We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will go back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gold Rush BBQ

Gold Rush BBQ
Ranked #9 of 240 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$22
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Gold Rush BBQ is a family own and operated restaurant located in Venice Florida for 15 years. Each year we have been voted best BBQ in Venice. We offer Ribs, Chicken, Steak, Sandwiches and Fresh Seafood. Dine in , Carry out and catering is available. Hope to see you soon !
Bethlehem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“We will go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Just a few words to say that this place is yummy. The baby back ribs are mouthwatering. The service is fast. The beers are 99 cents if you drink beer and the staff there is attentive. The key lime pie is in the running. Also it is within our budget.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank danab38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    238
    53
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The tumbleweeds are delicious!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We went to Gold rush on a recommendation by someone who raved about the tumbleweeds, very thinly sliced homemade onion rings. They were so good, dipped in honey mustard. That was the best part of our meal though. The ribs weren't tender. I have had much better in Venice. We won't be returning for anything other than the tumbleweeds and corn bread which was really good. The service was good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne Marie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
232 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Typical and good BBQ joint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is a big restaurant and is a typical but very good BBQ joint. One doesn't go there for healthy food but rather for extremely tasty food. The ribs are to die for and so tender, the meat falls off the bone. You could probably 'gum' it. No utensils needed. Come as you are and enjoy the raucous crowd and fried, southern cooking. Service can be a bit screwy and slow, but It's all about the FLAVOR! You can make reservations for groups of six but the restaurant doesn't appear to have a table that seats more than six. We went twice and everyone left happy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lsihrofhhisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rush Here Imediately”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Whether it be chicken, pork, or brisket, it won't disappoint! It's a must have for anyone interested in a good bbq.

Helpful?
Thank Dylan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker, Minnesota
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“just plain outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

BBQ is a very subjective meal but, for my tastes, this was probably the best Carolina-style BBQ I've ever had. Service was prompt, pleasant and answered our questions well. BBQ was great and did not appear re-heated like so many places. Cornbread, cucumber salad and beans were all very good. If you love BBQ, this is a gem.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank northernRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gold Rush BBQ also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gold Rush BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing