We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice menu and atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crow's Nest Marina Restaurant & Tavern

Crow's Nest Marina Restaurant & Tavern
Ranked #11 of 240 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, View
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Venice's Waterfront Landmark since 1976. We focus on fresh, creatively-prepared seafood, hand-cut steaks and chops and our award-winning wine list of over 1200 selections. Serving lunch and dinner Monday-Saturday. Sunday Brunch 10am-2pm. Tavern open everyday, all day with casual menu.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
177 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very nice menu and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a very good place to eat or hang out. The menu is varied and most everything is good. Although not directly on the water it sits just across a small drive from the water and has a excellent view. Dining upstairs and bar with dining downstairs. Worth the stop.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    790
    483
    168
    64
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
244 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere and excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our friend who owns a 44' catamaran, docked by the Crow's Nest because of their past experiences at the restaurant. We weren't disappointed with his selection. We shared two bottles of excellent Bella Glos Pinot Noir, a great complement to expertly prepared cuisine. All of our dishes were good, but the Seafood Pot Pie was really a crowd pleaser and the Petite Tournedos were really flavorful and nicely cooked. Moreover, the service was really excellent. Our table overlooked the waterway and we very much enjoyed the spirited atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood Ranch
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Newly Remodeled but the Same Very Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Since we live about 30 miles away, The Crow's Nest is not a regular destination restaurant for us. However, for the past four years we have gone here with another couple for dinner and the the 4th of July fireworks show that is put on by the town of Venice. When we arrived we were amazed by what we found. The outside deck area has been expanded and provides a much improved view of the July 4th fireworks, but more importantly a much more expansive and attractive view of the bay. In addition, the main dining room area has been given much larger ceiling to almost floor windows so that no matter where you sit in the restaurant you have a terrific view of the bay, the jetty and the boat and people traffic. What an improvement!!

Now since we came to the Crow's Nest to dine in addition to watching the fireworks, I'm happy to report that the food is still very good as others have reported. While there was a limited menu as this was special event dining for the 4th, a fixed price menu was available at $45 per person for a four course dinner: appetizer, salad, main course and dessert. All four of us had the shrimp cocktail as our appetizer and a nice fresh salad. My wife and I had the fried soft shell crabs, which were fresh and excellent. Being from Maryland originally, we know what fresh soft shell crabs and crab cakes should taste like and these were the real thing. Our friends both had the large lobster tails which were freed from the shell so that no shell-cracking was needed. These were served with drawn butter for dipping and they both enjoyed them very much. For desserts two of us chose tiramisu and two others the mixed berry cobbler. I'm not a big dessert fancier, but these were both good and freshly made.

Our service was excellent with Cathy and Ryan doing a great job of making sure that we were taken care of even though the restaurant was jam-packed.

While I would not call the Crow's Nest a "gourmet restaurant" the meals that they serve - with an emphasis on sea food - are all done very well. With the new remodeling that has been done, the combination of very good, well prepared food with excellent service and a great view are hard to beat. So I would very much recommend a dinner here year-round in the evening so you can watch the sunset through the spacious windows or from the porch .

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank georgehoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal and a wonderful time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had an extended family meal here last evening for a family celebration. The service was great, and the food was amazing, as usual! The grouper Key Largo was absolutelywonderful! Plenty of fish, fresh and hot, along with scallops, lobster and shrimp. My wife had the salmon, which was excellently broiled and served very hot. Another person had the fish pot pie, which came steaming hot to the table AND stayed steaming hot throughout the meal. Portions were abundant for everyperson in our group. We also appreciated the fact that the manager came to each table and introduced himself and inquired about our food and service.

Earlier is better at this busy restaurant! It gets busy very quickly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aldenp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Grouper Key Largo is phenomenal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Consistently delicious with outstanding service. Have had several different appetizers and entrees and have never been disappointed.
Sunsets are awesome.
Chris the host is a consummate professional and an outstanding asset

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockystheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crow's Nest Marina Restaurant & Tavern also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Crow's Nest Marina Restaurant & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing