We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Value, Friendly Staff & Great Location”
Review of Island Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Sun Inn
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Older 1-story motel but over-all a REAL bargain. Much lower room rates than most other Venice area motels, particularly those adjacent to the beaches.

Great location; only 7/10th mile South of (Historic) Venice Avenue. 1.9 miles from from Beach. Short walk to Venice Regional Medical Hospital.

Exceptionally quiet after dusk.

Our room was very clean. The staff exceedingly friendly and helpful. Rooms have back door access to very large (lushly landscaped) courtyard and large - crystal clear - pool.

The wonderful "Blu Island Bistro" restaurant is on the premises = wonderful breakfasts. We ate breakfast there 5 mornings. Probably wonderful also for lunch and dinner, but we decided to try other Venice restaurants that were "new" to us.

All rooms have small refrigerator and microwave. Cable TV has over 100 channels. Guest laundry on the premises. One bedroom suites with full kitchen are available.

(941) 488-4417.

Booking online is available at: www.IslandBreezeInn.com

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N1TP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandbreezeinn, Manager at Island Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the kind words about the changes we have made to the property thus far. We have nearly completed our first full room renovation and we hope to have pictures posted as soon as next week. We appreciate you including our contact information with your review. However, that contact information is actually for our sister location. The contact information for this location as shown at the top of the page is:

Island Sun Inn
(941)484-9559
info@islandsuninn.com

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

When we pulled up, I asked my husband if he wanted to cancel our reservation. The outside is run down and scary looking! Inside smelled good and was charming. No hair dryer, but the pool area was clean and the pool itself was cleaner than some big name hotel chains we've stayed at. It's a cute place inside but for the $70, I'd rather stay at a different hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the office and pool feel "safer" then the ones in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LorieAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed here the second week of April 20th thru 23rd, in room 110, for 3 nights. King size bed, fridge, microwave. We were there looking at homes. People were nice in the office. Pool was nice. Room was roomy, but we would get out of the shower and walking from the bathroom to our bed our feet would be black with dirt! Ewww. The motel is build around the pool, as in a garden style. They do have housekeeping but she never showed up the second day. We didnt say anything. Not sure why..the pool is a nice area, with barbques. The liitle bestro attached in the front of the building was good though. I would not stay here again, just because of the floors. Bathroom was very run down too, but old florida, so we wont complain about that. Just the carpet should be pulled out and maybe tile put in. Price was ok. Would have spent a few extra bucks for clean floors.

Room Tip: Take your slippers! Don't wear white sock either!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sandnsunMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandbreezeinn, Manager at Island Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We understand that the carpeting needs to be removed and we are currently in the process of renovating the entire property. We took over the hotel in August of last year and renovations have been ongoing since that time. The courtyard area and the bistro were the first things to be done and as you mentioned, those areas are very nice. We are just now completing our first rooms and hope to have those available shortly. We will continue to do everything we can to keep the the rooms up to our standards until the renovations are complete and we hope that you will give us a second chance in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The new owner of the property is doing a great job with an older property. The rooms were confortable, and clean. The young ladies who cleaned the room did an excellent job. The onsite restaurant "Blu" served great breakfasts and lunches! The inner outdoor courtyard was very nice including tables, chairs, and unbrellas to sit in the sun and enjoy the beautiful Florida weather. The pool was great as well. I would recommend staying there if you are looking for a moderate to inexpensive place to stay.

Room Tip: They have several grills in the outdoor courtyard which guest can use. If you are travelling with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmharrity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This reminded me of the motels we used to stay in back in the 70's. Small one story motel with all rooms opening onto a courtyard and pool area. The rooms were comfortable but did not have phones so be sure to have your cell phones with you. The staff was very helpful and friendly and there was a computer in the lobby that the guests can use. The Blu' Island Bistro is right next to the hotel and offers wonderful food - breakfasts are especially good. As this is an older motel, don't expect rooms to be like a Hyatt or Mariott, but they served our needs well. The motel is about 10 minutes by car from the beaches and even less to downtown (shopping area) Venice .

Room Tip: all rooms open on to the courtyard. The rooms in the rear are probably quieter than those in on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeatherDublinOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a week in Sept. We enjoyed everything, from the large pool, to the clean large room and the very friendly staff. You can walk anywhere, stores, restraurants, and the walking/bike trail next to the intercoastal is right behind the motel. The courtyard is fantastic, enclosed, only guests can walk in or out. The price was right also. We will return... C. & J. Ryan,N.Y.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ingo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
1.2 mi away
Ramada Venice Hotel Venezia
1.5 mi away
Sunshine Motel
Sunshine Motel
#6 of 13 in Venice
184 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bayside Venice
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ambassador Suites Venice
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Sun Inn

Address: 625 Tamiami Trl S, Venice, FL 34285-3237
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Venice
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £48 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Sun Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Island Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Sun Hotel Venice
The Veranda Hotel
Veranda Hotel Venice
Island Sun Inn Venice, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing