We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was great until last night when I woke up and saw a bed bug on me.”
Review of Motel 6 Venice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Venice
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Same as title. I am leaving a day early.My poor wife and I had the pleasure of waking up in room 121 to bed bugs crawling on us. Now we are leaving going home early my wife and I are wondering how many of the pest we took with us!!! There were also two couples arguing drunk at the pool Friday night when we came in. My wife took three days of work off without pay to go share some quality time together. And we get bedbugs and oh our toilet began leaking too along with barely any water pressure in our shower. Bad stay to say the least.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jimchristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

The hotel itself is a little less desireable and could really use an upgrade, like; flat screen tv's new bed linen/comforters, carpet, etc. BUT because the staff is absolutely AMAZING I could not give them anything other then a GREAT review. These people went above and beyond to make sure you were happy and everything was as great as it could be with what they have to offer. Thank you to everyone who worked there, the relief manager who was working that property during our stay was FABULOUS!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We have stayed at this motel for the past two weeks, have vacationed here the past 4 years. Very affordable for this area. As soon a we checked in and went to our room, we received a call from the manager asking if the room was ok or if we needed anything, or if we did to please call the office and they would send it to us. This is a very pet friendly place it seems all employees have dog treats on them. Taking your dog for a walk is a pleasure here. The room is smaller the only negative thing about this place. The pool is exceptiunaly well taken care of. Housekeeping does an exceptiinal job at keeping the room clean. Maintenance does an outstanding job on the outside, considering the age of the property. i have been told this motel is about to get a total renovation. We can't wait to return next year. I have stayed at many upscale hotels on business in the past, and they could take lessons from this staff.

Room Tip: We enjoy the pool side of the motel, have stayed in the front this year, just hear a little noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jeffery P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights, the room was designated non-smoking. We could tell that by the ashtray that was turned over which had a no smoking decal! The annoying leftover smoke odor was faint and really wasn't a problem as we were only in the room to sleep and bath. Overall, the room was very clean and the location was very convenient to the center of Venice and the beaches as long as you had a car.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Leftylouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed here as most places were expensive or sold out on night I was looking for hotel. This hotel is basic but had no problems with noise or location. It was a good deal and front desk was friendly. They should supply playpen or cribs for babies though.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

we checked into the motel 6 venice this past weekend for a close by getaway I had mixed emotions because of all the negative reviews but what we found out was there were no potholes in the parking lot but there was one on the entrance rd yes the rooms were tiny even by motel 6 standards we had asked for a non smoking room but wound up with a smoking room on the first floor but the smoke smell was very minor and taken care of with fabreeze the room was tiny and basic 2 queen beds that showed there age and sagged a little but not bad we slept good the bath room was decent sized and very clean the shower was a circular shower not spacious but manageable and im a big guy they had the basic motel 6 style furniture a combo desk chair which held the 19 inch old school motel 6 tv but the tv worked well and had many channels including hbo and espn but the big plus was the heated pool which felt like a big bathtub very comfortable although it showed its age probably need to be resurfaced cosmetically but the heated pool was very welcome as it can be very hard to find an affordable hotel and that allows pets especially in this area of florida in the spring its the only motel 6 with a heated pool in florida I think and first motel 6 ive stayed at in many years with a heated pool the area around the hotel seems to be safe I did not see any bums or vagrants or other undesirables hanging around there is a combo liquor/conveniance store/carwash and a pizza hut next door and several fast food places and a supermarket within 3 blocks its only about 3 miles or so to venice beach areas with free parking so to sum it up its basic and affordable not fancy if your expecting the Hilton or Marriott you probably will be disappointed but for 68.39 a night on a spring weekend in venice its a good deal for example the cheapest other chain hotel in the area was the ramada for 169.95 plus tax so if you can afford the Marriott or ritz carlton go for it if your looking for a basic affordable pet friendly option in venice its motel 6

Room Tip: it seems like most non smoking rooms are on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigmikeydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We spend a couple weeks in Venice every winter working. We have stayed at this motel for years. It has gone steadily, steadily downhill - though I can tell they have done some cosmetic stuff (paint, a bit of landscaping). Housekeepers and front desk folks (and the manager who is there training the staff) are great - hardworking, courteous, and busy all the time. But the property itself is disgraceful. The floors (carpet, I am sorry to say) should get the place shut down by the health department. Venice is a very popular tourist spot; spend some money and remodel this place and for heaven's sake get RID OF THAT DISGUSTING CARPET! And get some decent sized TV's.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cobwebs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Owner at Motel 6 Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Cobwebs11,

Thank you for sharing your review. We apologize for the unpleasant stay you had as a result of the carpet cleanliness and television condition issues you experienced. These conditions are not consistent with Motel 6 standards for quality, and we encourage you to contact our Guest Relations Department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide our guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Venice Hotel Venezia
2.0 mi away
Sunshine Motel
Sunshine Motel
#6 of 13 in Venice
178 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Ambassador Suites Venice
1.1 mi away
Island Sun Inn
Island Sun Inn
#8 of 13 in Venice
157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bayside Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Venice

Address: 281 Venice Bypass North, I-75S at Exit #36, I-75N at Exit #35, Venice, FL 34292
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Venice
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £48 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Venice 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Venice FL is conveniently located near shopping and dining. Visit the public beach just 2 miles away. Relax in our outdoor heated pool, enjoy our coin laundry facility and enjoy WiFi, available in all modern guest rooms for $2.99 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel 6 Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Venice Hotel Venice
Motel Six Venice
Venice Motel Six
Venice Motel 6
Motel 6 Venice Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing