We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oddest Motel In Venice” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunshine Motel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, Florikda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oddest Motel In Venice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Oza Inn makes the Bates Motel look like a Holiday Inn Express! There is a flashing neon sign on the outside that says "Open" yet there are prison-like gates that are closed and padlocked all the time. There are usually two cars in the parking lot, and those two same cars have been there for weeks and weeks. There are rarely any other cars in the motel's parking lot. This is one of the strangest places I have ever seen. Is the motel open or not? It certainly is not welcoming to the general public.Either it is motel or it is a cover for something else.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pscottn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    49
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
57
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Yes, the place was immaculately clean and the staff are lovely....but: It needs just a few things to make the stay more pleasurable. It is a 1950's style motel - which I used to stay in and loved. But here are the things that need to be addressed to make it more convenient: no place to blow dry your hair. No electrical outlet near a mirror. Fortunately I had a hand mirror so I rigged something up in the bedroom. The bed was hard and some buttons or tuffing keep poking me in the hips all night. Maybe a few bottled waters - the tap water in most of coastal Florida is undrinkable. There was no soap in the bathroom - well, I just didn't have any with me on the trip. There were other small things that could aid the weary traveler and make things more convenient.
Yes, the economy is terrible and everyone needs to save money but many convenience items cost little money.
My suggestion: have the owners spend a night in one of the units. It will be come crystal clear what need to be done.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marti408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Me and my wife were traveling from NC to Miami and stopped in Venice. We drove past Oza Inn on our way to Bonefish. We thought the motel was closed because gates were closed only one side open. While eating dinner outside my wife noticed someone outside the motel gates and she insisted we stop by, we are happy and glad we did. Danny is a fantastic employee there. He explained everything so well showed us a few rooms and room after room me and my wife were amazed at how clean the rooms were, we decided to stay a night. After making a reservation, Danny walks you out to your room and shows your everything and even turns on the tv and lights to make sure everything is perfect! I'm not sure if he is part of the family who owns the motel but shows good care for it. Once unpacked Danny even brought ice in packages for us. Definitely a delightful man. The room was great. Again supper clean! Beds were ok not soft but not really hard. Bathroom needs an update although very clean. Shower curtain looked too big for the stand up shower! I'd come back again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlottenc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunnellon, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Basically antiseptic. The full name of this hotel is Oza Inn...pet free...smoke free. and so the restrictions begin. The rooms are spare. The beds are unbelievably hard. There are restrictions posted all over , inside And out. The bright spot was Danny, the all around guy on the desk. he was so gracious, and made our stay very pleasant

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank staceybraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights just before the Fourth of July and will totally be back. Very clean and more than accommodating staff. Best value especially with great breakfast included!! Stay here when you're in Venice!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Port Richey, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This place is an older hotel that has been renovated and lovingly cared for by a very caring accommodating staff. Rooms are fully stocked with dishes, linens, silverware, stove and small fridge. These rooms would be great the family or the professional on an extended stay. Visit this place if you never get the chance.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Peter, the manager, provides a great diversity of breakfast selections, ranging from unusual coffee mixtures to cereals, rolls, yogurt and other yummy items. The property is well maintained and tastefully decorated. For instance, potted flowers and blooming plants are located throughout the property.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
2.2 mi away
Ramada Venice Hotel Venezia
1.4 mi away
Island Sun Inn
Island Sun Inn
#8 of 13 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bayside Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ambassador Suites Venice
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Motel

Property: Sunshine Motel
Address: 1602 Tamiami Trl S, Venice, FL 34293-1633 (Formerly Oza Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunshine Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUNSHINE MOTEL is newly renovated motel featuring European style decor with immaculate, quiet guestrooms and suites. Enjoy our heated pool, WI-FI, HD/TV and gazebo areas. SUNSHINE MOTEL is proud to serve our customers across all cultures. We pledge to serve our customers with respect, honesty and our main purpose is to create a warm and relaxing atmosphere where you will relax and enjoy your stay. SUNSHINE MOTEL is located just 7 minute's drive from popular Venice beaches Caspersen beach the longest beach in Sarasota County. Venice Municipal beach is excellent place to find sharks teeth and other fossilized material and attracts divers to its coral reef about one quarter mile offshore. Sharky's On the Pier Restaurant is a Venice landmark located just 5 minute's drive from SUNSHINE MOTEL. Warm Springs in North Port are located just 15 minute's drive from SUNSHINE MOTEL. SUNSHINE MOTEL IS PET AND SMOKE FREE ENTITY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sunshine Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Motel Venice, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing