We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biking to Breakfast”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bud's Restaurant & Barbara's Too!
Ranked #161 of 244 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Venice, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Biking to Breakfast”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We try new restaurants each week via our bikes. Four of us rode here to find it filled to capacity. Many regulars seemed to fill the seats and we needed to wait for a table...it's quite small. But clearly the regulars are on to something. The waitress was hustling to give prompt service; the choices were great and VERY reasonable. I tried the special, Florentine Benedict--delicious with a sauce that wasn't too rich; I also liked that they have half orders. We all decided this should be on our "regular" bike route!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nokomis, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food was good - sadly... cleanliness was questionable”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is a little tiny restaurant that has obviously "been here forever" - likely serving locals and people who work in the area. Our omelets (chosen from a fairly large selection - which also included "make-your-own" options) were simple and good; the portions were "sufficient" but certainly not unnecessarily huge (as with many of today's restaurants!); prices were almost ridiculously low. Our issue was the questionable cleanliness. The restaurant could definitely use a good scrubbing and some new paint would do wonders. but our biggest issue was an "unfortunate oversight" which we could not put out of our minds. My husband asked for some sour cream. It was delivered in a little plastic container with a lid. The problem - the container was nestled inside another plastic container which had obviously been used before - and appeared to have contained applesauce! YUCK! And equally upsetting and "unforgettable... when we showed the waitress she merely said "Well, how did that happen?" She never even offered an apology!!!! Will we go back - probably not.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobetteMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good place for breakfast. Real food.”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I go here for breakfast on a couple times a week. It's always good. It's a small place with about a dozen tables and a counter. Old fashion diner food. Made to order.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cvb339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingmans Ferry, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a find for breakfast or lunch!!!!”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Small, charming breakfast lunch place...Excellent eggs, omelets, coffee...and prices reminiscent of many years ago. Very affordable. Incredible value and quality. Stopped by for breakfast many times, lunch once...had their turkey (on Weds) incredible dinner...soup/salad, bread, turkey, stuffing, potatoes, vegetable, cranberry sauce...all for $7.50. Fresh turkey made that day. Breakfasts are always incredible...but, lunch is too...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great little bfk and lunch spot”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We were getting our car repaired while traveling through. We looked at Bud's and decided to do further down the shopping center. That place was closed do we we t back to Bud's. Homey atmosphere with very clean rest rooms. You can get bfk at any time.
The omelets were great at very good prices. Definitely a good stop. We will be back when we are in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bud's Restaurant & Barbara's Too! also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bud's Restaurant & Barbara's Too!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing