we tried again and we're so glad we did. Every 5-start rating for this neighborhood restaurant is well-deserved. As we understand it, the fish tacos we ordered are their #1 dish. We also ordered the fried catfish dinner. I was raised on catfish from the Mississippi River, and Robbie's was the best catfish I've had in decades. With a light, pure flavor in a crispy batter, it was wonderful! We brought home half the catfish dinner and most of the black beans and rice served with the fish tacos, and--oh yes--a slice of key lime pie. The pie was the real deal: genuine, tangy key lime. My mouth is watering just remembering it!
Robbie's décor is all-out reef. It has more two-dimensional and three-dimensional sea critters than you can count. Photos, drawings, paintings, murals, stained glass, hanging from the ceiling, tangled in nets, swimming in aquariums, and fried, grill, or blackened on your plate, you have no doubt what this kitschy place serves.
We were lucky to have Robbie as our server. When we commented on how good our food was, she spoke knowingly of the superiority of fresh vs. frozen product and how changing the frying oil more frequently produced better fish. She was a delightful lady.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 88Tropicsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Robbi's Reef also viewed

 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Robbi's Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing