We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find I'm glad we didn't give up!!!!”
Review of Cormick's

Cormick's
Ranked #152 of 243 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: American, Soups, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hard to find I'm glad we didn't give up!!!!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a hard time finding Cormick's so when you try to find it look for 200 Hamilton Square near Barclay Pharmacy. Jim makes you feel welcome the moment you step into his restaurant. He's a one man show so if you have the time it's well worth the wait. Great smoke turkey sandwich with roasted potatoes that are seasoned perfectly. All homemade pastries and rolls. I can't wait for cooler weather so I can try his homemade soups!!!!!! We plan on making this a weekly stop. We've been twice since we found where it was. Hours are Tues- Fri. 8:30-5:00. CASH ONLY!! Cormick's will be CLOSED for the month of SEPTEMBER!!! Real Gem for Venice!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic fresh food and great service.”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My family from England ate lunch at Cormick's based on the Tripadvisor reviews I had read whilst on holiday here in Florida. Our order of sandwiches and a cheese burger was freshly prepared and each were served with home roasted potatoes (for UK people - think of rustic style crunchy potato wedges - yum!) and a pickle spear. Jim was the running the show all by himself (sampling us some of his pastrami with onion jam and his turkey, taking the orders, preparing the food from fresh and serving) and yet he managed to give great friendly service. Jim never stopped working but always had a smile. We all loved the food and ordered some of his bakery desserts to go - just eaten and delicious. Cormick's is definitely worth a visit and worth the short wait for such freshly prepared great food - the perfect antidote to 'fast food'. Good value too - a fresh lunch, drink and dessert for around $10.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice Fl
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Super lunch...a sleeper in Venice”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Jim, the owner was working his tail off. He is a 1 man show....but didn't rush...went at a steady pace...made sure all orders were right.All tables were full. Decided on take out...Homemade everything...smoked pastrami...GREAT...chicken salad awesome. Definitely would try this one for lunch if in Venice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank flwildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food in Venice”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

What a great restaurant! Fresh made breads & pastries, delicious meats, and friendly service. Stopped by for lunch and what a pleasant surprise. In a world of average food and often poor service, Cormick's is a real visit to a restaurant with quality food and great service. Will definitely return when in the Venice area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little cafe!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We tried this place based on other trip advisor reviews. This place did not disappoint! The owner is friendly and makes everything from scratch. Delicious and friendly on your wallet. Lovely little cafe to stop in for breakfast or lunch. Or both!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandyhurtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cormick's also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cormick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing