We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy lunch”
Review of Blu' Island Bistro

Blu' Island Bistro
Ranked #6 of 244 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$33
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A local hot spot where everyone knows your name! Chef/Owner Alan Laskowski, Culinary Institute of America Alumunus delivers a gourmet twist on everyday favorites. Chef Alan won the local Iron Chef, Best of Philadelphia, People's Choice Award and many more. From meat lovers to vegetarians, and the gluten free, we have something for everyone. Comfortable and chic, just a few blocks away from the beautiful gulf of mexico. Located conveniently on the Island of Venice, one block south of Venice Hospital, attached to the Island Sun Inn Hotel. Breakfast/Lunch 6 days with breakfast all day that give the word creative all new meaning. Restaurant, Private Parties, Catering, Private Party Room.
Venice, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Yummy lunch”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We were here for a late lunch on Sat. Aug 16. The service was quick and friendly. The Blu Salad contained numbers kinds of fruit and a wonderful dressing. My hubby had the Cuban panini, which was equally delicious. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tajmahowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan l, Owner at Blu' Island Bistro, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
tajmahowl,

cute name! I am so glad you enjoyed your visit with us, and we truly appreciate you taking the time to write us a review! We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks again,
Chef/Owner Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    778
    205
    45
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best meals in Venice”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I've only been in Venice for 4 days, but I've eaten here twice - it's that good. I've had the Blu Salad, which is delicious. It's hard to find a good salad here (or anywhere) but this is a keeper - great fresh fruit, great greens. The other day I had the mushroom omelet, which was also delicious. Friends ordered the grouper sandwich, and it's great too. I'd have eaten the hummus plate as an entree - so nice that it wasn't drowning in olive oil. The bargain is the pitcher of sangria - which comes with that same fabulous premium fruit as the salad. Normally restaurant fruit cups are filler melons that have no flavor, but not here. Its big sweet blueberries, fat blackberries, tasty strawberries, oranges, grapefruits, etc. I'll be here another 5 days, and I'm hoping to get to eat here at least 3 more times - it's head and shoulders above everywhere else we've eaten in Venice. Ambiance is good outside - it's dog friendly on the patio, and the service is warm and friendly without being smothering. YUM!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank piccolascimmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan l, Owner at Blu' Island Bistro, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Piccolascimmia,

Wow! What a review, and pics too! Thank you so much, not only for choosing us, but also for taking the time to write us a review. So pleased you were happy with the service too-that is very important to us! Please say hello next time you are in!

Thanks again,
Chef/owner Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A nice Slow Brunch”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Went here based on Trip advisor reviews and was not disappointed. Sunday Lunch was the order of the day and we have a variety of choices from the lunch menu. All the food was perfect and the onion strings are to die for. Great fries with the Burger according to the boy and home made soup plus a desert was perfect for the daughter.

As other reviews said this is not the fastest of venues but am sure that if we had said we needed a step on then that could have been accomplished by the very helpful staff. So go when you are not in a rush and am sure you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan l, Owner at Blu' Island Bistro, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dean,

Thanks so much for trying us out, I am pleased you enjoyed your lunch with your family!

We are not fast food by any means, everything is made to order, thus taking a bit more time.

I truly appreciate your business, and we hope to see you again.

Chef/Owner Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So good we went twice”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

food is fresh, fresh,fresh. Breakfast and lunch with a real chef's touch. Had fish tacos, banana pancakes, egg bacon and fried green tomato sandwich and eggs Benedict. Every dish was excellent. So many things on the menu we would like to try. Service was excellent also.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Elbereth56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan l, Owner at Blu' Island Bistro, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Elbereth56,

Thank you so much! I am so pleased you enjoyed everything, including the service. Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review. Please say hello next time you are in!

Chef/Owner Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Venice”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Cuisine you would expect in a big city with the local charm of our quaint little town! Just minutes from the beach, stop by for breakfast or lunch on your way to the sand! Simple meals to catered parties, Chef Alan and Kim give it their all. Nice people who give back to the community ... go enjoy a meal with them today! Leave room for dessert ;)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan l, Owner at Blu' Island Bistro, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Mary D.,

Thanks so much for dining with us, we truly appreciate your business! Thanks for the great compliments and taking the time to write us a review. We hope to see you soon!

Chef/Owner Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blu' Island Bistro also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Blu' Island Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing