We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Island Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Sun Inn
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Have stayed here a couple times. Always clean and conveniently located. Pool area is awesome. Staff is very friendly. AC was a little annoying at night, rather noisy but cooled well. Look forward to next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank draginmom .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Island Sun Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Nice clean motel..clean rooms, comfortable beds..The AC unit is a little annoying as it is noisy at night when you are sleeping, but is does keep the room nice and cool to cold whatever you want. They have upgraded this motel and have painted and renovated the rooms as well. Nice pool area too. Nice to have a small fridge and a microwave also there are two washers and dryers (pricey at 1.75 per load I think) but convenient there are also two dryers, both do a good job. We have been coming here for the last 6 yrs. We come here when we just want a get-a-way weekend and go to the beach and to Sharky's on the beach " great place for a little food and liquid libation as well. I do think there should be a discount for returning patrons even if it is only $20 dollars off your room cost. Overall it is a good place to stay and be close to main street Venice and about 20 min to Siesta Key

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed for two weeks with family at this charming motel. At various times we had up to four rooms. All the rooms have been refurbished and are very clean and comfortable. The beds are all new and all the rooms had new flat screen TVs. One of the rooms had a complete kitchen we could use for the whole family. The center court is private and nicely landscaped and includes a pool with ample sun chairs, a Ping pong table and grills for customer use. The general manager and staff are very efficient and friendly. The housekeeping staff took very good care of all of us. There is a very good restaurant on the premises open for breakfast and lunch every day and dinner on Friday and Saturday. It is only a short drive to the gulf beaches.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We've stayed here for 3 consecutive years. This hotel could use some work on the outside, but is "quaint" as my boyfriend puts it and is very close to the race staging area and the beach. Recently remodeled rooms are cleaner and nicer as well. The hotel bistro has excellent food and service. The only negative we have is that the price seems to go up a little each year.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allready_gone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The place has been renovated and we stayed in one that was recently done. The general manager was very pleasant. The lobby has a computer for guests.
PROS; The floors were spotless and so nice and shiny, NO ugly carpets here. Our room was
very clean. Wonderful bed, small fridge & micro. New TV. They kept the old tiles and tub
but replaced the vanity, mirror & light fixture. The grounds are lovely and there is a
heated pool 80 degrees. Nice french doors that lead to the garden area and there are
chairs right outside the doors.
CONS: The parking lot needs paving. When you pull up to the front door of your room you will
be disappointed but once inside, you will forget it. There is no curb appeal but the place is
being constantly fixed up.
NO phones, so bring your mobile, the WIFI is very spotty too.

Room Tip: Ask for a freshly renovated room. Do try the restaurant Blu Island Bistro that is on the property an...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verjim28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Was disappointed with the exterior, needed paint and maintenance. Parking lot was small and hard to drive through. The room had no carpeting, just a vinyl type tile.The highlight was the very nice courtyard that the french doors opened onto. The worst part was how noisy it was. We could hear the couple in the next room who stayed up talking half the night. You could also hear everyone who walked by in front of the room or in the courtyard.Got very little sleep. We had booked three nights, but only stayed one.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This Motel is a great little place close to Venice Beach. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and have just been updated. They are still finishing the remodeling in part of the hotel, but you would never even have known any construction was going on. The pool area is great and the pool is really clean. They also have grills for your use in the cute courtyard and even supply the charcoal. A very relaxing trip! Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michele b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Property Manager Office at Island Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for your input as we always want to do our best to make our customers happy and exceed their expectations. Your input is much appreciated as we strive to deliver the best guest experience. We recently renovated all of the rooms with restored terrazzo floors, new furnishings, bathroom fixtures and flat screen TVs. Additionally, we redesigned our courtyard BBQ area and re-trained our staff to give our guests the best experience possible. We sincerely hope you visit us again to experience the island casual environment we have created in this little gem near Venice Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Venice
1.2 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
1,265 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Venice Hotel Venezia
1.5 mi away
Sunshine Motel
Sunshine Motel
#5 of 13 in Venice
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bayside Venice
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ambassador Suites Venice
3.0 mi away
A Beach Retreat on Casey Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Sun Inn

Address: 625 Tamiami Trl S, Venice, FL 34285-3237
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Venice
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £46 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Sun Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Island Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Sun Hotel Venice
The Veranda Hotel
Veranda Hotel Venice
Island Sun Inn Venice, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing