We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price”
Review of Island Breeze Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Breeze Inn
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My husband & I stayed there a couple of years ago. We like the same Mom & Pop type places. They are usually priced for what you get. A small, clean place to sleep. WOW! I couldn't believe the prices -- It has more than doubled. If I am going to pay $100 plus per night -- I will add a little more and be on the water. At least have a room I feel like it's worth the price.
I am VERY disappointed. Have been looking forward to spending our anniversay there next week.

sad from Lakeland

Room Tip: The rating is from a couple of years ago. We will not be there to rate it now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RobinH170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

Room was tiny, no place to put a suitcase, no coffee maker, no chest of drawers, no place to put clothes, shower wouldn't drain, ice maker (by the office) was full of water, not ice.

Never again......

Room Tip: Avoid this place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BMWZ404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Manager at Island Breeze Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your input as we always want to do our best to make our customers happy and exceed their expectations. We recently refreshed all of the rooms with new furnishings, blinds and showers. Additionally, we have painted our buildings and re-trained our staff to give our guests the best experience possible. In boutique style, each room has a slightly different configuration and accommodations. We are happy to take requests for specific accommodation requests, if available, and luggage racks are available upon request. We sincerely hope you visit us again to experience the fresh and charming environment we have created in this little gem near downtown Venice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We have stayed here for years, it is quiet, safe, friendly and homey, it is not modern, fancy or snobby. If you want a 1950's experience you will love this place, if you want the Hilton then go there and pay those prices :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Manager at Island Breeze Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your input as we always want to do our best to make our customers happy and exceed their expectations. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We recently refreshed all of the rooms with new furnishings, blinds and showers and we are happy it fit your needs and was to your liking. Additionally, we have painted our buildings and re-trained our staff to give our guests the best experience possible. We will be upgrading our linens soon so your experience will get even better! We sincerely hope you visit us again to experience the fresh and charming environment we have created in this little gem near downtown Venice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Just spent 2 nights here on business.Overpriced! The hotel is right off US41 3 blocks from 'downtown' Venice Ave easily walkable. There is plenty of parking downtown though so that is not a problem for shopping, dining etc.
The rooms are all different, some slightly larger than others,but some cramped & tiny but seem to have the exact bathroom configuration....tiny with nowhere to place toiletries. Tile floors throughout that were not swept the 2nd day.It did have a small fridge & micro.
The wi-fi was still out but we were told 'they were working on it'.
The plastic blinds could not block the blinding light outside of every room so the room was lit all night.
No coffee maker & on Sun the office was locked at 8am although apparently it was because the manager had stepped out.
I will say the room was very clean when we checked in & they are very proud of their 60 yr old motel.
This motel houses flight students who train at the local airport for months at a time & are all crammed into the office for the wifi.
Bottom line, if you have a choice find other accomodations.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilly0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Manager at Island Breeze Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your input as we always want to do our best to make our customers happy and exceed their expectations. We recently refreshed all of the rooms with new furnishings, blinds and showers. Additionally, we have painted our buildings and re-trained our staff to give our guests the best experience possible. We will putting personal size Keurigs in the rooms in the next few weeks and the office doesn't open until 9am which is why it was locked at 8am. Although it took longer than planned, the wifi router has been replaced and works great throughout the property so no one needs to "cram" into the office for wifi. We sincerely hope you visit us again to experience the fresh and charming environment we have created in this little gem near downtown Venice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

No internet, tv not working on arrival, remote not working, no heat ,dog barking for three hours next door when it was listed as no pets, noisy highway...good bed ,clean,hot water, near Venice Ave.
..not a repeat

Room Tip: Away from Tamiami Trail street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nealbeverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Manager at Island Breeze Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your input as we always want to do our best to make our customers happy and exceed their expectations. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We recently refreshed all of the rooms with new furnishings, blinds and showers. Additionally, we have painted our buildings and re-trained our staff to give our guests the best experience possible. Although it took longer than planned, we replaced the wifi router and it now works great throughout the entire property. We provide heaters in every room. Our property has limited, specifically designated pet friendly accommodations. The staff has been re-trained to make sure they most effectively communicate these property features. We sincerely hope you visit us again to experience the fresh and charming environment we have created in this little gem near downtown Venice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We came late and without a prebooked loging to Venice. Close to the Center we have had been lucky fo find a free room during high season.

Less lucky we were when we did find out that the promised wifi was not working. We mentioned this to the manager at the very first evening and he did know the Problem (the router, he said, was not working properly) the wifi was still not working when we left after two nights. Since the sign at the roud did offer in-room-wifi we were not very satisfied, especially since the room was without a phone and we wanted to stay in contact with our family.

Also not very satisfiying were the missing dryer and that we did not get new towels on the second day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlexTorgau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Manager at Island Breeze Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your input as we always want to do our best to make our customers happy and exceed their expectations. We recently refreshed all of the rooms with new furnishings, blinds and showers. Additionally, we have painted our buildings and re-trained our staff to give our guests the best experience possible. Although it took longer than planned, we replaced the wifi router and it works great throughout the entire property. We sincerely hope you visit us again to experience the fresh and charming environment we have created in this little gem near downtown Venice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Just spent 3 nights here as part of our Florida vacation and overall I would say that the place is ok.

I booked the room based on the comments that mentioned renovations; the king room we had did have a new shower, new tv and possibly a new mattress, but that is as far as it goes. The bathroom, as mentioned by others, is very small and the new shower just about fills the room. There is no where in there to put your toiletries other than on the floor.

There was a problem with the wifi the whole time we were there, and despite advertising 'in room wifi', it certainly didn't extend to room 24, which is only about 5 rooms from reception!! I asked at reception and was just told "we are having problems with a router, but it works in here". Not really what I was hoping for, and bearing in mind that when we left 4 days later, it still wasn't working.

On the positive side, the location is good, being a few blocks from the main strip, and the bed was comfortable.

This place is basically a $50 motel, but we had to pay 3 times that amount to stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near reception if you require internet access!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerbyshireEvil_Homer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Manager at Island Breeze Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your input as we always want to do our best to make our customers happy and exceed their expectations. We recently refreshed all of the rooms with new furnishings, blinds and showers. Additionally, we have painted our buildings and re-trained our staff to give our guests the best experience possible. Although it took a little longer than we hoped, we have replaced the router and it works great throughout the entire property. We sincerely hope you visit us again to experience the fresh and charming environment we have created in this little gem near downtown Venice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
0.9 mi away
Ramada Venice Hotel Venezia
0.4 mi away
Island Sun Inn
Island Sun Inn
#8 of 13 in Venice
165 reviews
1 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#1 of 13 in Venice
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sunshine Motel
Sunshine Motel
#6 of 13 in Venice
188 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ambassador Suites Venice
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bayside Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Breeze Inn

Address: 340 Tamiami Trl S, Venice, FL 34285-2422
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Venice
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £52 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Breeze Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Venice Island, Florida, the Island Breeze Inn offers sparkling rooms full of charm, modern amenities, and exceptional customer service! Just blocks from palm tree-lined avenues full of antique shops, boutiques, and cafes, and only one mile to beautiful Venice Beach, the Island Breeze Inn is the BEST VALUE in the historic district! Free parking, free cable TV and Wi-Fi?, Heated pool, microwave and refrigerator in each room...The friendliest staff and our manager on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Island Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Breeze Inn Of Venice Hotel Venice
Island Breeze Hotel Venice
Island Breeze Motel Venice
Island Breeze Inn Venice, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing