We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good Sonny's meal”
Review of Sonny’s BBQ

Sonny’s BBQ
Ranked #151 of 246 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We enjoy eating at Sonny's when we travel thoughout Florida. Our meal here was no exception. We enjoyed the salad bar, pulled pork sandwiches, and the "Sweet Carolina" pork sandwich. Everything was good but our server was exceptionally nice - I love being called "ma'am". :)

Thanks for another great BBQ dinner!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hillsborocane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

hillsborocane, thank you for the great review. We're glad to hear that you enjoy our Sweet Carolina pork sandwich and service from our team. We appreciate your support and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Sonny’s BBQ
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

I order two chicken dinners after along day at work, my husband said Sonny's sounds good we haven't eaten there in years, Know I know why, I paid 25.00 for two dinners that I had to throw away, the chicken was so dry my dog would not even eat it and the same with the potato, so I called to complain to the manager but he was not available, what a waste of money I almost feel sick, to think I could have order quality food like Outback or Bonefish. I will never go back again.....

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank poshonpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This place was fabulous and I wish we had some up North! Our server was awesome and I wish I could remember his name! I can't wait to come to Venice/Sarasota again so I can enjoy another dinner there. This was a great way to celebrate my birthday!

Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Jennifer B, thank you for the great review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our southern hospitality and BBQ for your birthday! We appreciate your support and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We arrived for dinner & ordered baby back ribs (around 5:30 pm).They ran out of baby back ribs (are you kidding me) Had St Louis ribs they were overcooked & dry. Left disgusted. On another note our server was great!

Thank penysfrmhvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Penysfrmhvn, thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that you were not able to enjoy our baby back ribs and did not enjoy our St. Louis ribs. Please let us help! Send us an email at Social@SonnysBBQ.com with these details, including the location, so that we can address these issues with our staff. We would appreciate your help and hope that you can give us another chance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We arrived shortly before 4 pm and made our choices from their lunch menu. The menu had many selections for our visit and the food was very good and the bonus of the visit was a nice senior discount.

Thank Bel1ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Jan S, thank you for your great review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our BBQ and took advantage of our lunch menu. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sonny’s BBQ also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sonny’s BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing