We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was slow but food is good”

Burgundy Square Cafe
Ranked #28 of 244 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Venice, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Service was slow but food is good”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We had dinner here with a group of friends prior to seeing Rich Little at the Venice Theater. Our group was 12 in size and they took a reservation for us and had the tables ready for us upon arrival. The service seemed a little slow but the food was good. Prices are reasonable and they have a big menu.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    94
    46
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was a year ago”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Good food, but very slow service - restaurant was not busy. We ate at Burgundy Square a year ago (last visit to Venice) we thought it was great! Not so good this time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank originals6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLEWOOD
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“How Long do you wait, until you leave?”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stood in line and watched as the one "manager" bussed and reset a number of tables, but the line only crept along. The guy in front of me was totally burned about the wait and our final straw was a single man taking a table for four. Finally, after more than 20 minutes, when it became obvious that the wait would be another 15-20 minutes, we left.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglewoodDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Port, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Love the ambiance and the food. Very good service, and the owner comes around and talks with you.
If you like a big. Breakfast come here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BernieL143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Fried Clams”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Enjoyed this restaurant Friday evening. Heard about the Fried Clams from clients, most of them from New England. We miss the whole belly clams. My husband and I ordered the clam basket. It came with fries, but I ordered a salad instead.......which was $ 1 more........the salad, ok, not anything special, but that is ok! The clams were a treat, we do not indulge in fried food very often, so we were happy they were great, well prepared, and glad we tried them! The service was excellent, the manager also checked in twice to see how we enjoyed everything. The restaurant is clean and the food good. The atmosphere is not really anything special, but the service was ! The food very good! Will return when I need a fried clam fix! There were people nearby that ordered the fish and chips (haddock!) I will try that next time. It looked wonderful and haddock is hard to find here in Florida. So we look forward to a return here in the future! We have also enjoyed breakfast here on several occasions, and it was also very good. Perhaps a better breakfast place than dinner........only because the ambience is not really special, but the food is! Thank you to Burgundy Square!! We enjoyed it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caspersengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burgundy Square Cafe also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Burgundy Square Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing