We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Butcher / Gourmet Suplies”
Review of Herman Meats

Herman Meats
Ranked #98 of 244 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Fast food
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Butcher / Gourmet Suplies”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We were sent to Herman Meats by the wine seller @ Venice Wine and Coffee Company. It was a bit off the beaten path, but well worth the search. There was an excellent selection of meats, the butcher was quite helpful, and, when we made our selection, trimmed the meat to our needs. We also stocked up on spices, soups, and Key lime pie. We came back a second time and had a similar experience. We felt as if we were in our local Manhattan butcher.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDOMJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    12
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Every day is good, Sat. is very good.”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We go to Hermans every time we are in Venice, app.3 to 4 weeks a year. The meats and pre made foods are very good. But, on Saturdays they grill hot dogs and brats on the grill, Excellent.
The only issue is that there is no place to sit and eat your food. You either eat standing up or in your car. Does the food make up for this inconvenience ? YES

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 98999Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this Place”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Everything is great! I'm hooked on the chicken salad. The owner and staff take pride in their store.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We discovered Herman's years ago. We would go for the Saturday grilled chicken, hot dogs & sausage at lunch time. We buy alot of our meats & salads here. Did I mention the unbelievable pies? Homemade & delicious! EVERYTHING we buy from here is de-lish! From the frozen section to the freshly made salads(chicken, coleslaw, tomato etc....) is great. Hermans is on my weekly shopping list!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FATS-Venice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best!”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We have been coming to Hermann's for decades. They have the best cold cuts and excellent soups and premade meals. The meat selection is fabulous. On Saturdays they have a big grill outside where they cook brats, hotdogs and chicken - very fun. The desserts are delicious. This is not a restaurant so there is no place to sit and eat but we make the trip every Saturday for a brat and to load up on the frozen prepared food and cucumber salad and 3 bean salad.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CLK1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Herman Meats also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Herman Meats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing